Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2003
I was given this book as a present at Foundation Art Level and it has continued to be my 'bible' throughout my Photography degree course. Comprehensive, detailed and written in entirely understandable terms, Langford should be the first port of call for all interested in the mechanics of photography.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
A very good starting point for anyone who wants to expand their understanding of photography. Starting from the ground up, Langford introduces his readers to the science, theory and practice of photography in clear, easy to understand terms without being condescending.

As someone who has always been interested in photography but, until recently, had never really taken the time to read deeply on the subject, this book was a great help in my progression from "beginner" to "serious beginner" and then "amateur". :P

It's useful for film and/or digital photographers, as much of the information applies to both formats, although some of the book deals with film alone.

I also recommend "The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography (4th Edition)" to anyone who wants to truly acquire a thorough knowledge of past, present and future photography.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 1998
Langford is a well-known teacher of photography at university level, and this is his basic-level textbook. Don't be put off by this, though - he uses a nonacademic style which will appeal to the lone or even casual student of photography.
Covering simple optics, lenses, cameras and film, the author guides the student through each topic with good (not brilliant) diagrams and graphics.
Will provide a good grounding in principles, as well as a number of useful tips based on the science. For the more serious enthusiast, a must-have.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2005
This book is perfect for anyone starting out in the bobby and also for more experienced photographers who need a reference source. Each section is well layed out with a summary at the end plus projects for the reader to try.
The book covers both film and digital so everyone is catered for, including medium and large format users.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who has an ineterest in taking photo's and who wants to improve there knowledge and ability
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2004
i was told to get this book by my photography teacher at college. Its amazing. i recomend this book to new comers, the experienced and even professionals to catch up on anything theyve missed. It goes through all the basics and certainly covers my 2 years at college. This book is going to be helping me every step of the way!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 February 2008
Even a seasoned photographer like me can learn something. Books that are designed for absolute newbies can often deliver nuggets of information. Langford delivers nuggets in spades and whilst perhaps over technical in places, this book is one that all aspiring, competent and skilled photographers should have on their bookshelves.

Other books I'd recommend to sit alongside this book and again, not aimed at just amateurs are the Scott Kelby photography books and books by Bryan Peterson.

There's a whole load more out there but with these three authors you're well on your way to making more than simply holiday snap type images. You'll begin to see the world through a whole new creative eye, with practice, and those once boring (sorry!) holiday pics will breath new life and become interesting.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
This book is an essential if your starting photography and even if you're advanced you will find a lot of useful stuff inside.
There is only one thing I don't really like and this is referring to pictures and diagrams which are on different pages and the only reference is a 'picture number' without a page reference. Nowadays we have text processing programs which do this automatically.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2000
A simply excellent introduction to photography - both for students and home enthusiasts.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
This is a well planned guide with everything the beginner needs to know. Consequently it is also a marvellous reference book for the photographer in general because it is so extensive and well researched. With illustrations and diagrams, tables of reference etc on every page no stone is left unturned to give the basic knowledge required to make sorties into the use of cameras as well as dark rooms and the development of film.There is also an extensive resume of materials and their use and care. It is certainly a book that any photographer would feel reassured to have sitting on the shelf.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
This handy little book has proved invaluable for information. This turned up on time and in good condition. For anyone just starting out in photography - buy it and enjoy your camera more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse