Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a wealth of information and insight into drawing, animation and observation, 5 May 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
Drawn to Life is a collection of lectures from long-time Disney animator Walt Stanchfield. He has worked for Disney since the 1950s.

There are two volumes, each with over 400 pages. The reason for two volumes is probably to make the books easier to handle. Both are on gesture and life drawing, even though the cover art might suggest otherwise, especially the one with the lion. You can start reading from any book and any lecture. The order isn't important.

There are plenty of essays in the books. Each is a lesson relating to drawing and animation. It can be tangent drawings, creating believable characters, learning to observe, understanding gestures, etc. There are tips on almost anything relating to drawing. Loose and sketchy sketches serves as examples to the lessons.

These books are more thinking than drawing technique books. For example, the lessons are not about how to draw perspective, the lessons are about how to use perspective. You can view sample pages for volume one and volume two on amazon.com to get an idea.

The books represent a tremendous wealth of information and insight into drawing, animation and observation. After all, Walt Stanchfield has more than 50 years of experience in animation.

This book is recommended to those who are into animation and drawing.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 July 2009
By 
R. Burrows (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
A wonderful book by a wonderful man, more passionate about animation than I've ever known anyone to be for a long time. His love for the art really rubs off on you and makes you want to get out there and draw, no matter how bad the final result is - remember, you've got to draw the bad ones before they will give way to the good!

However, don't be fooled. This is not a "how to" drawing book. Stanchfield doesn't tell you when and where to put down a certain line. This book teaches you how to approach drawing mentally, rather than physically.

For anyone who wants to add some life to there characters and really make them sing, I'd highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
Well, I bought this book based on the reviews and wow, I was not disappointed.

It is a treasure trove of hints, tips and study for animators... but it touches on so many other things as well. The best compliment I can pay it is that after reading 15 of the chapters (and this is a hefty book, great value for money) I went back to my sketchbook and saw an immediate improvement in my work (I am a graphic designer/illustrator).

Some of the tips are basic but will almost certainly improve the way you look at, appreciate and understand animation, movement, character design and the creative process that lies within all of them. It is written in a delightful manner and features plenty of fine examples from some of the greatest animators in Disney's rich history.

As another reviewer commented, it is not a 'how to draw' book. But it has already opened my eyes to a variety of techniques I wasn't aware of that have made a big difference to the way I work and I am not even half way through. It was good enough for me to go straight back on Amazon and order the second volume without a seconds hesitation.

If you are interested at all in drawing or animation, and particularly if you find your drawing style to be a little flat and lacking the wonderful energy that Disney characters invariably have, then this book is a must buy. For 13, you are bound to pick up tips that will last you a lifetime and an entertaining read to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC ADVICE FROM A PRO, 12 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
There's nothing like having a real pro from in the bussiness share his priceless experience and advice with you. Walt Stanchfield does exactly that in this wonderful scripture of lessons held by him in the Disney studios. A great help for anyone real interested in learning the secrets of good drawing and animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly inspiring, thoroughly useful book., 1 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Thomas M. Gane "newbornfish" (UK, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
This book contains the words of an animation legend, which are mostly unaltered, easy to follow and truly inspirational. It will teach you how to approach drawing for animation, although will not explain the technicalities of art making or animation itself. What is contained in this book is very useful, sensible advice on observational practices.

If I could only have a single book on art, drawing, or animation, it would definitely be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, 9 May 2011
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
The insights in this book are as valuable as the sketches. Walt really asks artists/animators to explore and be willing to explore ideas and not be affraid to get it wrong.
Great advice on drawing 'life' within the drawing and not just a pose.

Anyone interested in drawing or animation or theories of approaches to drawing would love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for animation lovers, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, it goes deep into the thought process of animation, it is a written lecture on drawing by a Disney great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 7 Nov 2010
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
I am a big fan of the classic Disney animations, and this book is wonderful to read, recognising the names and styles within it. However I would like to see more concept art from the mentioned animators, but I suppose the book contains what it says it does. Easy to read and understand, and thoroughly enjoyable to. Gives some great tips on how to suggest movement without making too many marks on the paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Investment for all Design Students, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
I am a design student from the Uk; I have been studying drawing techniques for several years now. I was recommended this book by my tutor, I found this book to be a great inspiration and problem solver to some of the most basic drawing problems out there. Not only does this help you with the basic principals of drawing but offer detailed tips and explanations for how particular art mediums are addressed through a one-to-one basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book that will help bring your creations to life, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes: The Walt Stanchfield Lectures - Volume 1 (Paperback)
This book is simply the best if you are trying to bring more life to your pieces.
Even if it is for animating the information in this book is applicable to all artist. This book will give you tidbits from the genius animator and master Walt Stanchfield and help you concentrate more and draw better.
I recommend this book to any art enthusiast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47e1f0c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews