Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
I was looking for a book on night photography that wasn't all fireworks, sunset/rise, lit up buildings and people in candle-light, and I found it. This book is excellent, I've only had it 2 hours but I can't put it down. The photographs in the book are stunning and the overall quility of the book is excellent.
I would advise that a basic knowledge of photography is...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Ms. J. E. Kenyon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light at the end of the tunnel!
For sure this book is interesting reading, but in my opinion it's a little too technical for the keen amateur like me!
Published 16 months ago by george.v


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Ms. J. E. Kenyon "jojo" (cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
I was looking for a book on night photography that wasn't all fireworks, sunset/rise, lit up buildings and people in candle-light, and I found it. This book is excellent, I've only had it 2 hours but I can't put it down. The photographs in the book are stunning and the overall quility of the book is excellent.
I would advise that a basic knowledge of photography is needed with an understanding of exposure and depth of field etc. This is not really geared for the total beginner with a point and shoot camera. You would really need a camera that you can control shutter speed and such like.
Now for the written content, there is a chapter on the history of night photography, which is very interesting. We then move onto equipment needed and then back to basics with a chapter that includes dynamic range and composing. There is a chapter on film based night photography as well which was a pleasant suprise, then a chapter on Digital Capture which includes histograms etc. There is a chapter on the 'digital darkroom' and a basic knowledge of imaging software is required for this chapter. The next chapter explains High Dynamic Range imaging. My favourite is the chapter on Moonlight and Star Trails. We are given tables for moon phases with exposure times and exposure adjustments, star trail directions depending on which way the camera is pointed. The final chapter is Light Painting a fun chapter with all sorts of really cool ideas.
The written content is excellent and the pictures are stunning. This is definitley a book that will end up being read time after time and used for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ever books on photographic technique, 14 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
There are an awful lot of books on photographic technique: the majority quite good, some awful and some really standing out as exceptional. This is in the latter category, not just for its coverage of the subject "Night Photography" but as a general primer on all photographic technique. I gather from the book that Lance Keimig is a teacher of photography and to me he exemplifies all that is best in a good teacher, he really knows his subject, can explain it clearly and inspires you to put theory into practice. From his simple but sensible advice like "use a weak torch to adjust camera settings to avoid dazzling yourself" or take a high ISO shot to give you a "digiroid" to set up your composition, to his explanation of hyperfocal focusing or explaining how a digital camera sensor works, all the advice bears the mark of an expert who knows what he's doing and can communicate it. A lot of the topics here like "flare" and "shooting in raw" I've seen covered in many other books, but never as simply yet comprehensively as here.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Night Photography, 14 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
The book takes while to get into the main subject matter but warms up to provide some very good information, tips and expertise. No regrets about buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and inspiring., 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
I agree with everything the last reviewer wrote. This is an excellent book which answers all the questions I ever had about night photography and is also teaching me so much more. As was said earlier, this is not for people who want to do the usual night photography subjects but for those who want to take that path less trodden, albeit in the dark ;)

It's a real stimulus to thinking creatively and I recommend it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is superb, 24 Dec 2010
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. Yes, as the previous reviewer suggested, this book is best enjoyed as a competent user of an SLR camera (both film and digital users are catered for in depth) so that you've got full control over your camera's settings. I've read a couple books on night and low-light photography which have given plenty of good technical information - all good stuff for understanding what you're doing. But this book takes it one further and combines a good deal of techincal information (plenty of which was new to me, the book is bang up to date) with an almost overwhelming dose of inspirational material. Since reading this book I've been constantly thinking about night photography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Informative, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Dr. G. Austin "Graham Austin" (Black Country UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
The other reviewers have described this excellent book very well and I have to agree with them.
What I liked was the chapter on history;
The practical advice on camera and equipment;
The comparison between film and digital - each has pros and cons;
Explanations of technical matters like hyperfocal distance in relation to manual focusing and exposing to the right of the histogram;
What to do about noise reduction and an explanation and importance of "native ISO";
Advanced techniques using multiple exposures and so on;
Many of the above wern't totally new to me but having them explained clearly and concisely in one book is good.
The style is very clear and there are some stunning photos to inspire the reader.
A thoroughly good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational night photography book, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the first section on the history of night photography although some may prefer to get straight into the more practical aspects. Digital and film media are covered in depth by a very knowledgeable author who has a real enthusiasm for the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
The title says it all really. For anyone interested in taking pictures at night that don't want to end up with poor results read this book first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great help, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
The delivery of the book was very prompt, awesome. The book itself is full of very good information and examples of night photography. Almost every picture has all the camera settings, light conditions listed to demonstrate the effects achieved. The author explains all the pros and cons to different camera settings and how to correct later in developing. I have found it to be great for filling in the gaps and improving my results. Well recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark (Paperback)
Book gives you literally everything you could really want to know about wanting to create good night photographs. Brilliant bits of history, and interesting photographs inside as well. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d30624)

This product

Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark
Night Photography: Finding your way in the dark by Lance Keimig (Paperback - 19 July 2010)
21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews