Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference tool - less user friendly as a guide
Martin Evening's guide to Photoshop CS6 is a huge tome at more than 700 pages. It's packed full of detail and is a superb reference resource, although perhaps a little unwieldy as a practical training guide. If you are the type of person who wants to know why things work rather than just how to do them, then this is the best option for you. It's perhaps less helpful to...
Published on 19 Aug. 2012 by Ripple

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocking binding quality
I'd read some of the other reviews and noticed the comments about binding problems. I assumed it would be small batch affected, but no, mine turned up the same. The cover simply isn't big enough for the pages in this book, so they stick out and quickly get dog eared. Very poor quality control by the publishers.
Published on 3 Feb. 2013 by Hamish


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference tool - less user friendly as a guide, 19 Aug. 2012
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Martin Evening's guide to Photoshop CS6 is a huge tome at more than 700 pages. It's packed full of detail and is a superb reference resource, although perhaps a little unwieldy as a practical training guide. If you are the type of person who wants to know why things work rather than just how to do them, then this is the best option for you. It's perhaps less helpful to the first time user, as the pages of detail on differences between old versions of Photoshop and CS6 indicate. It's best suited to those who are upgrading from older versions and who already are au fait with many of the ins and outs of Adobe Photoshop.

Rather than detail the content (which you can see from the helpful "Look Inside" feature), it might be more helpful to compare three of the most widely used of the myriad of Photoshop user guides that are on the market - Photoshop CS6 For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)), The Adobe Photoshop CS6 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) and Martin Evening's Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers.

The Dummies book is best for those completely new to Adobe Photoshop and indeed to image processing software. Unlike the other two, it is more general and so includes more on the creative art or design elements of the software. It's well organized, logical and clear. While none of the three books come with a CD of photos, the Dummies is the only one not to provide web-based images that you can work on along with the book. In fact, it's less of an instruction book and more of a general resource, although it is laid out such that you can work through it if you want to with your own images. The trademark List of 10s contained in Dummies works well here - and is less of a stretch than it can sometimes be in the series. For the new user it's very, very good indeed.

Kelby though is still my "go-to guy" for Photoshop. With Kelby you get the feeling that you are being given advice from someone who uses this software day in day out and really knows the best ways to organize your workflow. It's the shortest of the three books and is strongest for those who have upgraded from earlier versions or indeed come up from Elements. First time users will get something out of this book but it's far from comprehensive. Neither is it helpful for the graphic design elements. The biggest loss is that while he provides one of his excellent workflow examples, unlike some of his earlier Elements guides, this is a general one and doesn't detail for example different workflows for say landscape and portraits. I still refer to an old Elements guide of his for this. If you are upgrading though, this is the one I'd go for, but you may need one of the other two for the missing bits.

The Martin Evening book is a veritable brick of a book. It's longer than the other two put together. Comprehensive isn't the work but it's best for those who like to know why things happen rather than just what to do. He explains the technical bits behind the processes well. If you are the type of person who loves to read instruction manuals - this is the one for you. I find it much drier than the other two. Both Kelby and the Dummies range are known for a quirky sense of humour - Evening possesses none of this. I was around 170 pages into it before it got to something you could do with the images you can download from the website. It's a superb reference book to have but less user friendly as a guide. It's more technical and best suited to those who are already knowledgeable about both Adobe and ideally Photoshop.

Irritatingly, all have something to offer and none are cheap. I love the practicality of Kelby and remain a fan - and in fact one of the negatives about his style, his quirky humour, is more restrained here. Ideally you will want to back this up with either of the other two though - which one depends on your previous experience with the software and, to a lesser extent, the type of person you are. If you crave detail and technical information, Evening is unsurpassed. If you are newer and want a more basic introduction, you don't need to be a Dummy to benefit from the Dummies series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A now-established standard, updated for the latest CS6 release, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
Silver Surfer (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This is an update on older versions that were written for most if not all of the Photoshop CS family. It is now one of the established standards on Photoshop that are likely to appear on most users' shelves. It is one of the few aimed specifically at photographers and its coverage is therefore concentrated on those tools and techniques most likely to be used.

As always, Adobe tends to change a few methods, moves things from one section of the menu to another, adds a few features and plays around with the interface every time there is a new release. CS6 is no different in those respects and there are more changes to the interface than has been seen for some time, in addition to the other changes. CS6 is smoother, cleaner and faster than before and should provide a better user experience, once its changes from CS5 have been absorbed.

This book has been partly rewritten to reflect those changes, illustrations have been changed and some minor errors corrected. Martin Evening is a technical author whose books are not unduly difficult to read and this is one that is definitely worthy of consideration for the shelf. As it is currently available, and some of the usual competition (from Scott Kelby etc) has yet to arrive in the shops, you may want to add this to your collection now rather than wait weeks or months for the alternatives to arrive.

This is written primarily for the photographer and consequently there are elements of Photoshop, primarily the vector tools borrowed from Adobe Illustrator, much of the web-related content borrowed from Dreamweaver etc and some other portions that are partly or wholly ignored as they are less likely to be used in the context of photo-editing or manipulation. If you want a more all-round look at Photoshop, there are other better suited titles available (although perhaps not yet expressly for CS6)

An updated Photoshop classic, one of the best and most comprehensive available for photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS6, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
I. D. coulter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Contains almost everything a photographer would need to know when using CS6.
There is a link to additional material on the internet once you enter the code shown in the book, I had a slight problem with this and e-mailed Martin who responded within 24 hours.
The book is well laid out and most people will use it as a reference book rather than reading it cover to cover but the first few chapters are essential reading as they deal with setting up Photoshop for your individual needs and how to get the best out of the program.
It is important to note this book is for photographers and there are a number of areas in CS6 it does not cover such as the 3D facilities or Video.
For photographers it's an excellent book, even more so at the price Amazon is selling it for.
Buy it ! You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful guide, 9 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This is a well written book set out in the form of task based chapters with some valuable guidance and tips from a photographer's viewpoint. The book is a weighty tome with 744 pages and contains a generous number of full colour images/photos to guide you through various 'real-life' processes. By purchasing the book you are also provided with a user name and password to access the website photoshopforphotographers.com to download additional information and tips in PDF format, photographs used in the book and some particularly useful tutorial videos. I particularly recommend this to enthusiastic photographers who are already reasonably familiar with the basics of Photoshop, but would like a comprehensive desk-top companion/reference book for some of the more advanced processes and new features of CS6. The Amazon price at the time I purchased was also £10 cheaper than the High Street, which is a bonus ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Big Book...!, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
It is a big and heavy book! It would have had 5 stars but only gets 4 stars due to the print quality. It is a great book. Evening's writing style suits me and does explain everything so well. Perfect from that point of view. The problem is with the quality of the paper. The print is sharp and clear but the paper is a 'semi' coated cartridge which makes the images look 'blotchy'. The ink 'soaks' in too much rather than sitting on top of the sheet looking bright and clear. The end result is the images look rather flat and blotchy. Typical of a publisher cutting costs and using a lesser quality paper. Should have used a sheet like a fully coated art...the same as other books I have from Martin Evening... Shame, because it spoils the book. (BTW, the first one delivered was damaged in transit. The replacement was sent ok but the print quality issue was in both of the samples I received).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocking binding quality, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I'd read some of the other reviews and noticed the comments about binding problems. I assumed it would be small batch affected, but no, mine turned up the same. The cover simply isn't big enough for the pages in this book, so they stick out and quickly get dog eared. Very poor quality control by the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, pitty about the binding!, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This book is written with Martin's usual thoroughness. It covers everything (and more) that photographers need to know about Photoshop. Prior knowledge of the program would be an advantage to get the best out of it. My only gripe is that the binding (front and back covers) had not been folded properly and did not cover the inner pages. I note that this has been commented on by others. Is this the reason Amazon US had withdrawn it? Otherwise, highly recommended and excellent value. Great website as well:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book as always., 7 April 2014
By 
Avery (UK & Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
As with Lightroom 5 Streamlining Your Digital Photography Workflow, this is an excellent, practical book for P'Shop users. I would strongly recommend the book for all users from beginners to advanced users.

My only issue and its not with the book - is that this is the forth or fifth book I have had to buy as I upgrade the programme. I now run CS6 on three computers, having parted with a not insignificant investment.

I would strongly recommend this book to those of you who have CS6, but I would strongly recommend those who have CS3, 4 or 5 not to upgrade and stick with those versions.

I strongly dislike the upgrade, which has taken a lot of the fun out of using P'shop. I am sufficiently cynical to think that CS6 may even have been made so awkward to push people in the direction of Cloud, so that Adobe can keep a permanent hand in your pocket.

Buy the book if you have CS6. Better yet don't get either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, what a great book., 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This book is extremely helpful when learning and doing pretty much whatever you want in photoshop. It goes into allot of detail, and attempts to show lots of different methods how to use this brilliant price of software. It is a big book and I mean BIG, and will take some time to go through it all, but the suggestions of what you can or need to do with this program from start to finish is very good. Plenty of tutorials with videos for ref online that Martin has put together, and examples to follow along with. Think of this book as a strong reference guide, and use for times when your unsure of what a particular tool does and how you use it. Well worth the money which isn't a great deal, so buy it folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best by far, 22 Sept. 2012
By 
Will (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers is without a doubt the best produced so far and I highly recomend this volume. As a first class referance book it contains all the essential information to make the most out of Photoshop 6. Yes, there are sections which overlap, but the book is extremely well written, with superb illustrations. This referance book is a "Must Have" if your serious about about photography, more importantly serious about the advantages of post production with Photoshop CS6. It is a referance book that will appeal to Novice and Expert on equal terms, and in that respect, hard to beat. By far the best £20 I,ve spent recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews