Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent foundation of knowledge
This is a brilliant book on lighting. The authors have managed to strike a balance between the highly technical and the "too easy". The information presented has to be absorbed and applied. I used this book like a textbook. I made notes and added my own observations. Once you diligently work through the book, the magic does happen :)

I loved the...
Published on 29 Oct. 2012 by Kate

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More complex than it needs to be but good for students.
Not as practical as I hoped, really for students working on first principals. While scientifically interesting, language is verbose and heavy weather and in practice several manual techniques to resolve awkward light would be more easily resolved with now sophisticated post processing software than faffing with gobo shadows on a set. Sorry not for me.
Published 1 month ago by KiriSC


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent foundation of knowledge, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book on lighting. The authors have managed to strike a balance between the highly technical and the "too easy". The information presented has to be absorbed and applied. I used this book like a textbook. I made notes and added my own observations. Once you diligently work through the book, the magic does happen :)

I loved the chapters on photographing different types of materials such as glass and metal. It has really increased my confidence as a photographer and has given me the motivation to try new ways of lighting and setups. The knowledge contained in this book can be applied to all types of photography, even macro.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but your head will hurt, 30 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
To get the most from it, this book needs to be read from cover to cover before you go back to the areas you are most interested in. In return for this little act of patience, you will learn - a lot! This is a genuine trip into light, as you read, you will re-examine your favourite photographs and see why they are your favourites, you will understand why the lighting worked for some photos and not others - and from this you grow as a photographer as your hit rates sky rockets.

Excellent - well illustrated with good simple explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light science and magic, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
M. Mccall (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
This is a very good book I am thoroughly enjoying reading it, it is written in laymans language and very easy to understand. It goes into detail with very simple diagrams of where to to put lights etc. It is though I believe, a book that must be read form cover to cover rather than picking out chapters , unless of course you already know all about the family of angles etc, as they all lead on to each other. I would highly recommend this book to any one learning to light .Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOOK to buy if you are photographer and want to know about lighting. Superb and fun to read., 28 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
This is a superb book that is easy to read and very informative. If you want to understand and apply photographic lighting, then this is THE BOOK to buy.

It is called "An introduction..." but that under-sells it. Really it is everything that you need to know but explained so simply that anyone can understand it. It has excellent illustrations. I am a chartered Illuminating Engineer of over 40 years experience and the book is technically spot on. Above all, it is fun to read.

If you are a keen photographer, buy this book. It does not matter whether you use natural light, available light, artificail lighting , studio lighting or flash, this book will enable you to get the best results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and very helpful, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
This book goes into a lot of detail that helps you to master the techniques of successful photography. It takes a bit of reading, and it helps if you like physics to start with, but the explanation to why and how lighting works is crucial in becoming a more successful photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating technical book, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Tescodirect - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
This is a fascinating account of the physics of light, and the relevance of this to the photographer. I cannot think of any other book quite like it, and it is certainly unique in the ever-growing catalogue of photography books. Interesting as it is, it is also not the easiest of reads, so I have not given it five stars because I found it a bit hard-going in places. However, if you read it you will definitely learn stuff which is not covered in most photography books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive text on photographic lighting, 28 Oct. 2012
By 
GraemeF (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
Firstly, I'm a little puzzled by the very low ratings given by a couple of the reviewers. I don't really understand their viewpoints.

This book explains photographic lighting in a simple, easy to understand way. There's a little bit of science - things like family of angles and the relative size of light sources etc, but nothing that requires the intellect of Einstein to understand. By incorporating that little bit of science and applying a little creative thinking, you can create a whole lot of magic.

The book takes a very stepwise approach, starting from very simplistic lighting and progressing to more complex scenarios, all the while providing detailed explanations and diagrams of the lighting setups and clear colour photos of the results.

Whether you're a beginner, or an experienced photographer venturing into the realms of multi-light setups, there's a lot to learn from this book.

Everything is presented in a straightforward, jargon free way that makes this book a very easy going and enjoyable read.

Whether you want to do product photography, portraits, or any kind of available light photography, this is one text you shouldn't be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical for understanding Light, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
Love this book, always have, and now with the new edition i love it even more.
Never fail to go back to this book over and over again when i feel myself becoming set in my lighting ways, or maybe letting bad habits creep in.
This book should be read by all wanna be photographers, whether the want to use artificial light or not. Photographers use light and this book is THE way to understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on photographic lighting - period., 21 April 2014
By 
Mr. S. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting (Paperback)
I learned so much from this book, I am still a little in awe of how good the authors are in explaining this quiet complex subject.

This is probably the best 'how to' book I have ever read, on any subject.

If you want to learn the science of light and how to apply it to produce photographic magic, don't look anywhere else. Thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to digest yet full of detailed explanations, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an excellent book for newbies as well as for advanced shooters. Would (re)open your eyes and give you a good footing for better shooting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews