Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Pure Magic for the non-tech person I am!, 30 Jan 2009
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
Very good, and with a superb but a difficult to load DVD on my machine. Persist and it makes things easier. The DVD takes you through the basics of post production editing and makes the mundane every-day shots, exciting shots, Post Production.

Mark Galer's plus Elements 7 makes for a better combination than Photo Shop CS4! Adobe have shot themselves in the foot with this piece of software, because it is easier to use and doesn't have the usual steep Adobe learning curve...
...This is a better book than Phillip Andrews's 'Advanced Photoshop Elements 7 for digital photographers!'

I knew nothing about post production in pictures, now I improve my snaps by Galer's well explained, written and illustrated methods. Buy this as well, if you have bought Adobe's Photoshop Elements, you will be producing better pictures, for he explains about 'correct' exposure and other dodges as well!

I have another of Mark Galer's books that I have yet to read. I am looking forward to this.

J R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly practical book, 16 May 2009
By 
G. Clark (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
This is a genuinely comprehensive book dealing with Elements. It starts with the factors that affect the quality of the image and how to control them. This can often be a little daunting for the beginner but the author's style of writing is highly readable. The way in which he adopts a step-by-step approach makes even the most complex areas seem logical and easy. This is clearly someone who understands how people deal with practical challenges.

The book then goes on to take you through a series of projects this enables you to build up a range of skills and enthuses you to explore the subject in more depth as you gain in confidence. The accompanying DVD was particularly helpful and supportive in this area.

I would strongly recommend this publication as a very good core reference resource for all who want to get into this subject in more depth and develop their creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be light, 27 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
This book is excellent. It has taught me many new PSE7 tricks and has allowed me to 'fix' photos that I thought were beyond help.

I was particularly impressed with the results achieved using the author's clever techniques in the 'Contrast' section of the book to lighten shadows while also improving the drama and depth of the sky.

The book jumps straight in to improving your photos - it assumes a basic knowledge of PSE7 - so there are not, thankfully, pages and pages of information about the Organiser or the Workspace to plough through.

As well as the 25 projects and loads of new techniques, the book does contain useful tips on setting up PSE7, a list of keyboard shortcuts and a "Jargon Buster".

The DVD with its added video tutorials, source files for the projects and PSE presets and brushes is a useful bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, leading photographers through advanced techniques, 30 Mar 2009
By 
John Fry (Cwmbran, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
I had already used Scott Kelby's book for an earlier version of ElementsThe Photoshop Elements 5 Book for Digital Photographers and had found it very useful. When I bought Elements 7 I wanted to do more complex things. Mark Galer's book has allowed me to do just that. For example, it has allowed me to sharpen only the main subject of an image leaving out of focus backgrounds untouched and to make backgrounds out of focus that were originally too sharp.

There is still a lot more to master, but Mark Galer's book should be very helpful as I work through his more advanced techniques.

My only criticism is that although the author uses blended layers a lot and takes you step by step though many projects that utilize this methodology, he does not really explain the principles behind this technique. Readers are expected to learn by assimilation and example. Despite this the easy to use step by step descriptions of how to work through 25 projects are extremely helpful and all those I have used work very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Value for money, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Peter Guard (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
There are many books available for elements 7 but this one is probably the cheapest and yet full of information without over complicating things. There is a DVD included which has video tutorials that take you step by step through a project. Also on that DVD are the same image files that are used in the video tutorial so you can produce exactly the same results as demonstrated. I would suggest this book to anyone who is interested in getting the most out of Elements 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLenty in it, 12 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
This book covers plenty of ground, although I am finding it difficult to follow at times, even though I am not an absolute beginner at photo manipulation.
The author obviously knows his subject,but it is a pity that some of his descriptions aren't as clear as they might be.
The accompanying videos on the DVD are proving very helpful.
Having said that I still think it is good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The photography helper, 30 Jan 2009
By 
C. A. Thomas "good customer" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
Hi thank you for this wonderful little book and CD. I have learnt a lot from it already and I have just started. The information is explained in detail - which, even I can understand. I am looking forward to chapter 4 where I am going to learn about blending and layers. Thank you again; the book is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars photoshop 7 maximum perfomance unleash, 1 April 2009
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
The book is easy to read, just what I was looking for, The dvd is great and easy to follow, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good for me!, 4 July 2009
By 
Mr. Robert W. Dack "Grandad" (Huntingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
This is an excellent book and I feel sure that it will prove to be so for me at a later date but for the moment I find that the auth0r's use of what seemed to be rather technical for me at this stage as a raw beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adobe photoshop book by Mark Galer, 12 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Maximum Performance: Unleash the hidden performance of Elements (Paperback)
I find this book informative and very helpful, as there are so many things you can do with the photoshop and it is well illustrated and clear instructions. I find this book invaluable to me until I get more familiar with the workings of the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews