Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Board book|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2010
Another beautiful book by Eric Carle, same lovely illustrations as others he has done. Great having the sound effect at the end and the fact it has replaceable batteries is good! Really enjoyed it and anyone who liked the hungry caterpillar and the spider one and the sloth one will like the repetitive nature of this too, I know some say it's not as good as the hungry caterpillar, but I think it is in a different way. The hungry caterpillar has just had lots of hype over the years and whilst I love it I think lots of Eric Carle stuff is just as good but not given as much credit. Buy at the bargain price on Amazon and enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
The story is wonderful. I read it to my reception class regularly. However two recent purchases had a problem with the sound. This is crucial to the effect if this story. It worked intermittently and both had to be returned.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
The Very Quiet Cricket is one of a number of books by the illustrator Eric Call, which tells the tale of growth and passage of time in the life of an insect, other books include, The Very Hungry Caterpillar and The Very Lonely Firefly. Like the other books The Very Quiet Cricket is beautifully illustrated throughout, and keeps the surprise until the very end, when we turn the final page to hear the soft chirp of the cricket.The story is held together by the employment of the same pattern throughout, greeting from another insect in his own manner, and then the cricket's desire and failure to return a reply. This scheme allows the child to predict the story and join in, and as such feel an active part in the telling of the tale. The child can also see the growth of the cricket throughout the story, from the tiny hatchling at sunrise to the full-grown cricket in the moonlight, with each page we can see him grow larger on the page with the passage of time.
It is certainly a book which is appealing enough to be read over and over again, and indeed with familiarity with the story will possibly make it even more attractive, particularly anticipating the cricket's chirp at the end.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This book is very good as it has the sound effect to which children in the early years respond very well. It captures their attention as they have to be very quiet to listen to the sound of the cricket.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
This story allowed children to further develop their listening and attention skills as they eagerly awaited for the Cricket to make it's first sound and communicate with others. It also allowed children to explore why certain creatures may struggle to communicate and how we don't all communicate in the same way. The functions of our senses is a great topic for all ages, and this book is a pleasant start to that particular subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
This had gone down very well with our grandchildren, who love the story and the surprise of the noise at the end. Eric Carle's books are favourites here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Gave few of Eric Carle books to my niece when she was under two. We loved reading from it.

It is great book. She loved it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
The sound effect on the last page really enhances the story. I love this story anyway and it's really easy for little hands to hold.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
These books are brilliant easy to read and very colourful. They attract kids to reading which I think is wonderful
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
If using at bedtime and have the lights down low, the cricket wont make a noise as its activated by light
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.