Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2011
Having scanned mye way through the years, almost from the birth of DTP, I reckoned I knew my way around a scanner.
This book I found floating around in a PDF, 1st edition, and I was instantly blown away by it! Needless to say, I bought the 2nd edition rightaway. It's amust-read for anyone interested in doing a better jo with scanning. Old photos deserves preservation and a bit of "time-travel", and this in-depth book tells you what you need to make the best possible job! True value for money. You'll find everything and anything covered, so set aside your 1000 piece scan job and read it first! You'll be amazed how you scans can turn out ... And you don't want to go through that process again, do you?
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
I had already borrowed the first edition of this book from the public library and found parts of it useful. Although I don't have many old photos in need of restoration I do have a large back catalogue of old slides and negatives, some of which I have already scanned into my PC. The quality varies considerably and some of the techniques described in the book give better results than I could have achieved when wet printing some of my monochrome negs. As I can't keep the book on permanent loan I bought the second updated edition on Amazon. It is even better than the first. Just don't try to read it all in one go - unless you find it difficult to sleep at night!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
This is a great book for the more advanced photoshop user. I found it a little to much info to take in as it dealt with several other types of digital software at the same time. Having said that I learnt quite a bit but would have preferred something with a little less technical writing and more images showing start and finished results and how you got there, but that's me I'm more of a visual guy, but its one of those books that will serve you for a lifetime and will revisit as my knowledge base grows.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read Digital Restoration From Start to Finish before embarking on a major project - to scan a 1,000 or so family slides and negatives. I'm really glad I did.

Scanning may sound easy, but there are actually lots of challenges - for example dealing with dirt on negatives and unmounting slides. The book is full of good advice on how to approach these problems, and gives advice on how to cope with and restore photographs that, over the decades, have deteriorated as they inevitably do. The book shows how to do these fixes in Photoshop, though the tips could easily be applied to other software such as PaintShop Pro.

This was a useful book, I so would certainly recommend it for others doing the same sort of scanning project.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
This is a good book. The author's lucid style and use of exemplary illustrations makes it a pleasure to read.

Although the book has not been written specifically for Adobe devotees, those with CS or Elements experience will find the explanations and how-to sections easier going. Apart from his compendium on restoration techniques, Ctein has written a chapter about hardware for restorative work and one on corrective software, including plug-ins.

Those familiar with Katrin Eismann's Photoshop Restoration & Retouching may well find Ctein's book a useful, perhaps less prescriptive, sequel. Like Ms Eismann's classic, this more recent work is full of wisdom. You will be better off with both!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
This is a first class book for those interested in restoring old photos. It goes into great detail and at the beginning has a few pages devoted to images showing various types of old or damaged photos and how they can be repaired or improved and where to look in the book to obtain advice on how to do it.

Having said that, previous experience in photo restoration would undoubtedly be useful. If you came to this book as a complete beginner, I think you would struggle.

It also advises on both hardware and software requirements, and upon scanning photos into the computer, in a very helpful section near the beginning. Many of the solutions do require either Photoshop in its full version, or one of a number of different plug-ins which tend not to be free to obtain, so you would have to regard this book as a detailed bible on photo restoration but at the same time be prepared to invest in further software.

Thoroughly recommended for serious photo restorers, but more than is required for the casual photo editor!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
This book provides a wealth of information and advice for repairing old or damaged photographs. All types of photographs are covered including colour and black and white negatives, colour and b/w prints, etc. A multitude of restoration examples are given with the samples and methods very well presented. The thorough and detailed instructions for scanning and printing are not only useful for restoration work but also for general photography, for example, the use and interpretation of histograms. Methods and tools are based on using the full Adobe Photoshop CS program, notably manipulating the "Curves" function. Nevertheless, much of the restoration procedures can be accomplished with Adobe Elements "Shadows/Highlights" and "Levels" facilities. This is an excellent and quality produced book and is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
I was a little dubious at first as to how good this book would be, i had read a few comments about it but that doesnt mean i would like it myself. All worries were blown away with the first few pages. An excelent book from begining to end, i havent put it down yet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
This is more of a book for those that have already done retouching and need to know more of the Why's & Wherefores rather than the how too's.
The book explains the way to do things rather than How to do it in a guided form, so a good basic knowledge is needed for this book to be really useful.
It is also not up to date and could do with updating for later versions of "Photoshop" ("CS6" & "CC" versions), and perhaps too include "Lightroom" (now in its 5th Version) as both this and Photoshop Camera RAW are very capable programs that would help with many basic improvements to a scanned but faded or discoloured photo, but otherwise a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
This would get five stars and the content is easily worth 5stars. However I bought the kindle version and it's not easy to follow what's going on plus the photos are often too low res to see the subtle changes made by the techniques offered. I will buy the physical version when I can. Content wise the book is very good offering multiple ways of treating different problems, it's well written and relatively easy to follow.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)