Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the new photographer.
Having previously had and SLR camera I had an idea about how to use a camera. This book covers all types of photography; SLR, DSLR and compact, which is great if you want to learn about all of them. Unfortunately I am only interested in the DSLR area which means that several chapters aren`t of much use so I only gave it 4 stars. Don`t be put off by that though it is still...
Published on 3 July 2009 by S. C. Tipler

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Film based photography in a digital world
Michael Langford was a great hero of mine and I learned much from his books. Sadly this title is now very outdated, both in illustration, content and style. It is based on a film workflow and concentrates on different types of film, filtration for black and white pictures and darkroom principles. The title needs to be completely updated to reflect the digital world...
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by Nick England


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the new photographer., 3 July 2009
By 
S. C. Tipler "TommyTip" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
Having previously had and SLR camera I had an idea about how to use a camera. This book covers all types of photography; SLR, DSLR and compact, which is great if you want to learn about all of them. Unfortunately I am only interested in the DSLR area which means that several chapters aren`t of much use so I only gave it 4 stars. Don`t be put off by that though it is still packed with really useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 7 Nov 2009
By 
H. Mccarthy (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
This was recommended reading for a photography course I am attending. Excellent book. Would recommend to anyone attending a photography course or anyone with a keen interest in improving their photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Film based photography in a digital world, 24 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
Michael Langford was a great hero of mine and I learned much from his books. Sadly this title is now very outdated, both in illustration, content and style. It is based on a film workflow and concentrates on different types of film, filtration for black and white pictures and darkroom principles. The title needs to be completely updated to reflect the digital world.

While digital imaging is covered very superficially, the illustrations are of early generation products, old software and the content is very poor.

Better to find another title - unless one wishes to understand film photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go Back and Strengthen your Foundation, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Russell J. T. Dyer (New Orleans & Milan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
This is quite a detailed book on photography: it includes scientific information, photography theory, and information on equipment and technique. It's good fondational book--not for beginners, necessarily--although it could be read by beginners or used in a college course for beginners. You would just need to be a serious student or someone with a scientific slant if you're going to start with this book. It's particular good, though, for those who have some experience in photography and want to go back and fill in gaps in your knowledge, to understand underlying concepts. One interesting aspect, incidentally, is the explanations of various camera formats over the past century or so. I thought I would never finish at first, but I took it with me on a vacation in a particular hot zone and where there wasn't much to do but nap and read during the day. I read this book thoroughly over a ten day and came out feeling like a much stronger photographer as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
Very happy with the product and delivery, a little worrying that it's from Guildford college but i'm happy, thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful book, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Pete F. (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
I received this book as a gift and at first I didn't think it would be very relevant as most photography hobbyist (like myself) use digital cameras and a lot of this book relates to film cameras. However, having dipped into it on numerous occasions now, I am beginning to get a much better understanding of how and why things work. It is written in a very straightforward manner with plenty of illustrations/photographs to refer to. A lot of the theory relates equally well to film or digital and it is also good to gain an insight into how things like "crop factor" and "white balance" have developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The must have for any photographer, 15 Dec 2008
By 
E. Bateson (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
Being a photography student, this book has taught me so much. It's very easy to use and contains everything you'd need to know about photography. It has a brilliant and detailed section on film photography which allows you to understand the primary basics of photography which really does help. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
No problems, as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Langford's Basic Photography: The guide for serious photographers
Used & New from: £7.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews