Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal companion for first lensbaby
I'm really glad I got this book along with my first lensbaby. Clearly written in a style that's personal enough to keep the text lively and engaging, and from an author who is clearly an experienced lensbaby user. The book breaks down the different types of lens and optic available, demonstrating their different effects, uses and strengths. There are portfolios of...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Rachel

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you want.
This is a very colourful book, full of lovely images and amusing narrative. If you are thinking about getting a Lensbaby it might give you an idea or two before the big spend and if you already made the investment you should have done all this research first. I'm having loads of fun with my composer and after 3 months its still a matter of trial and error with very little...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Mr. R. Pengelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal companion for first lensbaby, 26 Dec 2010
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
I'm really glad I got this book along with my first lensbaby. Clearly written in a style that's personal enough to keep the text lively and engaging, and from an author who is clearly an experienced lensbaby user. The book breaks down the different types of lens and optic available, demonstrating their different effects, uses and strengths. There are portfolios of beautiful images from photographers who use lensbabies professionally, loads of tips on how to get the best out of your lensbaby, and a troubleshooting section for any small glitches or problems. The photographs are a real highlight and show just how much these lenses can do. I found this book very useful and enjoyed the writing style - the author so obviously wants to share their enthusiasm for the product and it's very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the Lensbaby system, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Lepidina "Lepi" (Northwestern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
I am glad I purchased this book when I got my Lensbaby Composer Pro. It is really helpful, explaining how the interchangeable optics work and what to expect from each type of lens and optic. It also provides many examples of photos which spark off the imagination. This book would best be purchased before you purchase a Lensbaby lens then you will be able to decide which bits of kit are for you. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book on all aspects of the Lensbaby but needs updating, 13 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
The Lensbaby is a unique camera lens system. The main feature of the Lensbaby is the ability to bend the lens to place the sweet spot of focus to produce fun or creative photographs. The Lensbaby system has a wide range of lens: Composer, Composer Pro, Muse, Scout, and Control Freak and interchangeable optics such as double glass, pinhole and zone plate. In addition there is a wide arrange of accessories available like the creative aperture kit.

This book is a great help navigating all these variations and helps you select which lens and optic is best for you. Unfortunately the book is in need of an update as the latest additions to Lensbaby line-up: the Composer Pro and Sweet 35 optic are not covered. The latter optic has an inbuilt aperture ring and does not take any of the accessories that work with the other Lensbaby optics so this is an important difference missing from the book.

There is a chapter on how to use the Lensbaby on your DSLR camera. The Lensbaby is manual focus and manual exposure so this chapter is very handy to get up to speed quickly on how to use the Lensbaby.

The book also has several chapters of example photographs from professional photographers using the Lensbaby lens. Portfolio topics include: portrait, wedding, commercial, landscape, flowers and urban. The wide range of portfolios shows the extent to which the creative aspects of the Lensbaby can be applied.

The paper quality and photograph reproduction are excellent and better than the average from Focal Press.

The book drops a star rating as the book is a little behind with the latest Lensbaby models but it is still an excellent reference for the others models and the portfolio chapters have a wide range of inspirational photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quintessential reference book, 22 May 2011
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
A wonderful, inspiring book. I can't wait to get started! It explains the technology and the options succinctly, and the brilliant photos demonstrate just what is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you want., 12 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
This is a very colourful book, full of lovely images and amusing narrative. If you are thinking about getting a Lensbaby it might give you an idea or two before the big spend and if you already made the investment you should have done all this research first. I'm having loads of fun with my composer and after 3 months its still a matter of trial and error with very little if any help from this book which now gathers dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Mar 2013
By 
J. Westwater - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
Since what is supplied with the lensbaby kit in terms of a manual is laughable this book is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lensbaby Guide, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
Bought this book when i started building my Lensbaby arsenal. Its crucial for you to understand how to operate even better with your Lensbaby and learn new techniques and combinations.
The book, offers a deep view on all Lensbaby mounts/lens/optics/accessories, followed by example photos with the technical aspects of the shots (ISO, aperture, optic type, etc) . Theres a small introduction about photography to learn about ISO, exposures, etc, if your a newbie on Photography
Keep in mind that theres a new update version of this book (released on November 2012), that already cover the more recent lens by Lensbaby such as Edge 80 and the Sweet 35 Optic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good 'ideas book' to get you started, but largely non-technical, 3 Aug 2013
By 
M. Bhangal "S" (Somewhere in Northern England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
I got this book as part of an eBay sale: a Lensbaby Muse, an optics set, a Lensbaby case, and this book, all for about half the cost of the Muse on its own.

So that's the first thing to take note: If you are in the market for a Lensbaby, get one second hand on eBay. A Lensbaby is about the most primitive lens you can put on a DSLR, and some pro photography people just don't get that and sell it after only two or three attempts.

A Lensbaby requires you to use either Aperture (A) or full manual (M) mode on your camera with manual focusing, and some DSLR beginners can't get their head around that, and the Lensbaby ends up on eBay again.

Wait long enough, and one will come along for cheap.

On to the book. Its a showcase of what you can do with a Lensbaby. It also goes through the different types of Lensbaby and the available add-on optics and shows you what each can do.

The book doesn't provide much in the way of advanced instruction simply because there's not much to learn past the basics: most of the technical skill is in knowing how to use your camera in manual modes anyway.

The showcase part is useful though, because it gives you an indication of what sort of things you can aim for.

Taking all that on board, there's still a few important things missing in the book:

No discussion on post processing/lighting. If you are using a Lensbaby, the images that come out are typically lower contrast than you would get using normal lenses, and a bit of post processing love (or subtle use of fill flash) to fix this goes a long way. Not mentioned at all in the book, but for me, pretty fundamental.

No discussion of video. You can actually reproduce the `Lensbaby sweet spot' in Photoshop (assuming you know how to layer a few radial selections over each other and know your Gaussian from your motion blur), but you can't easily create the same effect in post when you are playing with video. So one of the big uses of Lensbaby is video. No discussion whatsoever in the book.

So, to conclude:
If I were being cynical, I would say this is a good sales brochure for Lensbaby. If I were not, I would say this is a good ideas book and shows you what all the various add-on optics can do.

Downside is that the book is not detailed nor specific enough for intermediate-advanced users nor videographers... but they probably don't need a book to get into Lensbaby anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lensbaby, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: Lensbaby: Bending your perspective (Paperback)
A most useful book not only explaining the different types of lensbabies but offering help to make use of the equpment in a creative manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lensbaby: Bending your perspective
Lensbaby: Bending your perspective by Corey Hilz (Paperback - 7 July 2010)
17.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews