Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Foe
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars28
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2001
Coetzee once again manages to capture the readers' attention by cleverly twisting facts and experiences around. Rather than being a close-to-facts narrative novel, 'Foe' seems to enthrawl the reader until the very end, which is quite strange at first hand. Though 'Foe' is interesting, I still think that Coetzee's 'Disgrace' tops all his works!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2006
Man, this took me ages to read considering it's only 200 pages long. Like the rest of Coetzee's books, this is really about South Africa and yet it's not about south africa.

This is a book for 'intellectuals' or rather, my primative brain took a while to digest this. It has a tendancy to go off on tangents too much. I think Disgrace is a much better novel than Foe, but Foe is still one of those books that I recommend to people just because it is so unique. About the same time I read this I watched a DVD called Caché, again a 'difficult' film that took some decoding and input from the viewer. If you have seen Caché you'll know what I mean.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
I recommend this book to only those who have been told to read it for academic purposes. It is only really interesting in the first third, and the ending is more confusing than explanatory. I don't see why this book won a Nobe Prize for Literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Disappointing, repetitious, starts off okay but drones on, but some may enjoy it. Positive, it is a good idea, I don't know what Mr Defoe would gave made of it though, only read two thirds of the book, then gave it to charity shop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
exaactly as described! wonderful! would greatly recommend!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
Tedious and pretentious, with an incomprehensible ending. I believe this book raises issues of how fact and fiction are always liable to subjective interpretation by the narrator, but in this case neither the original nor the new 'Crusoe' could inspire me to want to reach the end of the book.
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
First of all I have to say that English is not my mother tongue, but I think that my problems to understand this book have not been only a vocabulary issue, I have just finished this book, and I am still asking myself what was this book about, I can not see what is what Mr Coetzee was trying to tell me, and what is the conclusion of the story.
May be to deep for somebody as simple as me.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.