Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2012
... it's although a book about flowers. Not only as on object in a picture but as a living beauty - a living creature.

Davis put a lot of pictures together, to show us, what he thinks is important to take a good macro-shot of a blossom. He tell us, what do you have to consider while taking a picture in the garden or in your studio - if you own one -. So every picture comes with a description about the aperture, if he used a tripod and and and. He will tell you, what is important while working with a light-box, especially how to treat the flowers right.

The second core - or perhaps the main - core of this book are the beautiful pictures of flowers. Roses, orchids, flowers of your meadow or from the park just opposite your street. It's just a joy to look at all the different blossoms. Apart from the explanations this book is a picture-book for photographers, hobby-photographers and people, who enjoy looking at beautiful flowers. And because this is a macro-picture-book you will discover a lot of interesting and uncommon views of flowers.

The last theme is the biological view on the flowers. Davis descripes the origin and the latin name of the flower, how many species of this concrete flower exists. Although you will learn something about gender and reproduction. But don't be afraid, it's not an academic book; you will only learn, what you have to learn for taking wonderful pictures of flowers and their very own characteristics.

So, this a a book with three books inside, very interesting, very lovely pictures and a book you will take more than one time in your hands. 5 stars.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2012
A brilliantly descriptive and educational book that actually tells me the useful stuff I need to know when starting out with macro flower photography. Technicalities excellently explained, exactly what I needed. This book is full of beautiful photos and inspiration to get you going with your own photography. Would recommend to anyone interested in this type of photography.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
The first book I bought by Harold Davis was on flower photography, and his techniques have transformed my approach to this, and many other, photographic subjects. The use of a lightbox, and shooting multiple photos at different exposures, and then combining them in Photoshop, was all new to me. But Harold takes the reader through it all, step by step, with many examples to illustrate his methods.

His use of different Blend modes with layer masks, applied to the technique described above is jaw-droppingly simple, but HUGELY effective. I'm now routinely able to extend tonal range without the usual hideous HDR characteristics.

Then I bought The Way of the Digital Photographer. It's rare for me to buy books, because I normally do my learning from online sources. Harold's philosophy and teaching are clear and easy to follow. Even when he changes gear and becomes more technical, he explains his methods in a step by step fashion that's very successful. He's humorous too, which helps!

What I especially like is that he gives worked examples of every technique, and, like every good teacher, moves from the simple to the complex, and from the familiar to the unfamiliar, recapping at every stage. As an ex-teacher-trainer myself I'd say his writing/teaching is impressive.

Then along came Harold's Monochromatic HDR Photography. Which I bought! I thought I had already learned lots about post-processing from his previous books, but Harold takes it to a whole new level - with stunning results.

All the books are must-haves for those photographers who want to produce the very finest work that the digital negative contains.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
It inspired me to go out and photograph flowers - say no more! Great ideas and techniques, excellent examples. Had to go out and buy a portable reflector..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
The authors enthusiasm for flower photography shines though. I originally bought this book to seek advice regarding light box usage, layering and how Photoshop is involved in such attractive images.
I was slightly surprised initially by the botanical bias in the initial text, but in retrospect I definitely think this helped my understanding of how to develop my interest in this area.
The last part of the book gives good information on how the digital darkroom is involved.
A worthwhile buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This man is an absolute genius. The book covers pretty much everything you think you need to know plus a lot you didn't realise you needed all in reasonable detail. What is not covered in detail is some of the processing techniques but Harold Davis covers many of these in his other books. There are excellent sections on the use of LAB colour and blending which can introduce a whole new aspect to floral photography.
This book is a must for anyone interested in either macro or floral photography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
I like Harold Davis but this book was a disappointment. It's not cheap but I expected something more substantial. One third of the book is nothing but botany lessons. One of the interesting aspects - "Creating the Illusion of Transparency" is so vague as to be pretty well useless. It's almost as if the author didn't quite want to let you in to his secrets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
A lovely book offering some critical tips and tricks in improving your chances of capturing some of Natures Beauty. Even if you don't take any more shots of your own - you can admire the skill of the author with his lovely photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Was very disappointed with this book, had purchased other books by this author and found them to be very informative but this one falls short of the mark. Very short on information and content. Some stuff repeated form his other books, always feel cheated when authors do that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Well illustrated and instructive - great aid to develop flower photography skills
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse