Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved your book Chris!
I hear so much rubbish about Chris Froome. OK. I'm not a fan and he isn't quite my cup of tea. He doesn't have the glamour or mystery of a Contador, Nibali, Anquetil or a Merckx. But I tell you what. He is a man of huge depth and wide interests. His experiences growing up in Africa as a white boy amongst the black population is intriguing. Here is a man who sees his...
Published 11 months ago by Ian Franklin

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but dominated by sniping at Wiggo
Froome gives a great insight into the world of professional bike racing. He is clearly a phenomenal athlete and his rise to TDF winner is incredible.

The unfortunate thing about this book is that Froome does not come across as particularly likeable. The sense throughout is that he feels he has been superior to Wiggins with the only reason why Wiggo won in 2011...
Published 13 months ago by cyclingfanatic


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved your book Chris!, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
Ian Franklin "Justme" (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Climb: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
I hear so much rubbish about Chris Froome. OK. I'm not a fan and he isn't quite my cup of tea. He doesn't have the glamour or mystery of a Contador, Nibali, Anquetil or a Merckx. But I tell you what. He is a man of huge depth and wide interests. His experiences growing up in Africa as a white boy amongst the black population is intriguing. Here is a man who sees his fellows as fellow humans, not as members of other races. Here is a man who appreciates nature. He knows about snakes, wild animals and all manner of things. He's not a one-track-minded individual. He's got more humanity, common sense, intelligence and goodness than most of the people who post rubbish about him on forums. These qualities shine through his book and turns him from simply a cyclist to a great character. Loved the book. It made me appreciate him so much more. And, before you say anything else, it puts to bed the lie that the trolls on the internet keep repeating about drug use. The man's clean as a whistle. I'm still not a fan. But I do appreciate him. And so should you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!!, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read several cycling books over the last couple of years. I find Chris's autobiography a compelling read and full of great factual comments. It gives a great insight into a young wannabe cyclists world being brought up in Africa and coming up through the ranks and difficulties that professional cycling brings with it.

I would definitely recommend this book to cyclists and would be cyclists. It enlightens you with the push that is required to be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, enlightening, and a very good read., 17 May 2015
By 
B. A. Baker (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Climb: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
I was lent this book by a fellow cycling enthusiast and couldn't even be bothered to pick it up for ages as I thought Froome was boring. How wrong can you be! It is fascinating and inspirational from start to finish. I would recommend this book to anyone, cycling fan or not. It tells you so much about the highs and lows, struggles and joys of following your own dream. And how treacherous some people can be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jessica, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, really enjoyed it. Good read even for a non cyclist like myself. There's excited, tear and laughter. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle giant among professional cyclists, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Climb: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Fantastic insight to professional cycling. Enthralling book - couldn't put it down - what a gentleman ! Bravo Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Froomey is a guy you need to get to know, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I read this I had a very different picture in my head of the kind of guy Froomey is. I took time to warm to him as a character based on the newspaper's version of the man. Having read this I may still not know The Real Chris Froome, but I certainly like and respect the guy in the book a whole lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book, great read, comes across as a very driven guy can see why him and Wiggo don't get on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice back story detailing the humble beginnings of one of ..., 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Jai Watson "Jai" (South East London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Climb: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
A nice back story detailing the humble beginnings of one of Team Sky's most successful Tour de France riders and probably the most unassuming sportsman in the cut throat, unforgiving world of professional road cycling. The story begins in Kenya where Froome was born and raised, many years before becoming a British citizen and gradually moves toward recent times in his long and difficult path to becoming the second ever British cyclist to win the Tour de France (the first was Bradley Wiggins in 2012 of course).
There is alot of focus on the supporting role which Froome played in helping Wiggins to his win the previous year, which makes for interesting reading, although the day by day account of Froome's win in 2013 wasn't so detailed and what should have built to a climax of an outstanding career highlight paled by comparison to a mere factual account of the daily log of stages leading up to his victory. A good read, but let down a little by the ending which lacked the compelling insight into the emotional account of the earlier chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this autobiography. It was written well and full of interesting cycling info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having read most of the books available on professional cycling ..., 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Climb: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Having read most of the books available on professional cycling, it makes a change to read of a drug free honest man, Incredible book, put a whole new slant on BW, can't believe he treated CF the way he did, Chris comes over as an honest and loyal person, who has been put upon by Sky and BW and still came out as a gentleman with his honour intact.

Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Climb: The Autobiography
The Climb: The Autobiography by Chris Froome (Hardcover - 5 Jun. 2014)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews