Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant pot-pourri of flash
A great little book that is a pleasure to open and read. Well illustrated and presented - a book with high production values. The title (forget the cheating bit) describes the contents perfectly - The art of design and Animation - the knowledgeable author teaches great Flash techniques.

A great addition to your flash library.
Published on 4 Nov 2007 by pauland

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too technical
Its a good book, but no good for begginers.
It assumes you already know where things are and how to do some things.
If your just learning how to use flash (as I am) this is not the book for you.
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by Ms. E. I. Stokes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top book even for beginners!, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. O. R. Francis "mantis_569" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
You don't really need an advanced knowledge of Flash to use this book. How to cheat in flash is very, very good. It is targetted mostly at cartoon animators rather than users that will want to do Action Scripting, presentation or web development. This book will guide you through from start to finish for a lot of basic animation techniques and provides a good insight into how to implement your own ideas. it also gives instruction on how to perform commands etc on both the Windows and Mac. Again, I would only recommend this book if you are into cartoon animation mainly, otherwise there are probably better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant pot-pourri of flash, 4 Nov 2007
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
A great little book that is a pleasure to open and read. Well illustrated and presented - a book with high production values. The title (forget the cheating bit) describes the contents perfectly - The art of design and Animation - the knowledgeable author teaches great Flash techniques.

A great addition to your flash library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!, 15 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. D. Jennings "David Jennings" (Northallerton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
Superb book !! I can see myself using this book for years there are tons of techniques to learn, explained simply with lots of pictures making it great for quick reference. I teach flash animation and will be recommending that all my students buy this book !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashtastic, 10 Dec 2007
By 
M. Robbins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
Firstly I would like to say that when I reviewed this book a few weeks ago there was a post which thankfully has been removed.
Basically it dismissed this book because it suggested that it helps you 'cheat'
I for one am glad I wasn't put off because this book is fantastic!! It covers everything that you will need to know.
From design styles and basic drawing to using video and audio.
It even tackles action scripting very cool! this book is going to save me so much time only wish I had stumbled across it sooner
there's even a cd with the different graphics so you can play around when your reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too technical, 19 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
Its a good book, but no good for begginers.
It assumes you already know where things are and how to do some things.
If your just learning how to use flash (as I am) this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - great tips for getting stuck in., 8 Dec 2008
By 
N. C. Elvin (West Yorskhire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
Someone said above it's too technical if you are a beginner. If by beginner you don't know how to open panels, use the drawing tools, change line colours etc then this book wont tell you how to do that stuff (as he says in the book that's what the adobe help files are for) which is why I love it.

I get so bored reading intricately detailed instructions from other books such as classroom in a book series ie "....click here, select that, paste that, open this window, if you don't know how to then do this....", this book assumes you know how to navigate your way around Flash and just lets you know how to achieve what you want to acheive.

You can use it from beginning to end or skip to the character chapters, drawing chapters etc etc. Each chapter is more advanced than the previous, and when I say advanced I don't mean code or anything (not found any in it so far) just that maybe masks comes after drawing, creating 3D like drawings comes after 2D drawing etc.

This is more like a workbook you'd get at school, gorgeously laid out with lovely graphics and not too much text. That's what adds to it's greatness.

A must-have for anyone who gets bored easily with the standard Flash textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !!, 16 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
right i have to say that i was new to flash and well getting use to things is weird and all i love it but ww this book it has everythign you could need its a reliable source and everything, if uyour interested in this or sitting some sort of course id say get this book it would help you along sooooo much, walk cycles, 3d in 2d software, techniques everything about flash cs3 helped me alot =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Cheat In Flash CS3-- A Critical Review, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Andre Lawrence (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
How To Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3, Indispensable. A Critical Review.

I love this book for both what it teaches and the way the book is presented as a quick and fun way to master the software Flash (CS3).

How To Cheat...Flash, is the third of 3 essential books I've bought and am highly recommending for learning, advancing in Adobe Creative Suite 3. The first, the foundation book, CS3 For Dummies, is the essential resource book for learning what CS3 can do. Dummies differs from the more practical books of How to Cheat and the Adobe Illustrator CS3, WOW! book, in that it's function is only to layout all of the tools and how the tools are used in the Adobe CS3 Premium set. That's it. This is where books specifically for the use of showing real world examples are for and How To Cheat in Flash CS3 is phenomenal at it.

To say that an entire production suite that enables one to create artwork. Create animation. Repair photos. Design brochures. Create and publish websites--all of this is possible (and more with this Design Suite.), but there is a steep learning curve with all of the applications, if you're fully interested in doing really amazing work: this is why all three books are essential.

If you want to learn how do animation, whether in Flash or a similar program, this book is for you. It is as much a book about taking illustrations and converting them to computer illustrations and then to animated figures as it is about learning how the Flash software can take your ideas and make them a reality.

As I mentioned in my review of the Wow book for Illustrator CS3, How to Cheat... should be considered an addendum to Dummies. It is fully illustrated (the illustrations are worth the price alone!) and it also includes a fully-stocked cd room that accompanies the text. This book differs in style from the others in that author, Chris Georgenes, takes your basic illustrations and demonstrates basic routines. Then, Georgenes, builds on those elementary to more advanced projects. But, these projects are very attractive to the eyes and fun to read.

For graphic designers, illustrators, film animators, YouTube enthusiasts, marketing managers, web developers, novice website builders, this software and this book are indispensable.

Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 13 Sep 2008
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
I have been using flash for years and there are still some great tricks that I have learnt from this book. I lecture flash at university to complete beginners and I intend to point them in the direction of this book. The exercises look great and are FUN to complete. Flash is not the easiest program to learn. The beauty of this book is that the content is so engaging, the exercises rewarding, you might not even notice you are learning along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pour discourager les autres, 1 Nov 2007
By 
Plagiarísm Avenger (Everywhere and Nowhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation (Paperback)
What a disappointing, dispiriting, title for a book (one of a series of books with similar titles). The title alone should be enough to put off many potential readers--those who, having invested a significant amount of money in purchasing a copy of Adobe Flash CS3, are interested in *learning* how to improve their skills as a Flash CS3 content developer.

However, I'm sure that many potential readers will find the title makes them feel more than a little dirty: no self-respecting reader/would-be Flash developer wants to "cheat", and the publisher is to be castigated for trying to appeal to such base instincts.

I don't know if this book is any good, and frankly I don't care: any book that alienates potential readers with such an insulting and off-putting title (like the awful "[insert name of software application] for morons" series) deserves to end up remaindered before being pulped. Meanwhile, I'm going to order a copy of _The Flash CS3 Bible_ by Robert Reinhardt and Snow Dowd, because I have used their earlier _Flash MX Bible_ which not only has excellent content but also doesn't insult me with the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab69fc3c)

This product

How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation
How to Cheat in Adobe Flash CS3: The art of design and animation by Chris Georgenes (Paperback - 10 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews