Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insights into someone whose passion has changed the world
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well written and takes you on a tour of Jony Ive's life from child prodigy to now the world's best known and most respected industrial designer. After reading this book, it is easy to see the synergies between Jonny Ive and Steve Jobs. Both have or had the ability to see the big picture as well as the minute details. Both are or were...
Published 12 months ago by Robert Clay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok
read more like someone trying promote their CV..but some interesting bits in there
Published 5 days ago by Wilki


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insights into someone whose passion has changed the world, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well written and takes you on a tour of Jony Ive's life from child prodigy to now the world's best known and most respected industrial designer. After reading this book, it is easy to see the synergies between Jonny Ive and Steve Jobs. Both have or had the ability to see the big picture as well as the minute details. Both are or were perfectionists, on a mission to create a better product and provide a better experience. Both are or were concerned about the invisible details as much as those things that are visible. The partnership they formed literally changed the world. And the creative genius that made Apple what it is today is still there, answerable to nobody else. And that creative genius, encoraged and supported by Jobs when he was alive, is Jony Ive.

Clearly Jony has a healthy ego, unsurpassed power and influence within Apple, and a wonderful lifestyle, which he truly deserves. But he also comes across as a genuinely nice guy who gives credit to others as much as himself, and will go the extra mile in anything he does.

What impressed me most is that Jony is much more than 'just' a designer. He is an innovator in production techniques as well and has come up with some amazing innovations like the Apple Unibody process that have revolutionised fit, finish and reliability on volume produced products. I had always imagined that another group of engineers would have been responsible for these aspects, but no it is all part of Jony's design process ... And is all the more impressive for that.

I was also hugely impressed by Jony's drive to make everything tactile and emotionally engaging. It is a characteristic that runs through all of his designs, and you see it in all the products he he has designed or overseen in his time at Apple. You see it too in the Apple stores, where people are encouraged to be hands on. It is a lesson that everyone in business could and should learn, and I am tempted to buy copies of this book for all my clients because if they could truly understand this one thing and bake it into everything they do, they would deliver better products and services to their customers. Their customers would then develop a deeper emotional engagement, leading to more loyalty and unstoppable word of mouth ... All things for which Apple sets the benchmark. And for which Jony Ive has been responsible.

I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone both to better understand the true genius of Jony Ive, and yes there is no doubt that he IS a genius at what he does, and the lessons you can take away and apply in your own life. Thank you Leander Kaheny for writing it so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and insightful, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Martin Lee "mijlee" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a fully signed up Apple nut and having worked in the design industry for nearly 20 years I have been waiting for a book like this for ages. It's a real shame that Lyander didn't get direct access to Jony or official Apple channels but to be honest he's done a grand job without it. There must have been some serious research behind it.

It's a great read and really gives you an idea of Jony the man, who is a quiet but truly inspirational character. I already liked his output but now I have a good insight on how Apple's design process works and there are plenty of tips on how I can apply some of those methods to improve my own design process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a detailed and well-sourced book, and the coolest thing about it was finding all the insider details about Apple's processes - like learning that the iPad was originally going to come before the iPhone, and prototypes began in 2003!
Another good thing is it also doesn't solely focus on Jony's life at Apple - it also talks about his school life, and other jobs, and relationships.

If you love Apple, and design, read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2014
By 
M. Tendler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb look at the man behind the design at Apple. Very interesting as it looks from his childhood and how his father taught him about caring about the whole design, to his moving to California and relationship with Steve Jobs and others at Apple.. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products (Paperback)
Great Book. Gives a unique look into how Apple became Apple. A great read could not put it down, worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing read, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in Apple, this book will give you a clearer insight into the design process of it's most iconic products than anything else I've read. It will re-balance your view of how Apple works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in ages, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading as soon as i downloaded it. Very interesting to learn how Apple nearly blew it but Steve Jobs recognised Ive's talent and the rest is history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products (Paperback)
Very interesting and well written book! Reveals many interesting and otherwise hidden details of Jony and his studio. If you love knowing anything you are not ment to know, then this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jony Ive's Greatness put in to a book, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any apple fan, who wants to know more about the guy who actually designed your favourite products.
No dis towards Jobs, but Ive deserves more credit, and Kahney's book certainly helps him out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic behind the scenes exploration of how Apples products are designed and view into the world of one of today's greatest industrial designers. Get this book - you'll be pleased you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products
Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products by Leander Kahney (Paperback - 28 Nov 2013)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews