Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a great read.
Are you looking for an excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. The Moon's a Balloon (and "Bring on the Empty Horses!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read.

David Niven was not always a star. He had to go away and learn his trade in "B" movies before being allowed to enter the big...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Ned Middleton

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Kindle Balloon
This, as widely described, is a very engaging, very human biography. The book is fully reviewed elsewhere. This is a review of the Kindle version, and how disappointing that the publishers are prepared to put forward an edition for which they would be disowned by their mothers, had it been published on paper. The proof reading is terrible, inexcusable. Footnotes appear at...
Published on 17 Feb. 2011 by S. Cussons


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An All Time Great Book By One of the All Time Greats, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having first read `The Moon's a Balloon' following its original publication, I was absolutely delighted to find it available as a Kindle download.

Although many years have passed, I found it to be as enjoyable a read today as it was then.

David Niven's brilliance as a raconteur is evident on every page and his sense of humour provokes many laugh out loud moments.

The style of the book and probably much of its appeal derives from the fact that it comes across as a spoken narrative, with the reader being the recipient of his wit and humour, as he shares his memories.

This is particularly important, as there is a most distinctive "David Niven" quality about the manner in which he expresses himself in the book, which would have been extremely difficult to achieve in today's climate of "ghost written" celebrity autobiographies.

Having read the book, I also chanced upon Graham Lord's Niv: The Authorised Biography of David Niven , also available as a Kindle download, which I would also recommend, as it enlarges upon many of the life experiences described in this book and provides an objective view of the trials and tribulations of David Niven's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 Aug. 2006
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
I first read this book when I was about 14 & try to read it at least once every couple of years. Its laugh out loud funny, touching & charming. From the moment I first read this wonderful book I fell in love with this true gentleman & only wish I could have spent just one hour in his company.

Everyone must read it at least once & find out what it means to have real class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling read, 11 July 2013
By 
G. B. Fisher "GerryCo" (Finistere, Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't believe it's taken me 40 years to get around to reading this book, but I enjoyed it all the more for waiting. IMHO this a book for the "bucket list". Fascinating, gripping, racy, outrageous - I never could have imagined what an interesting character D.N. was! He certainly lived life to the full and is much missed. Buy it - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welsh Review, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully written by an absolutely engaging, wonderful Gentleman. One of the original Rat Pack, his tales of early Hollywood are both captivating and enlightening his honesty and integrity are never compromised. His love affair with a prostitute while still very young lasted for years, his expulsions from School etc. all interesting and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to read before you..., 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a big David Niven fan as I always thought he belonged to my parent's generation rather than mine but after so many people recommended this book to me I at last got round to reading it. Funny, sad, honest and full of real stars. Loved it 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great autobiography by a true true legend. This book is written by a Hollywood actor who really has a story to tell. When you look at the type of autobiographies written now by C listed so-called stars with 12 minutes in the profession, this is really head and shoulders above their ghost writers efforts. There is clearly more to an actor's career than sleeping with a Page 3 model, appearing in 4 episodes of Eastenders and having a picture in Hello magazine.
Covering his school days, joining the army, fighting in the war, becoming an actor and then starring in some huge films with some brilliant antidotes along the way from Hollywood's golden era. It's not all fun though, there is some tragic tales also recalled.
I recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not another kiss and tell biog..the guy had far too much lass for that...just a very good read and a fascinating tale..full of anecdotes and wit.
It leaves you wishing you knew him well enough to invite him round for dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If the moons a balloon then niven holds the balloon, 7 May 2004
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
I wasnt really interested in this book originally, my father had implored me to read it for the last 4 years however i havent seen any films with niven in and really wasnt interested. eventually i did decide that i may as well read it becuase i had some free time.
I found it initially hard to get into but i perservered and when i got into his hilarious stories about school i was hooked, i couldnt put it down. although i knew nothing about the man or his films i found his entry to hollywood fasinating and was intregued about his relationship with a prostitute.
i am now a die hard fan, i have watched many of his films and am discovering new actors like william powell and carole lobard. His humour and self-depricating descirption were wonderful, i would go as far to say that this man should have wrote books professionally, he is better than many writers today.
i would recomend this book to anyone with our without an interest in hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Moon's a Balloon, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
As well as being a brilliant actor David Niven also wrote this amazing autobiography. He shows how Hollywood was in the 1930 - 60's. I should think he left quite a bit out of this book too, so not to embarrass..... x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read about a quintessential Englishman, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking at some of the other reviews for this book, I was unsure about whether to buy it or not. I did, and am glad that I did. The style is simple and straightforward, but engaging, and he covers a lot of ground. Of course he 'name drops' a lot, but if you are famous, then you are going to mix with a lot of other famous people, so I'm not quite sure why others are surprised by this. I also don't understand why some reviewers think it is all made up; thinking about many of the people he mixed with - Flynn, Bogart, Sinatra and so on - I suspect that much had to be toned down or left out rather than made up!
All in all, a fun read; nothin profound, but I didn't expect that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon's a Balloon
Moon's a Balloon by David Niven (Hardcover - 11 Oct. 1971)
Used & New from: £1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews