Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great yarn!
I've only recently returned to Peter Mayle, having read 'A Year in Provence' many years ago, but only after the t.v. series was made, which I didn't see at the time. I have a copy of the book from the series, with photos, which may not be helpful for the imagination. However, browsing a charity shop recently I came across a clean copy of 'A Vintage Affair' and I loved...
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by Mrs. Diane M. Hellyer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best
As a lover of the Peter Mayle books I was very disappointed with this one. It started well, gathered pace and interest, then lost it's way into a faintly ridiculous story with a very poor ending. Please Mr Mayle, no more of these.
Published 15 months ago by david martin jessop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great yarn!, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. Diane M. Hellyer (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anything Considered (Paperback)
I've only recently returned to Peter Mayle, having read 'A Year in Provence' many years ago, but only after the t.v. series was made, which I didn't see at the time. I have a copy of the book from the series, with photos, which may not be helpful for the imagination. However, browsing a charity shop recently I came across a clean copy of 'A Vintage Affair' and I loved it. So I have since read three other Mayle stories.

'Anything Considered' is great fun, never too threatening but threatening enough and written in a liquid style. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed!!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Mayle fan really enjoyed the mystery and humour and of course the stunning description of the French countryside and culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Peter Mayle . Good story, fast moving and entertaining . I read it on Holiday and it was perfect with a G&T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lover of the Peter Mayle books I was very disappointed with this one. It started well, gathered pace and interest, then lost it's way into a faintly ridiculous story with a very poor ending. Please Mr Mayle, no more of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Good Fun, 17 April 2013
By 
A. Mursell (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant Upbeat story that was a pleasure to read. I wonder if they'll ever turn this one in to a film, there is certainly scope? Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do consider this book, 18 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Anything Considered (Paperback)
I first discovered this book while on holiday in lovely Jamaica at my hotel. When i arrived back i ordered a copy straight away. The book starts off with on a gentle motion of discription and then suddenly places you into a great action thriller.
One of the most unrealistic and unbelieveable books about, but i know you won't beable to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic another great one from Peter Mayle
William chase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Considered funny, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good fun, plot jogged along in a typically Provence pace.

Interesting observations about the French and French customs and idiocyncracies.

Most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Loved the book. Almost as good as A Good Year I will be reading more of these excellent books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle does it again., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another most enjoyable book from Peter Mayle, laugh-out-loud funny & a good story. As always the main characters and plot are well described but not over-drawn, leaving plenty to the imagination to keep you interested right to the last page. Another one I'll read again & again. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anything Considered
Anything Considered by Peter Mayle (Hardcover - 14 Oct 1996)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews