Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2000
Being a fan of Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and Tourjours Provence, I snapped up this gem as soon as I saw the author's name. Boy, Peter Mayle's dog, whose original debut was made in Tourjours Provence, reports on human and canine social conventions with dry humour. The drawings by Edward Koren complimented the book brilliantly, I especially liked the drawings accompanying Boy's infallible guide to avoid being punished over doggy peccadiloes. This is a marvellous book that all readers and dog lovers in particular will roar over. (For the record: I don't actually like dogs, but I loved Boy!)
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2009
After reading some of Peter Mayle's other books and finding them pleasant to read thought i would give this one a try. I love france and have dogs so it should be a safe bet that i would enjoy it.
Mayle writes the book through the eyes of the Dog, Boy. It is amusing,some parts made me laugh out loud, there are the usual cliches in french books, but any one who has spent time over there should identify with them. If you like dogs or france you will enjoy this latest offering from Mayle, if you like both then you shouldn't go wrong.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
I would recommend " It's a Dog's life " to all, young or old, dog lover or not. The book, set in France, is written from a dog's point of view.The style is often light and humerous yet pithy, the tone, serious at times. Lots of entertaining asides about writers, visitors, France and the French.
It is an ideal choice for a book club after a ream of "heavy" literature !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
That poor dog - but what a wonderfuly inciteful critter - I am passing it on to a dog-loving friend of mine - she never married and all her children have been dogs. However, I don't think this book matches up to Peter Mayle's 'Year in Provence' series. He's doing well getting by on his well-known name I think.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Fantastic book - would recommend it for any dog owner because Peter Mayles' observations are absolutely spot-on!!! I love all of his books anyway but this one really ticks all the boxes for entertainment, humour, life in France and owning a dog. Absolutely brilliant!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
My favourite book of all time! Just perfect for taking everywhere and having a smile at a chapter of wonderful prose and so so true that any dog owner will relate!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
An amusing tale told from a dog's point of view, a little upsetting to start but funny once he finds 'the management'
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
If you love dogs this book is for you. It's an amusing diary of a dog living in France, Peter Mayle really knows how to tell a good story. Book was only 1p + p&p so a real bargain. Arrived in good condition very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Bought this following a recommendation from a friend and found it to be a very enjoyable read. Funny throughout and had me laughing out loud at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
enjoyed the beginning and started to get into the book, but found that the story got very predicable and just not as good as some of his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.