Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Modeling for Games. Yes, it certainly is.
I felt some details were remiss but if followed from cover-to-cover, by each tutorial one will have developed enough understanding to fill in most details in future.

You'll get plenty of insight of how things work and how one should approach creating assets, etc.
Beginning with a basic tutorial, leading onto more advanced techniques such as normal...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by W. Adlani

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks detailed instructions
I'd avoid buying this book if you want things explained to you in detail. The majority of each chapter is basically set out step by step but the trouble is there's no explanation to a lot of things. You tend to be sat reading through it and you start to think "well, WHY? did you do that?". The reference images are not much help either because they jump to far ahead rather...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks detailed instructions, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: 3ds Max Modeling for Games: Insider's Guide to Game Character, Vehicle, and Environment Modeling: Volume I: 1 (Paperback)
I'd avoid buying this book if you want things explained to you in detail. The majority of each chapter is basically set out step by step but the trouble is there's no explanation to a lot of things. You tend to be sat reading through it and you start to think "well, WHY? did you do that?". The reference images are not much help either because they jump to far ahead rather than showing it in small steps what is to be done. I'd rather stick with internet tutorials that are free and usually offer a comments section where people can query something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but be prepared to do a little digging., 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3ds Max Modeling for Games: Insider's Guide to Game Character, Vehicle, and Environment Modeling: Volume I: 1 (Paperback)
First off, there IS stuff missing and this is clearly a book that's aimed at people who know the absolute basics of 3DS Max.

Never used 3DS Max before? Go follow some tutorials on YouTube or 3D-sphere.com and check back when you're comfortable with the interface and hotkeys.

Secondly, the people saying "the website doesn't work" - check here:
[...]
(First result off Google.)
The missing files can be downloaded off their forums.

If you have a problem with any of the steps/instructions in the book... chances are, someone on their forums has had the same problems too and has posted about it.

TL;DR The forums will save you a lot of headaches.

It's not a cheap book, but there's some good tutorials + information in there... if you're willing to give it time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Website Doesn't Work. No Support. Where are the files?, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3ds Max Modeling for Games: Insider's Guide to Game Character, Vehicle, and Environment Modeling: Volume I: 1 (Paperback)
Had to hunt around for the files to download. I registered for the website weeks ago. Nothing. Sent two emails asking when will they authorise my new account for the website. Nothing.

The book is for intermediate, not beginners like myself. They skip over so much in even the opening tutorials that I have given up now, and am just going to go the the official 3ds Max channel on Youtube and just go through all of their tutorials.

I'm sure the book is beneficial, especially to the people who bought the older version, with a DVD, and who can join the website. But for me, very disappointed.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max Modeling for Games. Yes, it certainly is., 23 Nov 2011
By 
W. Adlani - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3ds Max Modeling for Games: Insider's Guide to Game Character, Vehicle, and Environment Modeling: Volume I: 1 (Paperback)
I felt some details were remiss but if followed from cover-to-cover, by each tutorial one will have developed enough understanding to fill in most details in future.

You'll get plenty of insight of how things work and how one should approach creating assets, etc.
Beginning with a basic tutorial, leading onto more advanced techniques such as normal mapping;
by the end you should feel entirely more confident to attempt your own endeavours. Mind you, since it is a book, it lacks the nuances that only a video tutorial can illuminate.

Either way, recommended for novices and elites (transfering or focusing their skill in an established manner, elites know that there are almost inifinite ways to achieve the same things from bad to excellent, from my experience, the book's techniques are excellent).

Good book, good supporting material (although my 3DS max 2010 could not open the given files so be warned).

Well written, clear and as concise as a possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very, VERY frustrating!!!!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3ds Max Modeling for Games: Insider's Guide to Game Character, Vehicle, and Environment Modeling: Volume I: 1 (Paperback)
When I got this book I had high hopes. Because taken at face value, it looks pretty promising as it's full of colour pictures, it was written by a Briton, which isn't the case with most of these 3D books, and it appeared to be well laid out. But...and this is a BIG but...after starting to read it I quickly saw it's limitations. As others have pointed out, the author has not included important steps and information which will hinder anyone without prior knowledge of the software from finishing the tutorials. This is especially evident with chapter 3, when trying to texture the Floor Buffer that you have to build, the book does not tell you how to properly lay out the image maps after you UV Unwrap them. Someone mentioned about doing digging and using free videos from a certain website (You know the one) along with the book. BUT...doing so, will only highlight the flaws of this book even more. As often, the free videos will show the viewer ALL the steps neccesary to complete building models - And you can even message the person who put up the video with your queries. So why bother with this book? Don't!

I noticed that the forum which supposedly supports this book, has messages on it which are 3 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is just GREAT!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3ds Max Modeling for Games: Insider's Guide to Game Character, Vehicle, and Environment Modeling: Volume I: 1 (Paperback)
the headline says it all. It's great for beginners in the 3ds max world. it's very easy to understand, andrew gahan really knows about this, his portfolio is awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews