Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Learning for Photographers
Many new and intermediate photographers will likely have some inkling that there is something dreadfully wrong with their work-flow, and not necessarily ever figure out what it is. Why does that photo look different on the laptop? What happened to that shade of green? Why does the print not look anything like the screen version?

The missing ingredient is...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by Boing

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
Dissapointing - not for the layman, you need to be a bit of a techie or geak for this one
Published 17 months ago by ted


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Learning for Photographers, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Boing (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users (Paperback)
Many new and intermediate photographers will likely have some inkling that there is something dreadfully wrong with their work-flow, and not necessarily ever figure out what it is. Why does that photo look different on the laptop? What happened to that shade of green? Why does the print not look anything like the screen version?

The missing ingredient is colour management, and this book is a capable resource for learning all about it. It is one of those rare books which provides lots of information, some of it very technical, but does so in a way which retains accessibility.

Rodney starts with an explanation of why colour management is necessary, how it first came to be available in image editing software, and how the current model developed from those clumsy beginnings. He provides screen shots and charts which explain the points well, and the book includes a CD with tutorials and demonstration images. He goes on to introduce and explain an end-to-end colour management process which will suit virtually all digital photographers, then ends with a series of tutorials which demonstrate the principles explained throughout the book.

There are some problems. Minor irritations such as typos and incorrect words abound, and one irritation is that figures referred to in the text are often on the next page. The book is also slightly out of date, referring to Photoshop CS and Photoshop CS2 throughout. If you don't use Photoshop, this book will still explain the principles but you will not be able to follow along with it very easily using your alternative image editor.

If you work with digital photographs (or indeed any kind of digital images) in Photoshop, and you have heard words like "colour profile" and "calibration" before without venturing to find out what they mean, you will benefit from buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive explanation, 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users (Paperback)
Probably a book mainly for geeks, but I found this the first, readable explanation of colour management that I had come across, and very comprehensive. Recommended if you really want to understand the subject. Unless it has been updated since my edition (2005) some of the software and hardware references may be a little dated, but the theory is still all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Michael Mcclean (Zürich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users (Paperback)
At last I now understand! Eureka a great book does what it says on the cover.After years of not really understanding for example, soft proofing, I now do.I love my printer again:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know about Colour management., 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users (Paperback)
I have read many articles on colour management for photographers. Most intermediate/advanced Photoshop/Lightroom books have a chapter on the subject, This book however is written by an author who really knows his subject and every element of his workflow is explained in detail. He also gives you a CD with work files to for each chapter so you can re-inforce your learning. This is not a casual read and I feel I will need to re-visit a lot of the detail again and complete the exercises at the end of each chapter to have a full understanding of the material. Unlike most books I read I will want to keep this book as a reference to help guide me in my colour management adventures.
Highly recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremelly elucidatory, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users (Paperback)
The best book I've ever found about color management. Easy to read and understand, Andrew Rodney supplies a CD full of exercises for the reader to practice and understand how color management works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users (Paperback)
Dissapointing - not for the layman, you need to be a bit of a techie or geak for this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Color Management for Photographers: Hands on Techniques for Photoshop Users
Used & New from: £16.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews