Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read for anyone who read the papers
At first I was dubious about reading this book, suspecting it to be yet another text riding on the waves of media sensationalism for profit. I was pleasantly surprised.
This is no gossip plug. Rather it is a somewhat unforeseen account of Diana's life, written with due sensitivity and respect. Using some of her closest confidents, this book exposes a very different...
Published on 31 July 2002 by Chrissy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Mostly conjecture.
This is not Diana, Princess of Wales that I knew. Tiresome, full of errors, not worth reading in my opinion.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs. A. V. Eldin-Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read for anyone who read the papers, 31 July 2002
This review is from: Diana: Her Last Love (Hardcover)
At first I was dubious about reading this book, suspecting it to be yet another text riding on the waves of media sensationalism for profit. I was pleasantly surprised.
This is no gossip plug. Rather it is a somewhat unforeseen account of Diana's life, written with due sensitivity and respect. Using some of her closest confidents, this book exposes a very different image of Diana to the one many of us have gained from media representation, particularly in accounts leading up to her death. It not only highlights the context behind some of the much publicised pain that Diana experienced in her life, but also shows how, despite all, this woman was able to maintain some strengths. What a terrible shame that, being happy with the man she loved was made so difficult by her fame, and as things could have become easier she had to meet such an untimely end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, Authoritative, Fascinating, Good read., 4 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana: Her Last Love (Hardcover)
First, not so much MY review, but what the rest of the world is already saying about the book: 'Sensational' ...'authoritative' ... 'definitive' ... 'the most sensational royal book of the year' (Mail on Sunday - Britain). 'Book Shock in England' (Paris Match - France). 'Explosive' ... 'Sensational' ... 'bombshell revelations' (New Idea - Australia).
The book tells the story of the last few years of Diana's life. Using first hand testimony from many of Diana's close friends and confidantes, including some who have never spoken before, it allows us to get to know Diana as a real person. Those who have read it say they have completely re-assessed their opinion of her - and they mean for the better. Diana comes out of the book really well; a three-dimensional person facing unique and awful challenges, but who somehow survives. By the end of the book you begin to understand how she moved from being a meek bulimic (my words) to a strong woman who was able to change the policy of powerful governments (the Land Mines campaign). A large part of the reason was the strength she gained from her two-year relationship with a Pakistani heart surgeon, Dr Hasnat Khan. This is a story that has never been told in any kind of detail before. According to one of Diana's confidantes, the Indian cricketer - turned politician Imran Khan, Diana told him she was very much in love with Hasnat - 'He was the Man!'. The book then reveals for the first time the truth behind the famous 'Kiss' pictures, which were splashed over the front pages of the world's newspapers only weeks before her death. The pictures had led the world to believe that she was in love with Dodi Fayed, the man who died with her in the tragic Paris crash. However, this new book reveals that the photographs were actually orchestrated by Diana herself! It provides evidence that there can only have been one reason; she was trying to make Hasnat Khan jealous, as the doctor - after much soul searching and advice from others concerning the differences in cultures - had broken off their relationship only days before the photos were taken.
This book is written in a style which makes it easy to read and digest - partly because the contents are so fascinating. In my view it would make a good book to take on holiday, and will probably prove particularly popular amongst women readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling read, 7 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana: Her Last Love (Hardcover)
This book has given me the greatest insight into Diana as a person. I feel I have been told the truth about one chapter of her life. Kate Snell's journalistic perception of what the reader would find compelling is outstanding. Many people have commented "have we not heard enough about Diana?" or "do we not know everything there is to know about her?" This book defies both arguments. If more publications like the standard of this one emerge then people will be given an accurate insight into Diana's private persona. I agree with the author that Diana was only beginning to embark on the most positive stage of her life. This book has brought to history the core essence of her learning curve, on how to truly give and receive, the love she always sought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Different Perspective!, 6 Jan 2004
Most of the Diana books I have read have been complimentary on Diana to the point where they reveal nothing but the authors admiration of her. Kate Snell seems to have approached Diana from a perspective of being totally honest and, therefore, revealing the human aspects of Diana without her own personal opinions clouding the facts. In places this book is so honest about the human side of Diana that it reveals her behaviour which could at times be cruel, selfish and calculating. In contrast, I found the Paul Burrell book quite cloying, clouded, one-sided and it revealed very little! The story of Diana and Hasnat is probably one of the greatest love tragedies of all time, but little was known of it until now. Dodi has been given far too much credit as being her 'last love' and this book totally blows that claim out of the water. Until now, nobody probably realised that Hasnat was such an important figure in Diana's life, mostly due to the fact that he is a private man who has courted no publicity whatsoever since her death. One thing this book does make you think is that Hasnat, wherever he is now, has probably had to live with a massive burden of guilt since Diana's death. It seems 100% certain that, had Hasnat not ended the relationship, Diana would never have been in Paris with Dodi that night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most sensitively written book so far about Diana, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana: Her Last Love (Hardcover)
This is the most sensitively written book so far about Princess Diana, showing her as a complete and whole person seen through the eyes of her different friends. This tells the story of her last love, Dr. Hasnat Khan, a heart surgeon and a great man, whom most people will never have heard of, but who gave Diana true happiness in the last two years of her life. This book is 100% factual. Dr. Khan was Diana's last love with whom she found this pleasurable experience reciprocated for the first time in her life without any affectations.
This is definitely a book to be read by all seeking the truth about Diana's final years and who want to read the detailed facts of one of the greatest love stories kept under wraps until now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Aug 2000
This review is from: Diana: Her Last Love (Hardcover)
A different take on the woman we all thought we knew so well. What impressed me most was the number of close friends and confidantes who helped the author write this book. Above all a fantastic love story very few people really knoew about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sad, poignment and so true to life, it portrays the irony of Diana's final days of love and the very bright future she had. Read it and be prepared to weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very Good I really enjoyed this book as you saw a nother side to Diana it was really moving in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 28 Jun 2011
I enjoyed this book very much. I have always been fascinated by Diana so I suppose this helps. I found it hard to put the book down and thoroughly enjoyed reading it. On completion of the book I felt I had been given a good well documented account of Diana and that the book had been well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana: Her Last Love (Hardcover)
The book tells the story of Diana's relationship with the heart surgeon, Hasnat Khan, which to my knowledge has not been explored in any other publication. Undoubtedly he was her great love in the last years of her life and I found the book sensitively written and utterly compulsive. A must read for anyone interested in Princess Diana's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diana: Her Last Love
Diana: Her Last Love by Kate Snell (Hardcover - 3 July 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews