Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty MacColl Biography
Finally a comprehensive and authorised biography of the late Kirsty MacColl. It is clear that this book has been written with the co operation of MacColls family. This is evident from the inclusion of many personal photographs (in colour) and family anecdotes. Of particluar interest are the early chapters outlining MacColls childhood and formative years which are...
Published on 26 Nov. 2004

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, a missed opportunity
I'm really disappointed in this book. Finally there is an opportunity to read about Kirsty the songwriter and musician and the author wastes the opportunity. My main problem with the book is that it is dull dull dull. It's written like a news report and written, it seems, for a mass audience not fans of music. It's hard to tell if the author even has a grasp of music...
Published on 2 April 2005 by Mark F


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty MacColl Biography, 26 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: The One and Only: The Authorised Biography (Hardcover)
Finally a comprehensive and authorised biography of the late Kirsty MacColl. It is clear that this book has been written with the co operation of MacColls family. This is evident from the inclusion of many personal photographs (in colour) and family anecdotes. Of particluar interest are the early chapters outlining MacColls childhood and formative years which are intriguing as little has been previously documented.The book also focus's on MacColls diverse career, over a twenty year period, from early stagefright to prolific songwriting,recording and performing. It is a fascinating read and a respectful testament to the life and career of a greatly missed artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, a missed opportunity, 2 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: The One and Only: The Authorised Biography (Hardcover)
I'm really disappointed in this book. Finally there is an opportunity to read about Kirsty the songwriter and musician and the author wastes the opportunity. My main problem with the book is that it is dull dull dull. It's written like a news report and written, it seems, for a mass audience not fans of music. It's hard to tell if the author even has a grasp of music outside of the immediate MacColl sphere. Passages like the one where Kirsty's brother admits that he didn't like "They Don't Know" because it sounded too much like Twinkle go nowhere. In fact Twinkle doesn't appear to be referenced elsewhere. Nor are other MacColl influences. Steve Lillywhite mentions that Kirsty played records all of the time but never does the author explore what those records were. She does drone on about 80s bands and other music in MacColl's era but that's it. Frustrating. Even more frustrating are the long passages about the MacColl's trips to Poland. By the end of the pages and pages dedicated to those trips you're sure there will be some amazing revelation about the trips but... nothing! But hands down the most laughable part of the book, and the part that solidified this review, is where the author talks about Che Guevara having asthma... just like Kirsty. This is music writing at it's absolulte worse. In fact the book is more about Cuba than it is about music. It's written like a CNN report. Yuck! The only reason I'm not giving the book one star is that it is the only biography on Kirsty and perhaps will be the only one ever. Kirsty combined some diverse pop influences and while she is no longer here to talk about them there must be people who can speak to her love of records. It's sad that a biography of Kirsty never once mentions the Caravelles. Even sadder that Twinkle isn't even listed in the index when Che Guevara is. Get the EMI boxed set and enjoy the music but save your money on the book if you are looking for a book about pop music. RIP Kirsty, this book does you none of the justice you deserve as a songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars reflections on the life of a unique talent, 4 Mar. 2008
By 
Joyce Miller (Erskine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with the last reviewer's comments. The book is far too long and pays too much attention to unnecessary details while almost a whole chapter is devoted to the song "They Don't Know". I met Kirsty at a pop concert in Glasgow in 1983. We were both with friends and we chatted about the forthcoming concert by the band Big Country. Kirsty said she was with Steve Lillywhite who was doing the sound but said nothing about herself although she was quite well-known. It was only when she married the well-known record producer the following year that I realised who she actually was ! It is terribly sad that she did not get the credit she deserved for her unique talent, which was hampered by stage-fright, during her lifetime. In my opinion this book fails to do justice to this multi-talented lady who was academically gifted as well as musical. R.I.P. Kirsty.
Joyce Miller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A shame - book was so tedious to read I couldn't complete it, 25 Nov. 2008
By 
I was given this book as a lovely thoughtful gift to read about Kirsty MacColl's life. I had only been introduced to her via her Tropical Brainstorm album which was fantastic, only to hear of her death shortly thereafter. I got about halfway through this book when I could no longer bear reading it. It wasn't captivating & to the point in the book that I read the book seemed more about everyone else than her. I would suspect it is difficult to write a poignant autobiography when the subject is suddenly killed, but I was horribly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirsty MacColl: The One and Only: The Authorised Biography (Hardcover)
Great product Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kirsty MacColl: The One and Only: The Authorised Biography
Kirsty MacColl: The One and Only: The Authorised Biography by Karen O'Brien (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews