Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£30.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2013
Keeping It short. This book has it all. It has the history of recording. Recording techniques.. Types of microphones and specifications etc. If you are in the recording industry or looking to get in to it.. Then I recommend this book highly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I was looking for a book that dealt specifically with recording techniques such as mic placement and so on, and looking at the preview pages there appeared to be some detail on this. However I was disappointed when I actually got the book, it's way too general. It is well written, he has a nice style but it tries to cover everything, from the intimate workings of reel to reel tape machines to the details of midi setups. I would have liked to see more detail on actual recording and less general info, though if you're interested in getting a general picture of the recording industry past to present then it's an interesting read.
There are some little gems in there, but a lot of filler if you already are experienced and are looking for some more depth on certain aspects of you craft.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
It’s a serious credit to David Huber and Robert Runstein that Modern Recording Techniques is now in its eighth edition, and particularly if you take into consideration that the book was first published in 1974! There’s are a reason for its enduring success, and that is simply that it remains one of the most in-depth and authoritative texts on recording and studio production. Acoustics and studio design right through to surround sound and mastering are covered, with each and every step along the way covered with completely authority in each subject area. For any of my students who want to get all their knowledge bases covered, relating to studio technology and all the various elements of audio production, then “Modern Recording Techniques” is an essential read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
I find this book generally very helpful and more broad and discussive in style and content than 'in-depth'. I suggest borrowing a copy before buying but for me it sits very nicely beside othe rbooks such as the very practical, 'Mixing Secrets For The Small Studio' by Mike Senior, the all-the-way-through-university 'Sound and Recording' by Rumsey and McCormick and 'Mastering Audio' by Bob Katz. I'd would give the book 4 stars but the online teachers resources are worth the extra star!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I had fast, prompt delivery. The book was in perfect condition and would recommend it to anyone who is in the Music Industry or is thinking out going into it, or for someone who is just studying Music. I am currently studying for a Music Degree and I have found this product very useful and informative, well worth the high price tag!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Excellent book regarding the knowledges you need to know to get a better understanding on how sound waves work, how to use your DAW etc...
I highly recommend it as it has REALLY USEFULL INFORMATIONS in it, and everything is nicely explained with diagrams. Even if it's quite big, it's a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Great book and came incredibly fast! helped me so much with my work at uni
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Everything you need to know about studios and recording! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
thumbs up for everything
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)