Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars1,164
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 April 2005
There can be few books for children that work on so many levels, and are so completely satisfying. I have been a children's librarian for over 30 years, and I can't think of anything to surpass it. The very simple story is just that the caterpillar eats his way through a variety of foods, becoming bigger all the time, until he turnes into a butterfly. The artwork is glorious, in Eric Carle's typical tissue-paper collage, with wonderful jewel-like colours. He has made many picture books, but this one is definitely the best. The pages vary in size, getting gradually larger with the caterpillar, and have holes in to show him chomping his way through the leaves, fruit, chocolate cake and ice cream, so it is interesting and tactile for little ones. It introduces counting (because he eats one plum, two oranges, three pieces of melon, etc), days of the week (one foodstuff per day!) and thus the passage of time, growth and change, the biology of caterpillars and butterflies, and, above all, it's great FUN!! My all-time favourite children's book is "Where the wild things are", but this would run it a close second.
There is no better book for under 7's. Buy it NOW, but buy the proper book, as opposed to the board book, or any other "messed-about version!
55 comments|146 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 22 January 2014
"The Very Hungry Caterpillar" by Eric Carle is one of the all-time classics for young readers that besides being infinitely entertaining teach children about time, numbers and week days.

In center of the story is one very hungry caterpillar that will eat his way through the different week days together with the book pages. And while the week is passing our hungry hero will taste different food - ice cream, chocolate, fruit and others. In the end, the caterpillar will eventually overload himself with food and stomach ache but problem will be solved with green leaf...

Eric Carle book is beautifully written book for children that besides offering lot of fun provides a great educational value - young children reading this book will teach them time, days of the week and counting numbers, they'll learn various types of food and most important learn that different type of food is good for people to feel good and be healthy. Today when we are feeding ourselves in usually unhealthy way, book message that fruits and vegetables should be eaten regularly is more than welcome for teaching younger generations.

Together with great and educating text book immediately will win your hearts due to its appearance and beautiful illustrations that were made with using cut and layered collages and then overprinted with ink, crayon, and tempura. Therefore when reader takes this book immediately will realize that this picture book is something different compared to the other releases due to heavier paper than usual.

Altogether, if by chance you have not heard of this timeless classic or have misplaced somewhere in the meantime copy from your childhood, it's the book with which each child will spend a lot of time and immensely enjoy, while learning along the way.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
I remember this book as a child and it was good fun then counting and naming all the foods and looking through the holes in the pages to see what was coming next. It was a delight to share it with my toddler and to see her delight as we turned the pages and named and counted the different foods.
It's a favourite of hers now and we can read it over and over again with the same delight as the first time.
A must have for a small children.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
The book and toy were a present for my six month old granddaughter. The toy is exactly the right size for a little hand to hold and, of course, the book has been a childrens favourite for many years. Being read to can't start too soon and she loves to join in, at this stage plonking Mummy and Daddy with her Hungry Caterpillar. I will be adding more from the Very Hungry Caterpillar collection as she grows and would recomment this gift set as an excellent starting present for a small child.
I would also recomment buying from Amazon for the excellent price and speedy delivery.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Sturdy cardboard slip-cased edition with cut-out front effect, showing the CD.

2008/PUFFIN BOOKS

The CD is safely housed in the back cover of the hardback version of the book, which measures c 29.75 cm x 21.5 cm, inside.
The book has thick shiny pages, colourfully illustrated throughout.

Overall, the combined outfit measures around 30 cm x 22.25 cm x 1.25 cm.

From the back cover of the slip-case:

'One Sunday morning the warm sun came up and - pop! - out of the egg came a tiny and very hungry caterpillar.
So begins the journey of Eric Carle's most famous character, from little egg to beautiful butterfly. With its die-cut pages and vivid collage illustrations, this is a richly satisfying book for children.

Every child should have a copy - Daily telegraph

This bestselling story has been brilliantly adapted for audio CD.
It is read by Eric Carle himself and there are two tracks:

1. Straight reading with music.
2. Read-along version with a special sound to indicate when to turn the page.

* Read by Eric Carle.
* Music by Christian Vaughan.
* Produced by Mellie Buse.'

CD running time approximately 7 minutes.

Read by the American author, and a little 'ting' indicates the time to turn the page on the second reading.

ooOoo

Also available, on special offer (at the time of writing):

Small-sized Book & Toy Set
DVD
Finger Puppet Book
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
I was disappointed at the small size of the board book - even tiny fingers find it hard to poke through the holes munched by the caterpillar. The little toy is cute, I had thought that he would be able to 'eat his way through the holes in the pages', but as stated above the book is too small. Having said that , The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a classic enjoyed by my children 20 years ago and still popular today.
0Comment|98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
This was bought for my 2 year old grandson's birthday at the request of his Mum as she (and me!) had always loved the story. We thought being able to push the caterpillar through the holes would appeal to him but it is very hard for chubby little fingers to do that as the holes are slightly too small and he soon gave up. The caterpillar itself was a huge success - immediately used as a phone - just the right shape! The story itself is still great but I would probably buy the smaller board version another time ( and a caterpillar toy). Would be great for an older pre-school child or Playgroup but just too fiddly/ hard for little ones to put the caterpillar through the holes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2004
I'm now in my thirties but I still remember my mom taking me to the local library. For young children, the library had a low display area including seats which was full of over-sized books. The first book I always looked for was the Hungery Caterpillar. I used to put my finger through the holes and absolutely love the simple but cyclical story and the vivid pictures. I'm now a Dad and this is the first book I will buy my daughter - a true classic!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
An excellent book, my little girl has enjoyed this right upto 2 and a half years old.
Helps with numbers, days of the week, colours and even the life cycle of caterpillars.
A fun book, an enjoyable book and even an educational book. A must-have for all toddlers and babies.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2008
If you love reading to your child, do not miss this book.

It is a delightful, humourous,dream-like surreal book, with a repetitive, poetic, chanting story.

It is (deservedly) a children's classic. Many reviewers here have tried to break down the different elements of this book.

What I would like to convey is the whole experience of reading the book which teaches a simple life experience to a child - which is highly spiritual, particularly the last pages where a riot of colour is the world through the eyes of a butterfly.

The story has optimism and beauty at its very core.

It has limitless opportunities for teaching and conversation. There is a colouring book of the fantastic illustrations which can be bought - the video and CD features lovely music and a calm and peaceful narrator.

Tops my list for children and grown ups of all ages.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.