Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, achievable and classic recipes
I can't lie; this book is small and pictureless, but I'd worked that out before I bought it. However, it's a wonderful collection of evocative food memories, background information and straightforward authentic recipes. There are one or two recipes which need obscure ingredients eg konafa pastry, but everything else is easily sourced in a medium sized supermarket...
Published on 17 May 2011 by J. White

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A MIddle Eastern Feast..Claudia Roden
Very very disappointing, I had the paper back version many years ago titled A Book of Middle Eastern Food.....I used it so much I had to buy a second copy, as the first became rather dog eared and stained....

However this e edition content is so much smaller...( the hard copy is 465 pages), packed with numerous brilliant recipes..
I purchased the e version...
Published 16 months ago by Lesley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, achievable and classic recipes, 17 May 2011
By 
J. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) (Paperback)
I can't lie; this book is small and pictureless, but I'd worked that out before I bought it. However, it's a wonderful collection of evocative food memories, background information and straightforward authentic recipes. There are one or two recipes which need obscure ingredients eg konafa pastry, but everything else is easily sourced in a medium sized supermarket.

It's a tiny bit frustrating that there's no index, but the book is divided into sections: mezze, savoury pastry, soups etc with 3-5 recipes in each so it is possible to leaf through to find or not find what you want.

If you're looking for a middle-eastern cookery bible with every dish imaginable, this is not for you. You'll need to buy something expensive. If you are happy with some good writing and approachable recipes to give a flavour of this cuisine then it's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely handbook, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) (Paperback)
This is the perfect book for beginners re. middle eastern cuisine and an useful book re. reference for anyone who enjoys the food. As always, written in clear and enticing style by the redoubtable Claudia Roden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little selection of recipes, 7 May 2014
By 
Javier Leal Olivas "Khavier" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) (Paperback)
Well explained recipes, nice selection of essential Middle Eastern dishes that everybody should try. Claudia Roden is very knowledgeable, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, good service, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. D. Drew (West London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) (Paperback)
I am enjoying dipping in and out of this book. It has some interesting notes both as a foreword and for the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem on every page, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) (Paperback)
Claudia Roden is not an instant 'expert 'like your average TV Chef . She has lived in the countries whose cuisine she features and her love of both the cuisine and the ambience show through. The advice is practical and free from 'gastrospeak' that spoils so many cookery books these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A MIddle Eastern Feast..Claudia Roden, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very very disappointing, I had the paper back version many years ago titled A Book of Middle Eastern Food.....I used it so much I had to buy a second copy, as the first became rather dog eared and stained....

However this e edition content is so much smaller...( the hard copy is 465 pages), packed with numerous brilliant recipes..
I purchased the e version for convenience...but have gone back to my old dog eared one..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recipes to try and fall in love with, 3 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) (Paperback)
With the west getting more and more adventurous with their tastes in foreign foods its always a blessing when a title lands that brings the unusual as well as some of the more established favourites to your own supper table. What Claudia's book produces is a lot of flavourful food using every day ingredients that can be obtained in your local supermarket and gives you something new to experience.

What this title does extremely well is banquet, after all a lot can be prepared quite a while in advance and give your guests something novel and unique and with the slow cooker coming into its own, Tagines with nearly every type of meat available. Finally add to this the chance to get some of your children's five a day into them (the Middle East cooks with a lot of fruit) it is something that is not only tasty but also a great way to have something different to the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food)
A Middle Eastern Feast (Penguin Great Food) by Claudia Roden (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews