Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Snowman has no text!
I am amazed that people buy this book and are disappointed that it has no story! The whole point of the story is that it has no words. The pictures tell the story. It isn't poor value for money as some claim, the value is in the artwork which is beautiful. Generations of children & adults have loved this story and I for one think its a lovely book for small children,...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by AML

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars then it is good. Note
My daughter loves The Snowman film and I guess I didn't realise this was the original story which is markedly different to the film. If you buy it knowing this, then it is good. Note: it is a picture story, so no words in the book.
Published 2 months ago by Roots


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Snowman has no text!, 12 Nov. 2012
I am amazed that people buy this book and are disappointed that it has no story! The whole point of the story is that it has no words. The pictures tell the story. It isn't poor value for money as some claim, the value is in the artwork which is beautiful. Generations of children & adults have loved this story and I for one think its a lovely book for small children, especially in an age where everything has to be a gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and unique, 30 Mar. 2007
This is one of the all time favourite books of our two children currently aged 4 and 6. Whenever it's Christmas or snowing and time for a bedtime story, you just know this will be the one they drag out for you to "read". I say read because there are no words - the story is 100% told in pictures and I think that is the involvement they enjoy as we talk about what is going on in each scene.

A magical story, illustrated in a style that matches the story being conveyed very well, guaranteed to draw you in regardless of your age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snowman board book, paperback size, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Snowman (Board book)
This is a lovely book to share with a small child, and has solid board pages so is satisfying for them to turn themselves. It is not the same story as the original, so no visit to the North Pole is included, no Father Christmas nor snowmen party, not even any flying. This renders any connection with the song 'I'm Walking in the Air' meaningless. But the little pictures are great for talking about and to get the child used to extracting information from the page. A bit disappointing if you are expecting the full story, but a worthwhile gift for a toddler all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Film (with text).....and CD, in a slip-case., 23 Nov. 2011
Sturdy cardboard slip-cased edition, with simple snowflake embellishment and cut-out front effect.
The CD is safely housed in a compartment in the back cover of the hardback book inside.

Overall, the outfit measures in around 25 cm x 22.75 cm x 1.25 cm.

2008/PUFFIN BOOKS

The book measures around 24.75 cm x 21.5 cm, and has on the title page:

* The Snowman - The Book of the Film
* Raymond Briggs
* Pictures from the animated film, The Snowman

Cute pastel illustrations throughout are accompanied by a few lines of text at the bottom of each page.

In a nutshell:James makes a new friend, literally, and when 'The Snowman' comes indoors, he experiences a rather different world!

From the back cover of the book:

'The ultimate in lyrical childhood fantasy - Guardian

This bestselling story has been brilliantly adapted for audio CD and there are three tracks.

1. Dramatic reading with music and sound effects.
2. "Walking in the Air", sung by Peter Auty.
3. Read-along version with a special sound to indicate when to turn the page.

* Read by Andrew Sachs.
* Music & Lyrics by Howard Blake.
* Produced by Martin Franks.'

CD running time approx 26 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say - It's a classic, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
This is the original wordless classic version by Raymond Briggs. No Father Christmas, no North Pole. The flight through the snowy sky ends at Brighton Pier, looking out to sea, which I love. All the magic of the story has a beautiful counterpoint in the realism of the setting - the house, the garage, toast and marmalade for breakfast. My little boy enjoyed it and wasn't bothered by the differences from the film. Mind you, we both wanted to burst into 'Walking in the Air' at the moment when the snowman and the boy take off into the sky. He wanted me to talk him through the story, but I would much rather do this than read other versions where a very bland text is matched to pictures from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!, 8 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This book was just great! It take you back to when you were a child, and makes you feel warm and happy inside...
perfect illustrations & a wonderful christmas story. Would be such a memorable christmas gift to a child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 23 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
I first 'read' this story with my children 20+ years ago. When the animation hit the screens suddenly everyone knew about it, the fun, the sadness, the beautiful music. The drawings in the book are pale and sketchy and there are plenty of them on some pages but this is one of those unique books that come along and offers different opportunities to each new grown-up and child to experience and discuss in their own way. I am looking forward to re-visiting the Snowman sometime soon with my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful enchanting story, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book of the classic story is absolutely wonderful!

I bought it for my baby girl and love the fact that the story has words as well as the beautiful illustrations, so I can read it to her! The CD adds to the magic by bringing the story to life!

All in all this is a spectacular book and I am thrilled with my purchase!! I look forward to sharing it with my daughter for many years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original story by Raymond Briggs, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman (Paperback)
Beautiful illistrations with no text so wonderful for children to exert their own language and imagination skills.
Drawn like a story board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Jay Class, St Philips Primary School, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Munro "Jae Munro" (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Snowman (Board book)
We liked it when the little boy made the snowman. It was magical and fantastic when the snowman came alive. It was amazing when they were flying in the snowy sky. We didn't like it when the snowman melted.We think that the pictures have nice colours in them. We love reading this book in class. We love reading this book and we think that you should read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snowman
The Snowman by Raymond Briggs (Board book - 30 Oct. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews