Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever buy one book on the Whitechapel Murders...
This is about as good an introduction to the Jack the Ripper case as you're ever going to see. Written by two of the foremost experts on the Whitechapel Murders, it is not only satisfyingly complete, but beautifully laid out.

This is not a "suspect" book. In fact it scrupulously steers clear of advancing any particular suspect, and I feel is all the better for...
Published 23 months ago by Cogidubnus

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars jack the ripper book
this is just another book listing the crimes and suspects( some of whom are preposterous) After finishing the book ,I felt I was no wiser at all
Published 8 months ago by brenda


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever buy one book on the Whitechapel Murders..., 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
This is about as good an introduction to the Jack the Ripper case as you're ever going to see. Written by two of the foremost experts on the Whitechapel Murders, it is not only satisfyingly complete, but beautifully laid out.

This is not a "suspect" book. In fact it scrupulously steers clear of advancing any particular suspect, and I feel is all the better for that...What it actually comprises is an exceptionally clear account of not only the murders themselves and the investigations, but also a whole mass of pertinent and helpful background information to the area, the times, and their mores and customs.

With regard to presentation, to use an old cliche and say that it is lavishly illustrated, would in this case be something of an understatement...not only is there a positive wealth of photographic images, there is a whole collection of especially commissioned and highly atmospheric illustrations by Jaako Luukanen. The overall effect is...well...stunning.

Personally I'm always suspicious of five star reviews, but I award this book such an accolade without the slightest hesitation. I'd honestly suggest that if you only ever buy one book about the Whitechapel Murders, then make it this one...I'm pretty sure you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very atmospheric book and well-written, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
I was very impressed with this book and would rate it as one of the best books on the subject of Jack the Ripper. The book deals, in detail, with the crime committed by the elusive 'Jack' and also a couple of other possibly related murders taking place some time later to the Mary Jane Kelly incident. In addition to the murders, the book goes into great detail about the poverty of the area of the East End of London in 1888 and the working conditions and strikes which took place at that time, perfectly illustrating how difficult it was to make a living and survive the ever-changing, ever-expanding city.
But the text is only a small detail of this book. Throughout, the book is lavishly illustrated with engravings and photographs which, in some cases, are beautifully atmospheric and draw the reader even more into this dark period of history.
This book is highly recommended for Ripper enthusiasts, people interested in period history, or simply as a great book to include on a shelf or on a coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous and welcome addition to 'Ripperology', but also in need of proofreading, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
It's the spelling errors and so forth that prevent me from awarding this very nicely-produced book five stars. There aren't a great many of them, but it is irritating when they do crop up, as the book, with its impressive CGI artwork, is otherwise a very welcome addition to the field.

The excellent CGI artwork almost transports the reader back to those dark and misty streets of gaslight, privation and vice. One really gets a sense of what it must have been like and also how such conditions were conducive to Jack's crazed killing spree.

This book would serve as a good general account of the Whitechapel murders for those new to them, and I thought the authors were right to highlight the attack on Annie Millwood - in my opinion quite possibly a precursor to the savagery that would unfold from August onwards that same year. There aren't many who point to this attack as evidence of Jack's first tentative foray into serial murder, but, as with the suggestion that magistrates' court records ought to be examined in an effort to discover Jack's formative offences (such as arson and cruelty to animals), I think that Millwood's assailant was quite possibly Jack the Ripper. Having said that, the Whitechapel killings is obviously not a clear-cut affair. For example, was it the case that, whilst Jack the Ripper was killing prostitutes, another future serial killer, Severin Klosowski (aka George Chapman), was residing at nearby Cable Street? Well, it does seem a little hard to believe that two sadistic killers were present in such a small locale (leading some to think that Chapman probably *was* the Ripper), but then we must also acknowledge that the Thames Torso murders were happening around the same time, and were probably unconnected to the Ripper's crimes. Thus, we should be wary about making confident assertions about the case.

So this book is, as I said, a welcome and novel addition to the field. Its CSI approach to the killings, the historical tidbits concerning pubs and the typography of the area, all serve to bring the reader closer to the crimes and to the period in general. It's just a pity that the work is slightly marred by the lack of proofreading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping good book, 26 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
Fantastic for beginners. Great visual reference for anyone I wish they'd been a book like this when I was just getting into the case over twenty years ago !! They's so much work done on the theories. So many reference materials on the facts. But nothing I have found with maps clearly showing the positions of key players and locations in the case as well as information like times and names etc Shown so graphically and clear Beautifully rendered cgi of locations helps take the reader see what some of the places would have looked like. I was really pleased with this book and it cleared up a lot for me about the geography . I really wish I'd read this book before visiting whitechapel for the first time last Week. I'd have substituted this book for my guide on the walk in a heartbeat !!! It' tells you enough about the victims and suspects to whet your appetite but this isn't a bad thing. It doesn't overload the readers mind with everything at once. They's lots of books to explore specifics further . Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
This book is a must have. The CGI artwork is just... well.. breathtaking! In addition the book also contains many photographs. The text is well written and factual backed up with anecdotes from official documentaion, newspaper reports and comments from those involved in the investigations. Also included is trivia about life in and around Whitechapel at the time of the killings along with how the area has physically changed over time. All of this combined with the authors neutrality over the Ripper himself - they do not trumpet any candidate - concentrating instead on the victims and their lives and deaths make this a must have book for anyone interested in Victorian London as well as Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ''must have'' for the collection!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
If Jack the Ripper fascinates you, this book is an absolute must. Witj dark and sordid scene recreations, the Whitechapel of 1888 springs to life from the pages giving us a perspective on the case never seen before.
The book is large with lush graphics that take us back to the ''Autumn of Terror''.
An absolute must have title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
I have at least 150 books on the subject but nothing has really captured the essence of the murder sites like this. I found it difficult to put down. Bearing in mind the time of year I ordered it the service was very prompt. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Ripper primer beautifully illustrated, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. As someone who is relatively new to the Ripper murders this was an excellent starting point. All incidents concisely described with plenty of background data on almost cep very page. For me one of the the best things about this book are the wonderful illustrations throughout the book that really makes whitechapel of 1888 come alive in all it's grimy gloomy glory. The only slight critism is that there are no people in any of the illustrations the impression given is that East London was deleted by night when this was far from the case. There were people around through the night.

Excellent book which I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Like it, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
As I have read of the Ripper books and this one was interesting I did learn things I did not know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners on the subject, 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel (Hardcover)
This is a very informative book with great CGI pictures of locations of interest. It is one of the best books I have read about the Whitechapel Murders and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel
Jack the Ripper: CSI: Whitechapel by Paul Begg (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2012)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews