Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
I've never rowed in my life so was not sure how I'd feel reading a book by a rower but I had seen Katherine Grainger on TV and found her engaging, interesting and with a great sense of humour. The book was really excellent to read. Beautifully written so that reading it is easy and pleasurable. Lots of bits were quite un-putdownable. The relationships within the story, especially with coaches, are fascinating and enlightening. The tensions and frictions and worries over career-threatening injuries as well as all the amazing high points are equally well dealt with openness and honesty. The excitement surrounding London 2012 is very well conveyed. Some parts genuinely made me laugh out loud and others made me almost weep. Definitely to be recommended. It's extremely impressive that the author wrote it all by herself and did not use a ghost writer at all, as most sports folk do. Young people thinking about sport would find it inspiring. As I'm sure would older people too of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Natalie J, London, 20 Aug 2013
By 
N. Ward "nat - a fan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
I purchased this book through Amazon but also had the opportunity to meet the great lady herself at a book signing in Leadenhall Market, London in August. The queue was long as you would expect for this great champion. She took the time and trouble to chat to everyone and it was an absolute joy and privilege to meet her. The book is excellent, insightful and well written. It is telling that she wrote the book herself, taking the time to do this and delaying the publication to complete it unlike some of the Olympians who published a 'ghost written' book of a couple of hundred pages within a 3-4 months of the games finishing, none of which give the real personal insight that you get from this book. This really is the story of her journey and the highs and lows from it and how you learn to treat each of these. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading sporting biographies even if their understanding of rowing is limited to watching it on TV. I hope she continues to Rio as she has the talent and drive to make it to 5 games and to hopefully win gold again - she would deserve to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true star, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
Inspirational read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awe inspiring. Couldn't put it down. What amazing strength of character and determination..makes me want to take up rowing again! Roll on Rio Katherine and Anna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
a great insight into the hard long road to become a champion at your given sport.
was very impressed when I realised Katherine had written book herself - well done.
the book lets you see the highs and lows through the years & the sacrifices made.
well done girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration to us all, 5 April 2014
By 
H. Webber (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this account of her determination to win an Olympic gold medal. Two silvers were not enough for Katherine. She persevered, putting herself through a gruelling training regime and finally achieved her goal in London. What a fantastic example she is to everyone. If you put your mind to it, you can do anything. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book about rowing I've read. Bar none., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply, awesome.

The book works on every level. From the novices struggling to make ANY boat, to the tyro attempting to make it, to the coach attempting to get his or her charges faster, it provides example and guidance.

She talks deeply about experiences and dynamics well, and I feel a better understanding of many facets of GB rowing than I gained from going out with one of her crewmates!

As an Australian, I'd dearly love our girls to have got gold in the double instead, but I'm glad Katherine and Anna did .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
A well written and honest account of her determination for Olympic gold. Truly inspirational! If you are a non rower you may get bogged down with some of the more technical wording but don't let that out you off. Loved how throughout her endless training it was punctuated by light hearted moments and humour. Fantastic woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational. Couldn't put it down., 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
I loved this book. Katherine is an excellent writer as well as an inspiring sportswoman. Essential reading for rowers and sportswomen from all disciplines. I hope there's a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True (Hardcover)
Great book for my daughter who has started rowing this year. Very inspirational and hers hoping her dreams come true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True
Katherine Grainger: Dreams Do Come True by Katherine Grainger (Hardcover - 3 Aug 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews