Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!! The answer to my prayers!, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
Miss K. Willats (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
This book is excellent for anyone either wanting the basics of using Logic Pro, or for the more advanced user. There is a wealth of advice, tips and images to make the process of using Logic (which can be daunting) MUCH clearer and easier, as well as taking you right up to the point of mastering to a professional standard. I feel I will be dipping into this book for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only limitation is your imagination, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
I was fed up with Cubase and windows crashing that I migrated to a Mac and wanted the right software that someone who is not 'in the music business' could use easily without fear of yet more crashes and freezes. After using Garageband I realised that perhaps Logic Pro was the way to go. About the time I made up my mind to buy Logic Pro, Apple in their wisdom, decided to reduce the price for the download. Was this a sign, I asked myself?

Logic pro is not difficult to use, but some elements can be a bit more complex than I would like. Along comes Logic Pro 9 : Audio & Music Production to show the way. What a marvellous book this is. Starting at the beginning and taking your time, it takes you through the setting up process and takes you step by step into the recording and mixing procedures in such a way as to make you proficient in a very short time. Don't get me wrong, Logic pro isn't some neat little music production package for beginners, it is HUGE. In fact the best compliment I could give to this software is to simply say, the only restrictions come from your own imagination. The book leads you into how to use the software, but it is your imagination that makes your music a masterpiece.

The book itself is easy to read, takes you through all the 'logical' steps in order to record, mix, edit and master your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logic Pro 9: Audio and Music Production, A Comprehensive Guide. A Critical Review., 10 Jun. 2010
By 
Andre Lawrence (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
Logic Pro 9: Audio and Music Production, A Comprehensive Guide. A Critical Review.

LOGIC PRO 9: AUDIO AND MUSIC PRODUCTION, A COMPREHENSIVE GUIDE, is a just that: an exhaustive, 400-page, subject-based explanation of one of the leading audio and music production softwares available. This is an upgrade from a guide produced by the same authors for Logic Pro 8.

*Overview
** What are your needs? Audio (voice recording)? Music production? Both?
*** To buy or not to buy?
**** Conclusion

* The book is broken down into 11 chapters and multiple subchapters that revolve around basically a few chapters that focus on:

+ The history of the program (from eMagic to Apple);
+ An overview of the program, tools, add on's & extensions;
+ Hardware (computer and peripherals)--creating a DAW or Digital Audio Workstation;
+ Recording voice ("audio");
+ Recording music.

+ Plus there's a reference to a dedicated website, an addendum to the written material.

** I've worked in the music industry for several years in my late teens and early 20's, this was long before audio production went digital and have only kept an incremental interest in it as my production company demands that I have significantly more than a fundamental understanding of how to use audio (more specifically) than actual music production.

Having said that, one of my first stops in considering what software should be at the top of my list, I sent audio engineer par excellent, Jay Rose Producing Great Sound for Film and Video (DV Expert Series), and Audio Postproduction for Film and Video: After-the-Shoot solutions, Professional Techniques,and Cookbook Recipes to Make Your Project Sound Better (DV Expert Series) an email for his recommendation. He told me, when asked about ProTools, that such software was "bloatware" and that both he and his son, an audio engineer for a television station, agree. He upgraded his own DAW with Digital Performer and uses it on an Avid System, but stated that both Logic and Steinberg were also very good choices.

*** This book makes a very strong case for Logic because it (as a part of the Apple suite) integrates nicely with Final Cut Pro and Final Cut Express. It also allows you to save and open files from other audio programs from DigiDesign and Bias.

One of the things I really like about Focal Press publishing is that the majority of their releases includes a cd-rom of additional material. The authors chose instead to create a website to have a central location for addition material for current and previous versions of this book. In a way, after visiting the site, I think it's a good idea. What you'll find on the site is the following:

+ Authors' bio
+ Logic Pro 9, book breakdown and a downloadable pdf of Ch. 4, "Starting A Project."
+ Free drum loops, free ambient loops and 150+ individual, downloadable sound files on zip.
+ Logic Pro 8, book breakdown and a downloadable pdf of Ch. 9, "Mastering Logic."

**** All in all, there's no flaw to this book. If you're looking for a comprehensive manual that you can grow with should you decide to take the plunge and buy either Logic Pro 9 or Logic Express 9, then this book should be a strong consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
This book is really good and explains everything you need to know in bite sized chunks and is easy to read.

Brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
Extremely informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production (Paperback)
haven't used too much yet, but it seems to be generally a very well-written guide - I do wish it had some more detail in some areas though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production
Logic Pro 9: Audio & Music Production by Russ Hepworth-Sawyer (Paperback - 5 Mar. 2010)
£22.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews