Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martin (Jeff) does it again !!
I have bought a number of Martin's books over the years, from Adobe Photoshop For Photographers 7, through to the current CS4 version (which I also purchased at the same time). For me Martin has never failed to deliver and neither does `The Ultimate Workshop'.

The title `Ultimate' is perhaps overselling the content slightly and I advise any potential buyer to...
Published on 25 April 2009 by M. J. Ware-lane

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars something new please!!!!!
Yeah... i think its about time that Michael stopped rehashing the same old tutorials and bunching them together in a different order, giving it a new name and calling it something that it certainly is not. This book does not come anywhere near the ultimate workshop.
Published on 29 July 2009 by Peter O'donnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martin (Jeff) does it again !!, 25 April 2009
By 
M. J. Ware-lane (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
I have bought a number of Martin's books over the years, from Adobe Photoshop For Photographers 7, through to the current CS4 version (which I also purchased at the same time). For me Martin has never failed to deliver and neither does `The Ultimate Workshop'.

The title `Ultimate' is perhaps overselling the content slightly and I advise any potential buyer to read the description by Amazon...

Quote:
Martin Evening and Jeff Schewe each describe in detail how to carry out some of their favorite Photoshop image editing and retouching techniques.

Do not expect the book to cover the extensive range of tools or available option in Photoshop (If that's more what you're looking for I recommend you take a look at Martin's `Adobe Photoshop CS4 For Photographers'), What the book does offer is an excellent insight and understanding into some alternative advanced techniques employed by both Martin and Jeff.

For me the book works on two levels. First, I thoroughly enjoyed working my way through the many demonstrations (most of the images used can be found on the accompanying DVD). Second, it presented me with new, alternative ways to employ advanced editing techniques I hadn't come across before.

The illustrations and photographs are top notch, the `lessons' are very descriptive and easy to follow and the examples and `tips' genuinely useful.

The content is excellent as is the quality of the paper it is printed on.

Accompanying DVD:
For me the accompanying DVD is an added bonus. As I mentioned earlier there are a number of photos on the DVD from which to try out the demonstrations at your own pace, there are several video demonstrations so you can exactly how Martin & Jeff use the techniques `live' and there are also a number of files in .pdf format.

The sound quality of the videos is not exactly `high definition audio' but I had no problems playing them back on my standard `Windows' system.

To those thinking of buying the book I would suggest you read the description, don't expect it to cover everything about Photoshop..... then buy the book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent practical guide for advanced Photoshop workers, 3 July 2009
By 
Ian Lyons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
Martin and Jeff are both highly regarded professional photographers with a knowledge of Photoshop that most can only aspire to. Throughout this book they demonstrate their skills and knowledge of both Photoshop and Camera Raw. The written and video tutorials compliment each other well and should get even slowest learner up to speed very quickly.

The book is very well structured with chapters on: how to prepare for a shoot, in depth explanations of Camera Raw and Photoshop editing tools, retouching, blending, masks, composites and even printing.

A quick skim through Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop will give the impression that this book will benefit studio based photographers more than those who shoot landscape and nature. However, spend a little more time working through the excellent tutorials and it becomes apparent that the tips and techniques employed have their uses in all types of photography.

Other highly recommended Photoshop CS4 books by these authors are:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0240521250/Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC: A Professional Image ... Use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Real-World-Camera-Adobe-Photoshop/dp/0321580133/Real World Camera Raw with Adobe Photoshop CS4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars workshop wonderland, 26 April 2009
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
Ultimate Workshop is an excellent Photoshop Cs4 reference for the digital photographer, and one of the most useful and informative Photoshop books available.
The quality of the book and the sample photography is excellent, and as an advanced photoshop user for many years i did indeed find the book comparable to attending a power users training course, practical solutions to real world problems, emphasising good working practices throughout.
There is so much useful material here its difficult to know where to start, but they manage to pack in lots of advanced techniques to tackle many common problems, dealing with noise, creating depth of field, sharpening, simulating ir film, even removing color casts from underwater photography.
The authors have an incredible depth of knowledge, and theres plenty here to keep the Photoshop nerd happy. Many techniques present solutions to common studio problems, but nearly all can be applied to a variety of situations with a little bit of imagination.
The chapter on image optimization was very useful, and a great explanation of the controls in camera raw (directly transferable to lightroom users).
ultimate workshop makes a lot of use of the various new tools in photoshop cs4, and even demonstrates some very powerful uses of the extended version, and is a great way of getting up to speed for the intermediate or advanced user.
Overall a very inspirational book, which will inspire the photographer with some new approaches and even some complete new directions, especially the ability to remove noise, people or unwanted objects by combining new shooting techniques with powerful photoshop tricks. The authors make reference to how camera techniques and set-up can avoid some problems, or improve some creative techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I agree with the claim of being The Ultimate Workshop, 4 May 2009
By 
G. Clark (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
This is one of the most valuable publications on Photoshop I have read. Its realistic understanding of the practical issues that all photographers have to face, builds a strong sense of confidence in the authors' integrity.

They have an all-encompassing grasp of the current photographic environment and are able to relate this understanding in a way that enables the photographer to fully exploit the potential of Photoshop. This ensures the book is especially relevant both to the enthusiastic amateur and the aspiring professional.

The layout and explanations are a model of clarity. The structure of the chapters is most effective and logical. They introduce the issues that affect the required quality,the practical creative processes and the challenges of meeting the needs of the art market. They do this in a way that shows a clear grasp of the demands placed on the photographer when producing images that are both relevant and innovative.

This book is the most effective, accessible and intelligent explanation of the photographic experience I have encountered. I can confidently say the term `Ultimate' in the title is not marketing hype.

I cannot praise this book enough and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advanced reference, 28 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
This is an excellent advanced reference book which I bought because I like Martin Evening's writing. Some beginners (not all) may well find it a bit intimidating and you need to be familiar with basic operations in Photoshop to make use of it.
It consists of a selection of advanced techniques that the authors have found useful over a long period as professional photographers. So, it is a book to dip into rather than read from cover to cover.
The first proper section on general methods of improving captured image quality should be read by anyone, whatever their interest, as should the last but one on printing.
The middle sections cover things like masking, retouching and compositing. As an amateur, I may never have any of the projects that they illustrate but the techniques will be invaluable.
Anyone who has been driven mad trying to make a selection (or mask)for fine detail will find the techniques for masking hair worth the price of the book.
This book demands work from the reader. If you have a task for Photoshop, you need to look for a similar task and its solution and work out how to apply their solution to your problem. You will not find canned step by step solutions to your problems. I find that it is worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Workshop on hand, 13 Dec 2009
By 
John Dowsett (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
Not a book for reading cover to cover but excellent for dipping into to sort out problems of using this complex software package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Informative, 13 May 2009
By 
Mrs. Norma Walton "Viv" (Somerset, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
This is one of the best Photoshop "how to" books I have read. Martins books are always excellent and easy to follow but in conjunction with Jeff Schewe this is even better.

This really is like having your own private workshop; the chapters are logically arranged and the instructions easy to follow. I have been using Photoshop for many years but found this book a revelation. Many of the procedures are also applicable to CS3.

The book isn't an alternative to a Photoshop handbook but a brilliant addition. The book does require some Photoshop experience and would be especially useful to any budding professionals, or those like myself who are not getting the most out of the program. The information on work flow and business uses for Photoshop is particularly useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars advanced photoshop skill for photographers, 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
advanced photoshop skill for photographers, if you are a photographer, with this book your skill could jump to the next higher step ... do it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another joyful read, 19 April 2009
By 
L. J. Fisher "LJF" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
After just reading martins book on CS4 this new book with Jeff Schewe has been very helpful and a very good companion. At last I am now beginning to get into and fully understand "smart objects" and "smart filters" especially combining them with the RAW 5.3 dialogue box.The DVD makes it very good value.Jeff Schewe's tutorials on Capture sharpening in RAW have been enlightening.All you need to buy now after these two books is Jeff Schewe's Realworld CAMERA RAW CS4.
Very pleased. Les Fisher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars something new please!!!!!, 29 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop (Paperback)
Yeah... i think its about time that Michael stopped rehashing the same old tutorials and bunching them together in a different order, giving it a new name and calling it something that it certainly is not. This book does not come anywhere near the ultimate workshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop
Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers: The Ultimate Workshop by Jeff Schewe (Paperback - 17 Mar 2009)
23.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews