Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run or Die
A tremendous read while resting after running in the mountains of Valais in Switzerland. A great snapshot of Killians life so far and his acheivements.

The translation from Catalan sometimes is very poetic, and the way Killian talks about his race philosophy and love for the mountains is something i personally felt close to my heart.

Although i will...
Published 16 months ago by Philip Guest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A frustrating memoir of an incredible runner
I found this quite disappointing. I hadn't heard of Kilian before reading this book, and I'm still not entirely sure who he is or what he has achieved after reading this book.

Whilst I don't doubt he is excellent at what he does and that ultra running is extremely difficult I found it somewhat tiresome reading that during every race he can't possibly take...
Published 1 month ago by Greg Cameron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run or Die, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run or Die (Paperback)
A tremendous read while resting after running in the mountains of Valais in Switzerland. A great snapshot of Killians life so far and his acheivements.

The translation from Catalan sometimes is very poetic, and the way Killian talks about his race philosophy and love for the mountains is something i personally felt close to my heart.

Although i will never be able to match his acheivements when times are getting tough in long races i will remember to keep on trying and just to enjoy my racing.

All in all a very positive read, cant wait for the next chapter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational book. He shows how with total dedication ..., 17 Sep 2014
By 
N. M. Jordan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run or Die: The Inspirational Memoir of the World's Greatest Ultra-Runner (Paperback)
An inspirational book. He shows how with total dedication it is possible to achieve your dreams.
I walked the Tour du Mont Blanc last year in 11 days. He runs the same route in less that 21 hours!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He explores the inner life of the ultra runner. Inspired me for the comparative little races I do. Runners will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A frustrating memoir of an incredible runner, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this quite disappointing. I hadn't heard of Kilian before reading this book, and I'm still not entirely sure who he is or what he has achieved after reading this book.

Whilst I don't doubt he is excellent at what he does and that ultra running is extremely difficult I found it somewhat tiresome reading that during every race he can't possibly take another step before promptly running another 40 miles in record pace. The writing style was quite strange for a sports memoir, often drifting into something resembling poetry and get the sick bucket ready for when he speaks about his first encounters with Alba. The book also lacks any sort of signposting and I really struggled to understand what he was up to between races and why he selected the challenges he did.

I'm sure if you are familiar with the sport or Kilian himself, this book would be very insightful, but as someone with a just general interest in sport, I found this quite a frustrating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking interesting information, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run or Die: The Inspirational Memoir of the World's Greatest Ultra-Runner (Paperback)
Too philosophical and poetic. He's done some amazing things but he leaves out so much detail in this book. You are often left at then end of a chapter wondering whether he actually completed the event, won it, broke the record etc..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run or die, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Run or Die (Paperback)
Great read , good descriptions of surroundings where running and an excellent insite into the world of the ultra runner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best sports book I have ever read, 19 Dec 2014
This review is from: Run or Die: The Inspirational Memoir of the World's Greatest Ultra-Runner (Paperback)
This is the best sports book I have ever read. I am following Kilian's Summits of My Life project avidly on social media (in which he attempts to set the fastest times for climbing the world's highest peaks) and this is a wonderful insight into what has produced a person who would pursue such a dream. There is a lot of philosophy in here, the kind of existential stuff you would associate with surfing or parkour or other extreme pursuits, but it is never preachy, never over-egged. Better even than Murakami's What I Talk About When I Talk About Running
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beside being an excellent athlete, Julian Jornet is a font of inspiration ..., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run or Die: The Inspirational Memoir of the World's Greatest Ultra-Runner (Paperback)
Beside being an excellent athlete, Julian Jornet is a font of inspiration for those who want become an ultrarrunner or simply enjoy the trails and mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smelling the flowers along the way, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run or Die (Paperback)
A very romantic view of a great journey, I doubt that it would have been so good had it of been written initially in English
Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight of a top ultra marathon runner, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run or Die (Paperback)
I personally enjoyed reading it but it's not for everyone taste ....a nice book for those who enjoy sports or running in the mountains :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run or Die: The Inspirational Memoir of the World's Greatest Ultra-Runner
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews