Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous
as a big fan of Jennifer Saunders I was very excited to read this book, I can honestly say i was not disappointed. The unique 'go of on a ramble in the middle of a chapter' structure ensured that you were never bored by long stories of great grandparents and first boyfriends. The book was just as funny as Jen herself and I read the book in her voice. It was personal but...
Published 6 months ago by Charlotte Woodley

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of interest and an insight into the woman behind the comedy, it's not perfect but a good read
3.5 stars.

(These are my comments on a Waterstones review copy)

I'm not a big biography reader, but was really interested to read this, about a comedienne I admire.

Jennifer Saunders discusses chapters of her life with the readers, from early life to recent goings-on. It is pretty episodic though. I did feel a lot was missing at times. We...
Published 5 months ago by K. J. Noyes


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, 12 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bonkers: My Life in Laughs (Hardcover)
as a big fan of Jennifer Saunders I was very excited to read this book, I can honestly say i was not disappointed. The unique 'go of on a ramble in the middle of a chapter' structure ensured that you were never bored by long stories of great grandparents and first boyfriends. The book was just as funny as Jen herself and I read the book in her voice. It was personal but no too personal that it began to feel uncomfortable. The details on how she got into comedy, how she and Adrian Edmondson got together, the beginning of Ab Fab and her fantastic friendships with Dawn French and Joanna Lumley were an insightful view into her fantastic life. Then obviously there was the cancer. She tackled this subject well. She wrote it in an emotional light but not in a way that would drag down the mood of the whole book. She made people aware of what she had been through but you could tell she was not searching for any sympathy, which in a way made it all the most touching. I would recommend this book 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bonkers: My Life in Laughs (Hardcover)
Loved the book thought it was personal but without exposing any intimacy so we now know how ms Saunders mind works but not which side of the bed she sleeps on.
As a huge fan I giggled through the book in a day.
It is to be hoped perhaps a novel will follow however anyone who reads this and has read bonkers will know it may be a long wait. Hah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and interesting, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Bonkers: My Life in Laughs (Hardcover)
This is a really entertaining read and is full of interesting facts and stories for people who grew up with F&S then AbFab. It also confirmed the impression I had of Jennifer Saunders that she's a lovely person who simply likes making people laugh. She also comes across as very down-to-earth and humble about her talents. A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just abfab, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So funny when reading on a flight to Singapore couldn't help laughing out loud...... other the passengers where not amused....lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this book precisely for it being marketed as a biog different to the norm and it was! Brilliantly funny, reflective and concise. Always loved Jennifer through Ab Fab and now love her even more. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny but really empathised with her cancer battle and the mood swings! Made me feel normal as going through it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindy, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished this book- a requested Christmas present. I don't normally "do" autobiographies but this was terrific. I'm a big fan of Jennifer Saunders - being a child of the 80`s and this book is great. It's very funny and tell her story with humour that often had people asking what was so funny. If you like her comedy- you'll love this book. Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday Read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable book. Very funny in places, slightly sad in others. What a very interesting life Jennifer has led. I admire Jennifer and wish her and her family a lifetime full of laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers-- but I loved it!!, 3 Jan 2014
It was just such an easy read and I really enjoyed Jens writing style. Some books you get into from the first word and ,for me, this was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ab fab read, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read it has all you want from a biography and more. I thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaba19cc0)

This product

Bonkers: My Life in Laughs
Bonkers: My Life in Laughs by Jennifer Saunders (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews