Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, informative, witty.
The Lives of the Improbable Saints is a refreshing, lightness of touch approach to some of the more colourful Christian characters dotted through history. Coles has a natural ability to shed light on to some of the darkest and most gruesome events with innate charm and wit - funny and informative. The book is illustrated throughout. Continuing in 'lightness of touch'...
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by Padua

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of fun
One of those books to have to dip in and out of just for fun and nothing serious.
Published 3 months ago by MRS D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, informative, witty., 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
The Lives of the Improbable Saints is a refreshing, lightness of touch approach to some of the more colourful Christian characters dotted through history. Coles has a natural ability to shed light on to some of the darkest and most gruesome events with innate charm and wit - funny and informative. The book is illustrated throughout. Continuing in 'lightness of touch' theme, each saint receives its own cartoon caricature. Brilliant and hilarious! An excellent addition to any Christmas stocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth of knowledge, warmth, wit and enthusiasm., 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
The lesser known saints are brought back to life as 'twere in the author's lively and witty style, with many an unexpected turn of phrase. The author has an obvious wide-ranging depth of knowledge, warmth and enthusiasm for these bizarre tales, and does not spare us the weird and sometimes gruesome aspects, but it is done with great humour and a gentle, masterly touch. Lives of the Improbable Saints...it'll make you laugh, honest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quirky little book, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Peter Mercer (Lisburn, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
Really loved this short book - kept me smiling on every page. Richard Coles has done a great job in researching some really quirky human beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heathen's view, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
I don't believe, but there's no escaping that I am culturally very much CofE, it still informs my moral compass and so I allow myself to enjoy the peace and glories of churches and the kind, sometimes eccentric and often very clever and funny people within it. Especially vicars.

I'd long loved Richard Coles' daily tweets of saints so this was a must-buy. A very happy afternoon was spent amongst strange and often deranged men, women and creatures. It's not obligatory to believe in God or the saints if you read this, and part of me has to wonder who really ever would still believe in any of them by the end of the book. It's a fascinating, funny romp through the past and the sheer colourful weirdness of the human imagination. And, taking all the saints together, says something wonderful about how people over the millennia have interpreted and described determination and bravery. Highly recommended. Bravo. I definitely feel enriched for reading it and so will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and unusual, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
An entertaining and unusual book which I read with amusement and interest, having already seen some of the articles entered by the author on Facebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rev Richard Strikes again., 13 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Susan Black (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
Being an avid follower of the Reverend Richard Coles on twitter, I was delighted to acquire his book of saints. The book is suitably light hearted and lived up to expectations. The illustrations are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyfully lively view of unlikely saints!, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
I've read the regular excerpts from this [and have just ordered the book now it is available] and it is an absolute joy.

The saints tumble out of history into our delighted imagination - with all their faults - and we can only marvel at these accounts, and at the curious viewpoint that decided they were quite definitely 'saints'. Halos, warts, and all.
Hope for us all, I say!

Lives of the Improbable Saints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
Well worth a look whether you area fan or sceptic about the saints. Some of the stories are highly amusing and the pictures add to the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Oursin (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
It is all here - that is apart from those who are in the Legends book, don't miss this great volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lives of the Improbable Saints, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lives of the Improbable Saints (Paperback)
Amusing brief and informative. It was just what I needed to give to people doing a brief family worship and looking for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lives of the Improbable Saints
Lives of the Improbable Saints by Ted Harrison (Paperback - 17 Oct 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews