Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Demirep (LONDON, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Director's, Cut: An Abbot Mystery (Abbot Peter Mystery 3) (Paperback)
I took this book on holiday and it was a delightful companion.
It had a good story, well told and was well worth the reading.

The reason for the missing star...?

Sometimes I did feel that:
a) the author was indulging in a few private jokes with his pals, and
b) he occasionally got a bit carried away in playing with his audience

in other words, the telling was every bit as theatrical as the setting. Some might regard that as a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not one for writing reviews but these mysteries are an absolute joy and books you'll want to re-read again and again. This is possibly the best out of the Abbot Peter mysteries yet.... Although I thought that with the previous one! Great storyline but layers of depth including complex characters, psychology, history, horror and humour. Anyone who reads this (along with A Vicar Crucified & A Psychiatrist Screams) will experience a thought provoking, enlightening, sometimes frightening, humourful, thoroughly enjoyable great use of their time! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greasepaint and backstage rage, 28 May 2014
By 
Hollyhock (South Coast, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Call me psychic but I suspected there is more than one meaning to that little word 'cut'. .. I won't tell you whether I am right but I will tell you that this is the third book in the Abbot Peter (@AbbotPeter) series, and more than lives up to the promise of the first two ("A Vicar Crucified" and "A Psychiatrist screams").
Bad blood backstage and, on the case, the inimitable Abbot Peter and his olive-skinned, hard-hitting niece, Tamsin. The forthright Detective Inspector Tamsin Shah is showing signs of strain here which I find an unexpected and interesting twist; cracks appearing in her driven career-woman persona. Simon Parke's work as a psychotherapist give these passages an authentic ring.
The Abbot Peter books are not just twopenny ha'penny novels that you can read quickly and then forget. As well as a gripping story-line there is added depth and insight in each one.
The suspects are a varied crew of thespians, of all persuasions, and others drawn into this theatrical network.
Intriguingly woven into the modern-day tale, as is done in the two previous works, is a true story, this time of Meister Eckhart, tried for treason by the Inquisition, in the 14th Century.
Highly recommended on all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great tale from the Abbot, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Director's, Cut: An Abbot Mystery (Abbot Peter Mystery 3) (Paperback)
Another fabulous book from Simon Parke. I hope Abbot Peter will be featuring in many more books in the future. Keep them coming please Simon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great follower of Simon Parke and love his Abbot Peter Mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well up the the standard set by the previous two Abbot Peter mysteries, probing psychology, human strengths and weaknesses, as well as the adademic puzzle-solving of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Director's, Cut: An Abbot Mystery (Abbot Peter Mystery 3) (Paperback)
Just what I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Director's, Cut: An Abbot Mystery (Abbot Peter Mystery 3)
A Director's, Cut: An Abbot Mystery (Abbot Peter Mystery 3) by Simon Parke (Paperback - 28 May 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews