Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative, Shocking, Ultimately Unsurprising
This was my first read of Chomsky. His analysis of the cynical amorality of western, particularly US, domestic and foreign is authoritative, insightful and shocking. We see how time and again, indisputably evil acts have been perpetrated in the name of freedom and democracy but in fact serving the vested interests of powerful transnational corporations. Much of the Muslim...
Published 22 months ago by DemonFiddler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Different Angle
Quite interesting. As an anarchist, disillusioned by the venality of US government and politics, he has a different and sometimes stimulating angle on the subjects he speaks about. He is anti establishment and anti capitalist. The content is a little superficial as it is based largely on transcripts of his interviews and speeches. So many assertions are made without...
Published 1 month ago by Heraldthewake


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative, Shocking, Ultimately Unsurprising, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first read of Chomsky. His analysis of the cynical amorality of western, particularly US, domestic and foreign is authoritative, insightful and shocking. We see how time and again, indisputably evil acts have been perpetrated in the name of freedom and democracy but in fact serving the vested interests of powerful transnational corporations. Much of the Muslim world thinks of the USA as 'The Great Satan': in the light of this catalogue of illegal invasions, assasinations and repression, the so-called 'international war on terror' seems like the ultimate hypocrisy.

By the way, the typographical quality of the Kindle version is disappointing - the conversion process has left lots of mis-punctuations (for example, unnecessary hyphenations in mid-page). Amazon - considering the profit you must make on Kindle sales, you could and should give us better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great material, disappointing Kindle version, 28 July 2013
By 
W. Prescot (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Based on 20 year old material but still very relevant to the world we live in and the people who run it. The book is, in essence, an edited set of interviews with Chomsky. What he says is insightful but occasionally it would be nice to have a bit more explanation. Comes across as a bit one-sided.

Unfortunately, the conversational style of the interview is lost in the Kindle version. There's no textual distinction between the interviewer & interviewee, which makes it difficult to tell when the interviewer is asking a question and when Chomsky is responding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging Work, 29 Oct 2012
By 
R. Gilmartin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very thought provoking read. I'm well right of centre politically, and Chomsky's work makes me challenge many of my own beliefs and assumptions. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Insight, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the World Works (Paperback)
The first time I have read Chomsky. Loved it. This book gathers together interviews, speeches and comment into a concise and completely absorbing view of global politics. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in the way corporations control the planet. A plea for genuine democracy and community organization, Chomsky references the likes of Thomas Jefferson, John Adam and Aristotle. Amazing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genius spread thinly, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am great admirer of Noam Chomsky. As I read this collection on my Kindle, I found myself making copious notes so that I could refer to his thoughts in future emails and conversations. The breadth of his conscious thought on a wide range of ideas and contexts is humbling. If only I had a small portion of his intellect I would be happy!

However, the longer I read, the more I became frustrated that the questions raised in the book were only given surface attention. I understand the idea of the book is to give a snapshot of his output over a number of years. I really wanted more detail, more examples that the sound bytes offered. So, I would recommend this book for an insight into how the world works, with all its naked abuses of power and constructed control mechanisms. If you want deeper arguments, then look at Chomsky's other works. Either way, you cannot but be impressed by the great man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another blinder from Chomsky, 8 May 2014
This review is from: How the World Works (Paperback)
Everyone should read this book, yeah some if it seems a bit dated but you have know what happened then to understand what is happening now. It can be a bit depressing at times and one does feel a little helpless but he does offer solutions that each of us need to take, put down the TV remote and learn about the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transcript of interviews by Noam Chomsky., 25 Mar 2013
By 
A. Tetere (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the World Works (Paperback)
The same like "Occupy" book, this one is not written by Noam Chomsky, but consist with various interviews with him regarding various political and economic matters. The book lacks references, so it is hard to use for academic purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 May 2014
This review is from: How the World Works (Paperback)
Chomsky always makes such a compelling case. He really is a giant in the modern politically conscious world. Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have......, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the World Works (Paperback)
A must have book if one really wants to understand the present political trends, and by reading this books you'll find your judgement refined when approaching political as well as economical problems in the third world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not less than 5 stars, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the World Works (Paperback)
Chomsky always proves objectivity, long vision and unbiased narration. Get the details behind US pursue of hegemony after The War not just over Europe but the whole wide world.
A book worth reading, keeping and recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How the World Works
How the World Works by Noam Chomsky (Paperback - 13 Oct 2011)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews