Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get serious with Photoshop with a stunning set of tutorials!
Yet again Steve Caplin has produced a masterpiece. Following on the huge success of the first edition of How To Cheat In Photoshop, Steve has yet again put together a truly all inspiring collaboration of meaningful and useful tutorials using the world's most renowned graphics package, Photoshop.
This is the ONLY book to date that I have come across so far that gives...
Published on 11 Mar. 2004 by Jamber

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what was expected.
I was very disappointed with this book. Whilst I accept that many people will not have the same experience of Photoshop as I, I had thought that it would reveal aspects and techniques that this heavyweight programme posesses that I had missed.
Regrettably the author relies on other additional software to create these images and is not purely Photoshop created. I...
Published on 11 Dec. 2003 by Duncan Allan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get serious with Photoshop with a stunning set of tutorials!, 11 Mar. 2004
By 
Jamber (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Yet again Steve Caplin has produced a masterpiece. Following on the huge success of the first edition of How To Cheat In Photoshop, Steve has yet again put together a truly all inspiring collaboration of meaningful and useful tutorials using the world's most renowned graphics package, Photoshop.
This is the ONLY book to date that I have come across so far that gives you a clear understanding of the Pen Tool. After reading this section, you'll be making selections with this tool with greater ease. Then there's a tutorial on Curves and Unsharp Mask. It's a god send !
How To Cheat In Photoshop 2nd Edition is an invaluable tool in showing you the techniques used by the master of photo montage himself, Steve Caplin.
Steve has regularly been commissioned by the Sunday Telegraph and various other well established magazines for his work. He also writes a regular column for Mac magazine. He also does lectures on Photoshop around the world.
To top it all off, Steve even runs his very own forum where you can freely post your work, or ask Steve questions on how to improve your image. He'll tell you exactly as he sees it and advise you what technique/s to use to better you work if it needs improving.
I have bought various books on Photoshop including titles such as Most Wanted 1 + 2 and in my opinion this one even tops them .. Bye it, you'll never look back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable desktop companion!, 23 Feb. 2004
By 
David Asch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought the first edition a while back and have had it to hand ever since. I have just bought the second edition and, whilst it contains the same content as its previous incarnation, Steve has added a lot of new techniques, including some incredibly simple, yet effective effects.
This book isn't the definitive guide to Photoshop and doesn't claim to be. Its aim is to show people time saving techniques and illustrative design ideas and does just that in a clear, informative and at times, humourous way. There are plenty of tutorials to play around with, the source images are all on the accompanying CD, which also has a great selection of high quality stock photos. The case studies and chapter interludes are a great insight into the world of commercial montage illustration.
I have learned a great deal from this book and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know how to construct and manipulate photos, whether it be for personal or business use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Computer Graphics Book ever., 14 Oct. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cheat in Photoshop: The Art of Creating Photorealistic Montages (Paperback)
With this book I achieved the mastery of layer masks and linking and many other technical complexities, which had eluded me for two years, in one evening.
The examples tutorials are really fun to do and are immediately applicable to current projects.
Its so good it makes me want to remake nearly all the photomontages I have ever done using the techniques in the book.
The illustrations and print quality are superb. The enclosed CD has a lot of material for the tutorials but sadly some of the best examples do not have tutorial artwork on the CD (probably for copyright reasons?).
I can't imagine any photoshop user being disapointed with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 12 July 2006
By 
David A. Huss (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Squeezed between the covers of this book is an enormous amount of essential information about how to do just about everything with Photoshop with a little bit of Illustrator thrown in for good measure. The author starts the book off with one of the best visual demonstrations of how to use Photoshop to make selections, replace colours, and many more. Using commercial illustrations he has created for national magazines and newspapers he shows how he achieved the effects with just enough information to allow you to be able to create a similar photo treatment without making it so complicated that it puts you into a comma reading it. While the latest edition doesn't cover all of the new CS2 tools, it covers the ones necessary for those that do photo clean-ups or manipulation. He even explains how the 3D model feature in Photoshop works - a topic most authors neatly avoid.

The quality of the book is great. The colours in the examples are vibrant and it is visually appealing enough to warrant just sitting down and flipping through the book to get ideas for a project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch tutorial, 6 Mar. 2007
Like many masters of their craft, Caplin is equally at ease explaining the basics as he is dealing with advanced topics.

Also, like many good teachers, he does the mundane work up front in order to make learning fun and intuitive for the student.

The combination of real-world step by step examples, "Test yourself" exercises at the end of each section, completed exercises included on CD and even an online website where the author sets weekly challenges and responds to submissions make this book hard if not impossible to beat.

The early chapters set about equiping the student with basic photoshop montage skills which will be required in the later examples -

extraction (without leaving tell-tale edges), colour changes, freeform transformations, perspective etc. .

Each chapter presents a new concept and provides a worked example based on files provided on the CD.

A previous reviewer has complained that the book doesn't give idiot-proof steps for following each of the examples. In my view, this is a strength, not a weakness, as the tools are all explained in the early chapters and to repeat the detailed steps would simply distract from the main point of the exmaples.

Anyone who takes the time to work through the exercises will get more out of this book than any Photoshop "How To" book I've ever come across.

I give the book a resounding 5/5 - I simply could not want more from it.

I notice that the latest version for CS3 is now available for pre-order...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book is worth six stars at least, 14 Jan. 2003
This review is from: How to Cheat in Photoshop: The Art of Creating Photorealistic Montages (Paperback)
An excellent book for those interested in many aspects of digital image manipulation.
A clear, and well illustrated book showing real world illustrations, and the steps used to create them.
This is the first book I've come across about Photoshop that deals mainly with constructing scenes rather than the more usual introductory guide to the toolbox.
So if you know the Photoshop toolbox basics, and you now want to take things to the next step and putting them to use, creating realistic scenes, then this book should be of interest to you.
Be warned, you may spend a lot of time in Photoshop after buying this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with useful advise, 8 Oct. 2006
By 
M. Albrecht (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is obvious that this book is written by a very competent author. He throws in a lot of real world examples of the tricks he describes. It is also apparent that he has been forced to deal with deadlines and learn a lot of useful tricks to speed up the work. This book does not only strive for a perfect image, it also presents a lot of shortcuts that produce good enough results a lot faster. And last but not least, Steve Caplin presents a lot of useful visual advise about what works and what doesn't. All this makes it so much more that just a book about Photoshop technique.

My only warning is that this isn't for beginners. If you don't know layers, masks and selections well, read something else first. Steve goes through the examples with minimum details assuming that the reader knows the basic. But this enables him to pack an amazing number of useful tricks into the 376 pages.

Conclusion: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting the most out of Photoshop, 5 Sept. 2003
By 
A. Nisbet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cheat in Photoshop: The Art of Creating Photorealistic Montages (Paperback)
What sets this book apart is the way Steve Caplin approaches the subject from an artists perspective. Many people will be familiar with his artwork in national newspapers and his column in Mac User magazine.
Through a series of great examples of his photo montage work, he shows you how to get the most out of photoshop. Instead of going through the program menu by menu, Steve Caplin is much more concerned with composing the scene, light and shade, textures, surfaces, heads and bodies. And as a result, he has produced a compelling read which makes you just want to get in front of the computer and use some of his techniques... which is exactly what I am about to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King of the castle! More to this book than meets the eye, 6 May 2006
By 
Having spent an entire afternoon sifting through 50 photoshop books (many using poor quality black and white postage stamp sized photos with pages and pages of forgettable text!)in the two massive Waterstones' bookshops of Birmingham, I found one that was able to deliver dozens and dozens of stunning professional images and effects each with their own easy and quick to use step-by-step tutorials.

There is advice on getting free very high quality photos from listed sites. There are also detailed illustrations of some truly remarkable "plug-ins" sites that will not cost an "arm and a leg." And lastly Steve Caplin has an active website where he and others are willing to help.

This book (How to cheat in Photoshop)give you a never-ending highly desirable "eye candy" appeal which makes it a hugely enjoyable experience.
If you think the above is pure hyperbole, then watch it evaporate when you get the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User-friendly, 27 Jun. 2002
By 
Dorset designer (North Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Cheat in Photoshop: The Art of Creating Photorealistic Montages (Paperback)
Many aspects of Photoshop have been a mystery to me until now, even though I have been using it for basic picture effects for several years - like most people I was put off by dry, text-heavy manuals. At last! A user-friendly guide! It shows you clearly not just what each tool and effect does but also why you might want to use it, with illustrated step-by-step guides. The short cuts and hot tips are invaluable; the design and presentation is clean and easy to follow; and Steve Caplin has personalised it with anecdotes and humour throughout. A must for anyone that works with pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Cheat in Photoshop: The Art of Creating Photorealistic Montages
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews