Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scanner's bible ...
Having scanned mye way through the years, almost from the birth of DTP, I reckoned I knew my way around a scanner.
This book I found floating around in a PDF, 1st edition, and I was instantly blown away by it! Needless to say, I bought the 2nd edition rightaway. It's amust-read for anyone interested in doing a better jo with scanning. Old photos deserves preservation...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by zwentzen

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for the novice
This is a great book for the more advanced photoshop user. I found it a little to much info to take in as it dealt with several other types of digital software at the same time. Having said that I learnt quite a bit but would have preferred something with a little less technical writing and more images showing start and finished results and how you got there, but that's...
Published on 9 May 2010 by Mr. Nigel P. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scanner's bible ..., 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
Having scanned mye way through the years, almost from the birth of DTP, I reckoned I knew my way around a scanner.
This book I found floating around in a PDF, 1st edition, and I was instantly blown away by it! Needless to say, I bought the 2nd edition rightaway. It's amust-read for anyone interested in doing a better jo with scanning. Old photos deserves preservation and a bit of "time-travel", and this in-depth book tells you what you need to make the best possible job! True value for money. You'll find everything and anything covered, so set aside your 1000 piece scan job and read it first! You'll be amazed how you scans can turn out ... And you don't want to go through that process again, do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital Restoration, 7 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
I had already borrowed the first edition of this book from the public library and found parts of it useful. Although I don't have many old photos in need of restoration I do have a large back catalogue of old slides and negatives, some of which I have already scanned into my PC. The quality varies considerably and some of the techniques described in the book give better results than I could have achieved when wet printing some of my monochrome negs. As I can't keep the book on permanent loan I bought the second updated edition on Amazon. It is even better than the first. Just don't try to read it all in one go - unless you find it difficult to sleep at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for the novice, 9 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
This is a great book for the more advanced photoshop user. I found it a little to much info to take in as it dealt with several other types of digital software at the same time. Having said that I learnt quite a bit but would have preferred something with a little less technical writing and more images showing start and finished results and how you got there, but that's me I'm more of a visual guy, but its one of those books that will serve you for a lifetime and will revisit as my knowledge base grows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Restoration, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
This is a good book. The author's lucid style and use of exemplary illustrations makes it a pleasure to read.

Although the book has not been written specifically for Adobe devotees, those with CS or Elements experience will find the explanations and how-to sections easier going. Apart from his compendium on restoration techniques, Ctein has written a chapter about hardware for restorative work and one on corrective software, including plug-ins.

Those familiar with Katrin Eismann's Photoshop Restoration & Retouching may well find Ctein's book a useful, perhaps less prescriptive, sequel. Like Ms Eismann's classic, this more recent work is full of wisdom. You will be better off with both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable guide to scanning and restoring photos, 29 April 2010
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
I read Digital Restoration From Start to Finish before embarking on a major project - to scan a 1,000 or so family slides and negatives. I'm really glad I did.

Scanning may sound easy, but there are actually lots of challenges - for example dealing with dirt on negatives and unmounting slides. The book is full of good advice on how to approach these problems, and gives advice on how to cope with and restore photographs that, over the decades, have deteriorated as they inevitably do. The book shows how to do these fixes in Photoshop, though the tips could easily be applied to other software such as PaintShop Pro.

This was a useful book, I so would certainly recommend it for others doing the same sort of scanning project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photo Restoration, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great but and I've found it quite useful reading. However, I did find a lack of hands on walk through's which I think would have made this book much better, hence the 4*s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 4 July 2011
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
I was a little dubious at first as to how good this book would be, i had read a few comments about it but that doesnt mean i would like it myself. All worries were blown away with the first few pages. An excelent book from begining to end, i havent put it down yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference manual., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not really one to read so much as a book to dip into as a refernce guide to restoring old or dammaged photos which have been digitised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for those who have some knowledge, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is more of a book for those that have already done retouching and need to know more of the Why's & Wherefores rather than the how too's.
The book explains the way to do things rather than How to do it in a guided form, so a good basic knowledge is needed for this book to be really useful.
It is also not up to date and could do with updating for later versions of "Photoshop" ("CS6" & "CC" versions), and perhaps too include "Lightroom" (now in its 5th Version) as both this and Photoshop Camera RAW are very capable programs that would help with many basic improvements to a scanned but faded or discoloured photo, but otherwise a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Registration of Photographs, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Restoration from Start to Finish: How to repair old and damaged photographs (Paperback)
This book provides a wealth of information and advice for repairing old or damaged photographs. All types of photographs are covered including colour and black and white negatives, colour and b/w prints, etc. A multitude of restoration examples are given with the samples and methods very well presented. The thorough and detailed instructions for scanning and printing are not only useful for restoration work but also for general photography, for example, the use and interpretation of histograms. Methods and tools are based on using the full Adobe Photoshop CS program, notably manipulating the "Curves" function. Nevertheless, much of the restoration procedures can be accomplished with Adobe Elements "Shadows/Highlights" and "Levels" facilities. This is an excellent and quality produced book and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews