Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasic book for CS3 users
I have only just started dipping into this book, but i am already totally amazed by it. For such a complicated programme, Martin Evening's book makes clear sense of how, and more importantly WHY, you should do things in photoshop. This book is rightly hyped; in my opinion it is one of the best textbooks on any subject i have ever read.
Published on 2 Feb. 2009 by T. Winterburn

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Form Over Function
Pros:
- The book is very well laid out and methodically structured.
- The presentation is excellent and the images are inspiring. In fact I didn't know whether I should read it or polish it.
- The style of writing is concise.

Cons:
- The pitch of the book is variable. One minute it seems to be aimed at beginners, the next it's dropping in...
Published on 24 Mar. 2009 by M. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasic book for CS3 users, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
T. Winterburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I have only just started dipping into this book, but i am already totally amazed by it. For such a complicated programme, Martin Evening's book makes clear sense of how, and more importantly WHY, you should do things in photoshop. This book is rightly hyped; in my opinion it is one of the best textbooks on any subject i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have book if you want to get the most out of Photoshop, 7 July 2007
By 
Jesper De Jong (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This book is a must-have for photographers who want to use Photoshop CS3 and Bridge CS3. It contains a lot of information and goes into the details of configuring Photoshop, using Bridge, using Camera Raw, editing, retouching and fine-tuning photos, making selections, filters, colour management, printing and more.

Photoshop is a very powerful program with so many features that it can be hard to find out what the best way is to achieve what you want and this book helps me a lot to get the most out of Photoshop.

A DVD is included with the book with movies that show you how to do things, extra chapters that are not in the book, a bunch of example images and extra information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best, and not only for professional Editors, 10 July 2008
By 
Manples (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I am finding this CS3 guide extremely helpful. I'm not a professional photographer, but working with graphics from camera to finished publications in the charity sector made a clear and concise guide to CS3 essential when I upgraded. I won't need all of the chapters but those which do relate my needs provide expert advice with a clarity and precision that is often lacking in user guides of this kind. The DVD which comes with the book is an absolute bonus and really accelerates the learning process. The photo samples provided support the explanations of new CS3 features admirably and many of the images are simply stunning. I also like the author's detached frankness when explaining occasional CS3 features which disappoint. I am similarly reassured by the same, detached comments when the writer draws attention to competing products.
An excellent guide. I just wish I'd purchased it from Amazon on line and saved myself ten quid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeeeeeelighted, 4 Aug. 2008
By 
Handygrandad (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
In a moment of extravagance I bought both Scott Kelby's and Martin Evening's books on Photoshop CS3. I have since sold the Scott Kelby book after giving up halfway through ! If you want to make friends with a needy, middle aged man, then his is the book for you. I just got sick of the corny jokes and the lack of focus. In contrast Martin Evening's book is up to his usual high standard. It's beautifully organised and has a clear focus on each aspect of the program in turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ACR 4.1 not covered, 18 July 2007
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Not so much a review as comment. Like many of the first CS3 books to hit the shelves, it missed the release of Camera Raw 4.1 in May '07. Unfortunately, ACR 4.1 is a major update of ACR 4.0 and includes new and significant controls and features e.g. new Sharpening controls, Clarity control, enhanced noise reduction, 2 new de-fringing controls, etc. Potential buyers should therefore be aware that this otherwise useful book does not mention or cover ACR 4.1 - if this is important to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evening's book still the best, 17 Sept. 2007
By 
DAR - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
And he always updates the book's website to include information on any new software updates including ACR 4.1, so anyone buying this gets the benefit of both. This is really the most comprehensive Photoshop CS3 guide for photographers on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop CS3 for photographers, 24 Oct. 2008
By 
Ady Williams (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This is quite a big book, and comes with a very informative DVD. It goes into a lot of detail and this sometimes makes it hard reading, it probably best to not try and read it "cover to cover", but rather use it like I do as a "reference" book. Some excellent techniques are shown, and the book is very well laid out and it is normally easy to find the information you require.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Martin Evening CS3 for photographers, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
M. J. Medley (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
This is very comprehensive, assumes a certain knowledge of CS3 which you would have before buying a book like this. I liked the style of what Martin Evening suggests is not necessarily the best way but it is what works for him. Written in a very intuitive manner with lots of very useful tips in the side panels on some pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Form Over Function, 24 Mar. 2009
By 
M. Collins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
Pros:
- The book is very well laid out and methodically structured.
- The presentation is excellent and the images are inspiring. In fact I didn't know whether I should read it or polish it.
- The style of writing is concise.

Cons:
- The pitch of the book is variable. One minute it seems to be aimed at beginners, the next it's dropping in technical jargon which only people in the printing industry would understand. A glossary would not go amiss.
- The book as a whole is let down by the vague explanations of the more technical aspects of the Photoshop such as the colour management and printing sections. On more than one occasion I was left feeling frustrated and confused. Whilst I wouldn't expect an in depth explanation of every single detail, I do expect a coherent progression of the concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and made of paper., 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers: A Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC (Paperback)
I use this book as a guide to photoshop, and also a tool to beat person that thinks that pulling alarm in my building was a good idea. It is pretty thick, but it would not change its trajectory when you throw it to other person. This book also strong enough that with a perfect mass and acceleration, it can create a very strong force to other person that tries to bully you.

It also comes with DVD, so if you want to learn photoshop, this is the best. A lot of photographers from shoppers catalog, magazine, natural, even models photographers recommended this.

It also very handy if you want to learn how to crop face and replace it to other body. Just for information, that's all. I don't bought this book for that. I bought it because I want to learn photoshop and stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews