Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully presented edition
This book is part of a series of childrens books from this publisher illustrated by Robert Ingpen. All the books are beautifully presented and The Secret Garden is no exception. Excellent.
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by jimmys1984

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle formatting is messed up
This is a good book but unfortunately the formatting is all messed up on kindle edition - there are lines breaks on every line. It's very frustrating and unnecessary - where is the quality control Amazon?

Another reviewer already mentioned this - I wish I'd read their review first...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by Pete C


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully presented edition, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Hardcover)
This book is part of a series of childrens books from this publisher illustrated by Robert Ingpen. All the books are beautifully presented and The Secret Garden is no exception. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a sweet Story, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will bring nothing but a smile to the face of the reader. It is an incredibly well-written story that captivates one to the fullest. The characters are so well-described that you get a very clear and vivid picture of who they are and of course the surroundings. The author masterfully paints such a wonderful picture of the spring, the world waking up from its deep sleep, the blooming trees, the singing birds and the flowers. With spring the garden comes to life and with it, melts the ice from the hearts of the little Mistress and the little Rajah.
The story itself is an incredibly beautiful tale of a little girl, who has been cast aside by her own mother since the day of her birth, left to be raised by the help. Always lonely, unwanted, forgotten and incredibly spoiled the girl takes a long journey to learning how to appreciate the simple beauties in life, such as the sun, the flowers, the birds and the spring. She makes friends and learns to care for others.
An incredibly beautiful story which will warm your heart. Get this book and enjoy it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Seceret garden is vividly brought to life with beautiful timeless illustrations that draw you right in., 15 Sep 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Hardcover)
As a child this was one of my favourite books, read and re-read until my copy was beyond repair. The up-lifting story of a grumpy spoilt little girl sent from India to live at a big but lonely old manor in the English Countryside is a classic and deservedly so. Mary Lennox mellows as her friendships develop especially that with Dickon, a down-to-earth and good-hearted country boy, and Colin, Mary's indulged and sickly cousin hidden away in the depths of the old house, who also comes to find happiness.
The story is intelligently written with three-dimensional characters, the speech of the servants is presented with their dialect/accents in tact, and the children behave as real children would. Written in the early twentieth century, there's much to provoke discussion with today's children about how children lived and were treated a hundred years ago, the different lives and expectations of the servants and their families to those to the manor born, as well as those in Colonial India.
I was thrilled to come across this beautifully illustrated edition (in an approximately A4 format) with gorgeous timeless pictures which reflect perfectly the mood of the story and the era in which it was set. They also serve to make the book look attractive and appealing to the children of this generation. There's a picture on the majority of double page spreads, a mixture of black and white line drawings and a naturalists pictures of fauna and flora interspersed with ethereal misty full-colour illustrations that really pull you into a different world, that of the secret garden.
A book to truly treasure. Please please can we have Hodgson Burnett's The Little Princess equally beautifully illustrated next too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect 'keepsake' gift for a variety of occasions and a beautiful story, 11 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We brought this as a Christening present for a baby girl after her parents requested that any presents should be either a donation to Charity or a book that we had cherished growing up.

The Secret Garden was my other halfs favourite book and this version is superbly illustrated, with an embossed hardback, making it a great present / keepsake.

This was really well received (much better than the "The Dangerous Book for Boys", which someone else gave!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful version of classic book, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Jane (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Hardcover)
I loved this book when I was a child and have looked around for a while at various different illustrated editions. This one is absolutely lovely and a real bargain at this price. It is the first version i have seen where the illustrations live up to the images in my head. Gorgeous full page illustrations and also lots of small ones on most pages. A beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic for all ages, 16 July 2008
I love this book, and have done since I was at Primary school. It has a lot to offer adult readers as well- the psychology of the characters of Mary, Colin, Martha and Mr Craven are well drawn. Dickon and Mrs Sowerby are a little too perfect to be believed, but the lyrical descriptions of the garden coming back to life are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gorgeous!, 11 Oct 2010
My friend requested that as a Christening gift for her daughter, that we gave her our favourite childhood book. I was a little disappointed that I could not get this version in hard back to give her but once it arrived I was so amazed at just how beautiful this book is, it didin't matter that it was not hardback. The story is lovely but the illustrations are gorgeous and was the perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Garden, 29 July 2010
By 
Cath (Norwich UK) - See all my reviews
Bautiful illustrations and printed on glossy, good quality paper, with a cardboard cover. Well worth the extra couple of pounds, a classic edition for your child to read and re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Garden, Centenary hardback, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really beautiful book, the cover feels like fabric and the first page with the cut-out door is utterly charming.

The illustrations are modern and full of interest. A special edition for a child or adult to keep forever.

The book has a solid feel to it, so it is quite heavy to hold whilst reading. There is also a lovely green page marker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful book I have ever seen, 24 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Hardcover)
I loved this book as a child and wanted a hardback copy for my bookshelf. The illustrations in this book are so beautiful that it brought a smile to my face. I was expecting one or two pictures at most, but every single page has pictures. There were also four prints of pictures from the book that I was not expecting. All the illustrations were exactly as I imagined as a child. I'm not sure I would let a child near this book though!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Garden (Gollancz Children's Classics)
The Secret Garden (Gollancz Children's Classics) by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Hardcover - 24 April 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews