Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new revelation from a an expansive mind, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of Sebald's work for a few years now, having starting with his "Rings of Saturn" at the suggestion of a wise friend. No one else writes like Sebald. No one else captures that sense of displacement, of living in the world and yet not quite belonging anywhere in it, the way that he does. When I heard that there was a new book coming out, I couldn't believe it. I logged onto Amazon.us (I'm an American) and was saddened to find that "A Place in the Country" wouldn't be released in the U.S. until February 2014! Knowing it was already out in the U.K., I went to Amazon.uk and within days, the book was in my hands. Wonderful essays about the writers (and one artist) who influenced Sebald's work. It's always a great gift to discover that a favorite author, who has passed, has one more manuscript out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 2 July 2013
By 
Pete109 (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
It is always a delight to discover another Sebald. Even though I wasn't really aware of the writers/artists chosen in these essays the sheer beauty of his writing style make you want to read on and discover more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all true W.G.Sebald addicts this is the book!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
With a penchant for the strange and eccentric European writers who loved the outdoors this is a posthumous collection of 'travel' essays by the late W.G.Sebald. His lilting, old fashioned prose is delectable and infectious. Peppered with curious details and fascinating characterisations these essays are a sheer pleasure to read and encompass the spirit of the romantic visionary alone in the landscape, the poetic in exile, and the spirit of wanderlust. Unlike his novels, which weave intricate fictional matrixes of possible/impossible biographical data around characters that are doppelgangers of Sebald himself, this book focuses on specific writers and their experience of the outdoors in different centuries and circumstances. Of course, Sebald introduces his familiar peculiarities into each segment of the book, revealing the quirky details about each writer's plight as he goes on with tantalising aplomb. Sebald himself revisits many of the sites and locations pertinent to the writer's lives he is describing and this adds a certain pathos to the book, which is both illuminating and colourful. The illustrations make this a beautiful book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Non-fiction writing at its best., 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Paperback)
I first encountered Sebald’s wonderful rhythmic prose in The Rings of Saturn. This book is an account of six writers or artists who inspired him.

If anything, this book is more hypnotic and engaging than even the ‘The Rings of Saturn’. Here the prose (or, to be honest the translation of the original German prose) is so wonderfully complex, yet so readable, that it did not really matter that I had no prior experience of any the six artists.

There seems to be a theme of social disconnection in the six, but a disconnection that resulted in a longing for place. This could in some way help to explain Sebald’s own fascination with the sense of place that shines through in The Rings of Saturn.

If you wish to read a book that shows just how artful non-fiction can be, then I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting book, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
Edited superbly by Jo Catling, A Place In the Country gives insights into the mind of a man who, had he lived, would have been a Nobel contender I am sure. After reading this you face the different countries of both his mind, and your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sebald the Great, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
Sebald is one of the most energising and exciting writers I have ever encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Place in the Country, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
Wonderful to get yet another volume by the late W.G.Sebald. Lives up to the various reviews I read of book before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Austerlitz...., 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place in the Country (Hardcover)
No time to read this book yet, but Sebald is a brilliant writer, but this book ins not a novel, it is more like essays?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Place in the Country
A Place in the Country by W. G. Sebald (Hardcover - 2 May 2013)
£20.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews