Customer Reviews


597 Reviews
5 star:
 (504)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece of children's literature
There can be few books for children that work on so many levels, and are so completely satisfying. I have been a children's librarian for over 30 years, and I can't think of anything to surpass it. The very simple story is just that the caterpillar eats his way through a variety of foods, becoming bigger all the time, until he turnes into a butterfly. The artwork is...
Published on 13 April 2005 by The Librarian

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really a book for small children?
Interestingly, none of the children I know seems to really like this book. I don't know why, since it seems to have everything a good book should have.

But somehow, the lovely message seems to be lost on the small children this is usually bought for, while the older ones aren't interested anymore, maybe because the text is a bit, well, simple, shall we say? It...
Published on 15 Feb 2010 by AnFheillEoin


‹ Previous | 143 44 4560 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my grandson my own children loved this book all those years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Excellent item, arrived very quickly and very well packaged thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best baby book ever!, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book] (Board book)
Good price, great product and prompt delivery. Best baby book ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good size book (A4 size) pleased with my purchase, 12 Sep 2014
arrived promptly. good size book (A4 size) pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very hungry caterpillar, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5★★★★★ fantastic product as required!! I would recommend this :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read for kids. Ours love it after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book] (Board book)
For the amount this book cost it was tiny. I remember my childrens copy of about 28yrs ago being at least twice the size. My grandkids were not impressed and the book much to my disapointment did not hold their attention. If I had of looked at this book in a shop I would NOT have bought it at the price I was charged.

Their favourite was book by far was "wheels on the bus"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliving my childhood!, 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book] (Board book)
I used to love this book as a child! Great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably my favourite child's book of all time. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best ever kids' book for the age group, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book] (Board book)
I first read this in Primary 1- I loved it then and still do. Eric Carle's simple tale of the hungry caterpillar manages to educate children about the days of the week; basic counting; different types of foods; the transformation of a creature in little over 100 words and the white space of the page allows the vibrant illustrations to speak for themselves without unnecessary clutter. The clever die-cut feature which represents where the caterpillar has munched through its journey is always going to be a feature which fascinates children as they explore looking through the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 143 44 4560 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book]
The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book] by Eric Carle (Board book - 29 Sep 1994)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews