Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for aspiring and amateur physicists alike!
These series of books are by far my favourite science books. Ever. Having read the classical mechanics book, I was extremely excited when this was released. I would warn though that it is not for the light-hearted. The Theoretical Minimum books are filled completely with equations and if your mathematics isn't up to scratch you wont get past the second lecture...
Published 9 months ago by Louis

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a very narrow readership
I saw this book on the shelves in my local booksellers which are usually reserved for books which are new, interesting and likely to sell a lot of copies. They were right on two out of them, but they were in cloud cuckoo land on the ‘lot of copies’ part (unless we get a ‘Brief History of Time effect’ where lots buy it and don’t read it). This...
Published 12 months ago by Brian Clegg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QM, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating exposition of Quantum Mechanics. Detailed coverage of spin, Schrodinger Equation, Generalised Uncertainty Principal. The book explains the use of Dirac Notation in QM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must admit that I am pleased with my purchases, 29 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum (Hardcover)
As I have not read all of what I have received, my opinions are based on a quick review,I must admit that I am pleased with my purchases. Thank you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum (Hardcover)
A very interesting presentation of a series of lectures on the mathematical treatment of QM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars although a good previous knowledge of maths is, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Explains everything very simply, although a good previous knowledge of maths is helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum (Hardcover)
very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea..., 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Jonathan (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum (Hardcover)
I'm afraid, after trying to get into this book for a few days I sent it back to Amazon for a refund. It's neither a popular science book or a book to learn quantum mechanics rigorously. Instead, it sits somewhere in between, introducing the novice to some of the mathematical concepts that underpin the subject. This could be the inspirational stimulus needed to delve into the subject more deeply but personally I found the approach and style off-putting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The minimum was too much for me!, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Depressing read for me as I have long suspected that my maths was not up to even this attempt to provide a credible level to allow deeper understanding of quantum mechanics. Although I am a retired academic with science degrees I feel that I would need to enrol in an Open University course to get the most from this text. My fault not the Author's!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum
Quantum Mechanics: The Theoretical Minimum by Leonard Susskind (Hardcover - 25 Feb. 2014)
£20.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews