Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Here is a book that managed to impress and depress. Through this hefty book you get to learn about creating artwork on your iPad or iPhone and over 65 expert artists give you a step-by-step run-through as to how they made their images.

So you cannot fail to be impressed by the skill shown, yet you might be depressed like this reviewer when you consider your own...
Published 19 months ago by I. Darren

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
Not as good as I expected. I also own iPhone Obsessed by Dan Marcolina and iPhone Artistry by Dan Burkholder and find these much more inspirational and helpful.
Published 19 months ago by MR R A BAILEY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 25 July 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Here is a book that managed to impress and depress. Through this hefty book you get to learn about creating artwork on your iPad or iPhone and over 65 expert artists give you a step-by-step run-through as to how they made their images.

So you cannot fail to be impressed by the skill shown, yet you might be depressed like this reviewer when you consider your own pitiful attempts and the sheer gap between what should be achievable and what might be achieved. For their creations the artists used fairly common, popular apps such as Sketchbook, Collage and Hiptamatic. This book, however, shouldn't just be viewed as a help aid for those who like to compose artwork digitally. Those who like holding a (traditional) pen or brush might still learn many "analogue" techniques at the same time.

The explanations given are relatively short but to the point. It doesn't spend a lot of time teaching you how to use the featured applications but focusses more on the actual techniques, specific tools and an approximate workflow. Yet the art-gifted user might enjoy having a go and honing their skills as they try and follow in the footsteps of the masters.

It is possible that this reviewer has overly fat fingers, is just talentless at art or both as it is truly amazing to consider that somebody could finger paint a delicate looking sports car on a tablet. Looking at many of these pieces of art, if framed and on a wall, you might be hard pressed to know how they were made. This is one of those books that, should you have a need for it, then it would be a jolly good buy. The casual but curious art lover might stand to gain a fair bit too, yet the price tag could be a little off-putting for a casual read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as I expected. I also own iPhone Obsessed by Dan Marcolina and iPhone Artistry by Dan Burkholder and find these much more inspirational and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mobile Digital Art: Using the iPad and iPhone as Creative Tools (Paperback)
As a professional artist I am always fascinated by the way that other creative people use different media and techniques.
Over the last few years there has been an explosion in apps and software aimed at the digital artist, and as this has found its way onto tablets and smartphones, it is really interesting to see how various users have taken this technology 'out and about' to do their creating in unusual places.
This book shows the work of a number of creatives, working in a fantastic variety of styles and techniques. It also has some "step-by-step" pages, so that you can see how certain images are built.
If you are already creating on a tablet or phone then this book will be of interest to you I feel sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Culture Enthusiast (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mobile Digital Art: Using the iPad and iPhone as Creative Tools (Paperback)
I was looking for a book to give me some ideas on how to get to the next level with my iPad drawing/painting skills. This is THAT book. Very well written, it is a step by step approach o n how to use he most diverse apps. A lot of different techniques and ideas. NB: this him will not teach you how to draw. It will help you getting accustomed
with different techniques. Really enjoyed the artist gallery and the thorough review of useful apps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspiring and Informative book, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just finished reading this intriguing book. Most impressed by the diverse artists in this book who present their talents and skills in this not so new medium. Inspired by the nature of creating and sharing with others on the web...the sharing seems to be an integral part of the process and the generosity of the artists is very heart warming. Baffled and excited by all the new apps available but this book skillfully guides you through endless choices. Usually get out my paint box and brushes when I'm on holiday but this time I was glued to my ipad. Don't think for one minute you cannot draw or paint........you can !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the last couple of years she has been experimenting with the ipad and art and I have bought her various books but this is by, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mobile Digital Art: Using the iPad and iPhone as Creative Tools (Paperback)
My Twin sister is really into art having studied it at uni. In the last couple of years she has been experimenting with the ipad and art and I have bought her various books but this is by far the best. She loves the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots to inspire, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mobile Digital Art: Using the iPad and iPhone as Creative Tools (Paperback)
Lots of stuff in here to make you want to grab your ipad and draw. A beginer may struggle with it but still worth getting as it shows what can be achieved on your iphone/ipad. Only had the book a few days but already got a few tips from it and ideas on how to achieve various effects.
The book is heavy but good quailty feel to it. A pleasure to hold and read. Inside everything is well laid out and the illustrations are great.
A good informative read with eye candy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mobile Digital Art: Using the iPad and iPhone as Creative Tools
Mobile Digital Art: Using the iPad and iPhone as Creative Tools by David Scott Leibowitz (Paperback - 26 April 2013)
£17.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews