Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive
I was given this book as a present at Foundation Art Level and it has continued to be my 'bible' throughout my Photography degree course. Comprehensive, detailed and written in entirely understandable terms, Langford should be the first port of call for all interested in the mechanics of photography.
Published on 18 July 2003 by tribaltiger

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not deliver
The book was so cheap that I shouldn't have been surprised when they emailed to say the "Royal Mail had destroyed the book" and they didn't have another one to send me. Really annoying though, as I really did need the book for a course but didn't have one...
Published 18 months ago by Anna Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 18 July 2003
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
I was given this book as a present at Foundation Art Level and it has continued to be my 'bible' throughout my Photography degree course. Comprehensive, detailed and written in entirely understandable terms, Langford should be the first port of call for all interested in the mechanics of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Photography, 18 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
A very good starting point for anyone who wants to expand their understanding of photography. Starting from the ground up, Langford introduces his readers to the science, theory and practice of photography in clear, easy to understand terms without being condescending.

As someone who has always been interested in photography but, until recently, had never really taken the time to read deeply on the subject, this book was a great help in my progression from "beginner" to "serious beginner" and then "amateur". :P

It's useful for film and/or digital photographers, as much of the information applies to both formats, although some of the book deals with film alone.

I also recommend "The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography (4th Edition)" to anyone who wants to truly acquire a thorough knowledge of past, present and future photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those interested in the science and techniques, 11 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
Langford is a well-known teacher of photography at university level, and this is his basic-level textbook. Don't be put off by this, though - he uses a nonacademic style which will appeal to the lone or even casual student of photography.
Covering simple optics, lenses, cameras and film, the author guides the student through each topic with good (not brilliant) diagrams and graphics.
Will provide a good grounding in principles, as well as a number of useful tips based on the science. For the more serious enthusiast, a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginner and for reference, 17 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
This book is perfect for anyone starting out in the bobby and also for more experienced photographers who need a reference source. Each section is well layed out with a summary at the end plus projects for the reader to try.
The book covers both film and digital so everyone is catered for, including medium and large format users.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who has an ineterest in taking photo's and who wants to improve there knowledge and ability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book to learn off, 5 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
i was told to get this book by my photography teacher at college. Its amazing. i recomend this book to new comers, the experienced and even professionals to catch up on anything theyve missed. It goes through all the basics and certainly covers my 2 years at college. This book is going to be helping me every step of the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter book, 22 Feb. 2008
By 
Paul Hodgson "www.bof.uk.com" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
Even a seasoned photographer like me can learn something. Books that are designed for absolute newbies can often deliver nuggets of information. Langford delivers nuggets in spades and whilst perhaps over technical in places, this book is one that all aspiring, competent and skilled photographers should have on their bookshelves.

Other books I'd recommend to sit alongside this book and again, not aimed at just amateurs are the Scott Kelby photography books and books by Bryan Peterson.

There's a whole load more out there but with these three authors you're well on your way to making more than simply holiday snap type images. You'll begin to see the world through a whole new creative eye, with practice, and those once boring (sorry!) holiday pics will breath new life and become interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must foundation for the amateur photographer, 2 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
This is a well planned guide with everything the beginner needs to know. Consequently it is also a marvellous reference book for the photographer in general because it is so extensive and well researched. With illustrations and diagrams, tables of reference etc on every page no stone is left unturned to give the basic knowledge required to make sorties into the use of cameras as well as dark rooms and the development of film.There is also an extensive resume of materials and their use and care. It is certainly a book that any photographer would feel reassured to have sitting on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, 10 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
A simply excellent introduction to photography - both for students and home enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth having, 26 Mar. 2009
By 
Karl Kern - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
This book is an essential if your starting photography and even if you're advanced you will find a lot of useful stuff inside.
There is only one thing I don't really like and this is referring to pictures and diagrams which are on different pages and the only reference is a 'picture number' without a page reference. Nowadays we have text processing programs which do this automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Photography (Paperback)
This handy little book has proved invaluable for information. This turned up on time and in good condition. For anyone just starting out in photography - buy it and enjoy your camera more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic Photography
Basic Photography by Richard Sawdon Smith (Paperback - 23 Aug. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews