Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Photoshop reference work
Martin Evening's Adobe Photoshop for Photographers is established as one of the classic Photoshop reference works. With Adobe Photoshop CS5 Martin Evening continues to maintain this standard.

Adobe Photoshop is used by a range of professionals such as web designers and print designers as well as photographers. Many of the features in Photoshop are rarely, if...
Published on 19 Jun 2010 by Invicta

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate Binding
This is too large a book (circa 750 pages) to be published as a paperback. It is published in USA and the binding is not up to the job. My first copy started to fall apart after very light use. Amazon have very promptly replaced it but my first opening of the new copy shown signs of the same problem. All this is a great shame because the printing and illustration is...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by BL of Cheshire


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Photoshop reference work, 19 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Martin Evening's Adobe Photoshop for Photographers is established as one of the classic Photoshop reference works. With Adobe Photoshop CS5 Martin Evening continues to maintain this standard.

Adobe Photoshop is used by a range of professionals such as web designers and print designers as well as photographers. Many of the features in Photoshop are rarely, if ever needed for photo editing and this book focuses on Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Camera Raw and Bridge for photo editing enabling a much deeper explanation of how to use a particular Photoshop technique than could be covered in a book aimed at all the Photoshop features. Most techniques are described in detail and provide an excellent understanding of how the technique works so you can apply them to your own photographs. Unfortunately, some features do not include this background understanding and are presented as a part of a recipe e.g. the blend if slider. This makes it more difficult to get to grips with these method.

There are 15 chapters in 746 pages covering:

Photoshop Fundamentals
Configuring Photoshop
Camera Raw Processing
Sharpening and Noise Reduction
Image Editing Essentials
Black and White
Extending the Dynamic Range
Image Retouching
Layers, Selections and Masking
Essential Filters for Photo Editing
Image Management
Color Management
Print Output
Output for the Web
Automating Photoshop

Everybody will have their own favourite new feature in CS5 and these are all covered in the book along with extensive information on existing features.

A few items have been dropped from previous versions for the book e.g. "What's New" chapter has been dropped and Darkroom Effects has less coverage so you may want to hold onto older copies of the book.

Although the "What's New Chapter has gone the included DVD has movie tutorials on all the new features in Photoshop CS5 relevant to photographers:

The new raw converter engine
Raw sharpening and noise reduction
Puppet warp
Lens Correction
Content aware fill
New HDR features
New masking and selection techniques
Mini Bridge
New print output features

Since the book was published an update to Adobe Camera Raw 6.1 features Lens Correction in Camera Raw as well as Photoshop. A movie covering this can be downloaded for free from the companion web site for this book.

The DVD also contains many, but not all (due to copyright), of the sample photographs so you can practice the techniques described in the book.

Summary

Photoshop CS5 is a significant update from CS4 for photo editing and this book is an excellent reference work and guide to the new features. A few minor points could improve the book but this is still the best reference work for photo editing using Photoshop CS5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 20 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I struggled with Martin Evenings Photoshop 7 book - he does not pitch himself at beginners. I used his CS2 book as my standard reference. Having just upgraded to CS5 I preordered this book and have been really impressed. Its very well laid out as usual, and it covers pretty much everything a photographer would need to know, with plenty of step-through examples and recommendations about settings that might be suited to various images. Camera RAW 6 is a huge improvement on CS2, and its pretty hard to imagine having the time to figure it out alone. I read this through in a week - its an enjoyable read as well as helpful. A top quality product - both CS5, and the book. Beginners would be advised to read something 'easier' first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference but purchasers of the CS4 version should consider carefully, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I'd ideally like to split this review into two parts. The first is for those who did not own the CS4 version of Martin's book. If you fit snugly into this category then you can now sit back and heave a sigh of relief as your search for a great book on Photoshop CS5 with photographers in mind has come to an end - this is the one. Martin's knowledge of both Photoshop and photography are unsurpassable. A very successful London based photographer in his own right he demonstrates with great verbosity and clarity those post-processing techniques which have served him well. No stone is left unturned and this book is the best reference for CS5 you can find on the market. I recommend it without hesitation.

For those of you who owned the CS4 version of this book and are wondering whether to fork out on the CS5 version I would say that this should be carefully considered. Of the almost 750 pages in the book I would say a significant proportion of those are the same or have only very minor changes. Most of the photos are the same which is a shame as I think there's benefit showing different examples of the same technique even if the textual accompaniment does transgress from book to book - this is what Scott Kelby does and it works. Martin does of course cover the new features within CS5 to the level of detail we have come to expect from him, but it's a big ask to pay the full retail price for this book just for that information especially considering there are plenty of video tutorials emerging on the web (AdobeTV is a good place to start). These would perhaps be a better option to cover the delta.

In short I would say that this book is definite buy for those who did not own the CS4 version and a possible buy for those that did (read my second paragraph and decide for yourself). I should just clarify that if you have the CS3 or earlier versions of Martin's book then this is still a definite buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CS5 For Photographers - Martin Evening, 27 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Essential reading for all users of Adobe Photoshop CS5.Martin Evening builds on the fine traditions of his earlier manuals by giving clear and understandable descriptions of all the many features of this outstanding application. There are just enough background technical details to illuminate a topic without causing confusion.
The accompanying DVD provides supplementary information and data from earlier manuals.
If you have CS5 installed on your computer, you really will benefit from Martin's manual and obtain output of the highest quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: a professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Rw Gilmour "Bobby G" (Notts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This is the definitive bible to CS5.
I have read this book cover to cover and it is now on my shelf next to my PC.
The best way to understand layers, masks, vectoring etc, is not just to read the book, but to use the cd and practice, practice, practice.

I use this now as a reference book when I'm not sure how to achieve a look that is hard to get.

I cannot recommend this book enough. It is worth far more than the £18.00. So it was money well invested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big book but an even bigger subject, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Geoffrey Foale "Crustacean" (S. Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Even with over 700 pages it is difficult for one book to cover everything that CS5 can accomplish and be suitable for both beginners to Adobe Photoshop and experts who are simply updating from an earlier version of Photoshop.

Therefore, I found that a few simple basics are missed while in some cases I would have liked more detailed information concerning the advanced items.

But assuming that the reader will already have some experience of advanced editing techniques (even if that is with a different brand of software) this book clearly explains the basic principles of using CS5 to a reasonably advanced level.

So, all in all, I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A manual for those who hate manuals, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I am one of millions who HATE manuals and I am sure you do too so can you imagine what it feels like to actually be excited by one?

From the beginning of the first chapter I was quickly learning really useful as well as fun things to do with PhotoShop and then later with Bridge and Camera Raw. The book id very well designed and laid out, the overall impression is of a book written and designed by someone who understands every aspect of his subject and knows how to communicate that knowledge both visually and verbally. Martin Evening explains things in such a simple and straightforward way that it is remarkably easy to follow every thing he says. So much so that I am not only learning how to use CS5 more fully but I am also learning how to be a better technical photographer with my new digital camera equipment and I have been a professional photographer for over 30 years.

There are just two things I don;t like about the book, one being the DVD. It has only a few videos on it and incidentally you can see these on YouTube. As good as these are the DVD adds nothing to the book and makes me wonder if it was felt necessary to have a DVD simply because that is the thing to do. The other problem is that the book is thick and very heavy. It has to be of course because it covers so much ground in very great detail but when you start reading and learning so easily you forgive it for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Aug 2010
By 
I. G. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Excellent, thorough for the most experienced, easy to skip to the bits you want if you need to 'cherry pick'. Not the first guide a beginner to PS should buy but it really does have everything - from setting up on the computer to printing. I've bought virtually every version of Martin Evening's guides (each one gets thicker) and team that with Scott Selby's more chatty style. Good DVD too.Great value through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-have For Photoshop CS5 Users, 29 Jan 2012
By 
A. P. Almond (Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Have had 3 versions of Photoshop CS and each time I've bought the Martin Evening "bible" in preference to any other book, so I knew what to expect before I ordered. And, I was not disappointed! Evening directs the reader through all aspects of the software and, unlike many writers, offers valid arguments why particular methods of working might be preferable to others. He is a professional photographer and long-time user of Photoshop, so his knowledge both of the software and of photography itself is encyclopedic. An added benefit as regards accuracy is that he works very closely with (but is completely independent of) the people at Adobe.

Above all else, though, this author actually cares about his readers. For example, a few years ago I e-mailed him asking about a particular problem I was having with a Canon camera - really nothing whatever to do with Photoshop or his book. The answer wasn't merely a "one-liner". It was a detailed and comprehensive answer to my query, complete with names of recommended products!

For my money a five-star rating for all Martin Evening's books is entirely justified and I am very grateful to him for his guidance over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CS 5 the missing handbook, 27 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. B. R. Archer "BASR" (Welsh Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This is the updated hand book for Photoshops lastest version CS5.

Just two points the new software programmmes are superb and Martin Evenings tome telling you how to use them and the rest of Photoshop is not only superb but essential for any would be succesful photographer.

Amazon's service is indespensible if you need the latest gear as soon as it is available & at the keenest prices.

Also their delivery service doesn't just leave you a note to go to collect your gear from your nearest post office like Paecel Force always does. He comes to your home, when your in and you just sign for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews