Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally entertaining stuff
The book is full of all your timeless favourites and is wonderful value for money.
Published on 18 May 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars COMEDY POEMS ECT.
SOMEWHAT DIFFICULT TO FOLLOW AT TIMES WITHOUT KNOWING THE DIALECT THEY ARE WRITTEN IN. IT APPEARS TO BE IN BROAD YORKSHIRE AND SOME HAVE TO BE READ SEVERAL TIMES TO PROPERLY UNDERSTAND THEM.
Published 16 months ago by I. R. Rankine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally entertaining stuff, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
The book is full of all your timeless favourites and is wonderful value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 20 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
Marvellous collection of SH's best-loved monologues. Nice to dip into for a chuckle every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone but not forgoten, 18 April 2009
By 
Peter Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
A fantastic book , with a treasure trove of entertainment, never to be repeated. A precious purchase to savour. I would recommend also to purchase a tape or a CD of this much admired artist to accompany this book, you will not be dissapointed.
Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent material for reading out loud and very funny., 6 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
The monologues are grouped by 'hero'. I found them very funny and my children loved me reading it aloud to them. They have a lovely flow and rhythm. They are of a time that is now gone, but they do have a genuine 'englishness' that still makes people laugh. They are also very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE STANLEY HOLLOWAY MONOLOGUES, 14 April 2009
By 
P. Barke "PBB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
Great fun. We enjoyed reading the monologues and have purchased The Essential Stanley Holloway on CD so that we can get the accents right. Lots of opportunities with the 2 CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars old fashioned but entertaining., 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
I bought this for my Dad as he was trying to remember the 'Lion and Alfred'(or is it Albert?) monologue - and recited the first couple of verses but couldn't remember the rest (not surprising as it is a really long poem!)
I read it to my son before giving it to Dad - some are really good - others a bit old fashioned for us. They are written in a strong Northern dialect which needs deciphering sometimes (and we are from Yorkshire!). My Dad is enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stanley Holloway Monologues, 30 Nov 2009
By 
Peter Blencowe (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
Wonderful lighthearted reading. Reminded me of a time years ago when I had heard snippets of some of these but had long since forgotten. Classicallly funny and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously funny, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Love Books "Jessie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
I was brought up in a family that enjoyed reciting Stanley Holloway monologues (even today I can do Albert and the Lion off by heart!) so when I happened across this book I couldn't resist it. And it's wonderful. These monologues are so funny, so witty, so full of character, that I'd recommend it to anyone.

Owning this book makes my world a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great memories, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
I used to read this to elderly patients with memory problems and most of them remembered these monologues and even used to remember certain of the Albert Ramsbottom tales. Would recommend to all ages, very humorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stanley Holloway Monologues (Paperback)
I am Yorkshire born and bred when you read the book using a true Yorkshire accent these monologues are very funny
Stanley will always be an adopted Yorkshireman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stanley Holloway Monologues
The Stanley Holloway Monologues by Michael Marshall (Paperback - 30 Jun 1988)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews