Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well-written book that will teach you to be artistic with Photoshop
Creative Photoshop CS4 is a fantastic book. It will clearly appeal to those who are artists on paper and want to be great artists on the computer. But it is also ideal for those who use Photoshop but whose expertise is limited to fairly basic operations, like fixing photographs, and who want to break out into Photoshop's more creative painting features.

I use...
Published on 18 July 2009 by Alex Singleton (www.alexsingle...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for photographers
I expected more things like the front cover, but sadly that is the last chapter. Preceeding chapters, though well written and presented are definitely more for graphic artists and freehand drawings basically.
If that's what you want, then perfect, but it wasn't really for me and what I wanted.
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by G. McColl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well-written book that will teach you to be artistic with Photoshop, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
Creative Photoshop CS4 is a fantastic book. It will clearly appeal to those who are artists on paper and want to be great artists on the computer. But it is also ideal for those who use Photoshop but whose expertise is limited to fairly basic operations, like fixing photographs, and who want to break out into Photoshop's more creative painting features.

I use Photoshop practically every day - and have done for years - but I still learned a huge deal from this book. It explains potentially confusing features in a very simple, well-written way - for example, how to use shape layers to merge work painted on the computer with those painted in a photograph. The author, Derek Lea, has done a impressive job of selecting his range of chapters, which includes particular gems on turning photographs into illustrations, on creating comics and on "antiquing" pictures, to make them look old.

I found that the design of the book was a boon, as it is thoroughly illustrated with screenshots, so I could actually see which tool palette is which when complex tasks are being explained. It is printed in full colour throughout, which really is a must for this sort of book (but some others are still printed use black and white).

Although this book won't appeal to everyone - those who are more interested in fixing their photographs will find Adobe Photoshop CS4 for Photographers and The Adobe Photoshop CS4 Book for Digital Photographers more up their street - I can recommend it wholeheartedly for those wanting to be less literal and more artistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gateway to a new kind of art, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Justin Reynolds (Borders, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
The first edition of 'Creative Photoshop' was, I believe, one of the most useful Photoshop books ever published, each chapter opening up a new way of using the program.

If you don't own the first edition I'd say this is an essential purchase: the new edition contains all of the chapters in the first edition, plus four new ones, 19 tutorials in all. Each provides a detailed step-by-step guide to the process Derek followed in creating a particular type of illustration. And I mean really detailed: every step is explained exhaustively and illustrated where necessary with relevant screenshots of the Photoshop interface - you see exactly how each effect is accomplished.

Derek makes use of a exceptional range of Photoshop tools through the book, and by the end you'll have an excellent understanding the application's more sophisticated features, such as channels, the pen tool, the shape tool, selection tools and masks. The blend of bitmap and vector is a characteristic of Derek's work, and the book makes clear how these different sides of Photoshop can be combined to create striking and novel effects: one fascinating chapter combines medieval 'woodcut' design elements with smooth vector lines and shapes to stunning and original effect - looking like something Durer might had come up with had he had access to Photoshop.

If you own the first edition you will also want this one as the four new chapters are of the same quality as those in the original, and cover new illustration concepts, including sketch and dry brush effects, screen-printing and collage. The new edition also contains new images from Derek's portfolio.

The book can't supply the imagination and aesthetic sense you need to create illustrations of similar quality, but it opens the door: in addition to detailing the Photoshop techniques used to create each piece Derek explains how and why he chose its source materials, and discusses what constituent elements are likely to work well together.

A great introduction to digital art, still in my view the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
Very informative and easy to follow guide book. Great selections of creative techniques that are very stunning and beautifully illustrated throughout - must buy for anyone interested in learning and developing their photoshop skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Happy Trip in and out of Photoshop, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
"Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques" is a fun way to explore creative uses of Photoshop that are not just limited to digital photomanipulation, as you combine traditional techniques with digital in perfectly structured tutorials.

It is a great book for illustrators, graphic artists and photoshop enthousiasts [like myself], but if you are looking for a photography related photoshop book then this one is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for photographers, 20 Jun 2011
By 
G. McColl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
I expected more things like the front cover, but sadly that is the last chapter. Preceeding chapters, though well written and presented are definitely more for graphic artists and freehand drawings basically.
If that's what you want, then perfect, but it wasn't really for me and what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Photoshop books out there!, 13 July 2009
By 
R. Forshaw (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
If you are looking for Photoshop books that will teach you advanced imaging & art techniques this book is for you! I have read numourous Photoshop books over the years and have found this to be one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital greatness, 7 Jan 2010
By 
P. J. Van Velden (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques (Paperback)
Like all other books of Derek Lea,you must try every thing he wrote. And you are every time a little better. Great creative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative Photoshop CS4: Digital Illustration and Art Techniques
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews