Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well planned Lent course for house group
Looking for suitable material for a mixed house group that meets the needs of people of different ability can be a challenge.
After looking at a number of other courses for this lent we found that this book is both topical, relevant for different 24/7 lifestyles and callings, and biblically sound.
Looking forward to sharing this book with our group.
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by D. J. Maidment

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed many oportunities to explain the Christian view, especialy on meeting two on Calling
While it did a good job on the secular side of the film, much more could have been made of the biblical passages and more time given
to discussing the Christian
Published 5 months ago by malcolm shaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well planned Lent course for house group, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
Looking for suitable material for a mixed house group that meets the needs of people of different ability can be a challenge.
After looking at a number of other courses for this lent we found that this book is both topical, relevant for different 24/7 lifestyles and callings, and biblically sound.
Looking forward to sharing this book with our group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Finding a Voice' by Hilary Brand, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
'Finding a Voice' is a study course, based on the film: "The King's Speech". It covers important subjects, such as: Overcoming fear, Finding what our vocation is, The Need for Perseverance, and The Gift of Encouragement. Our weekly House Group has thoroughly enjoyed following it and has derived great benefit. The only problem is - I believe that the book is now out of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
I read this book as part of a Lent course with a small group. The use of the King's Speech film to illustrate how doubts and fears can hold us back, was an excellent idea. The biblical references used show that, as a child of God, we don't need to be led by these fears, but rather by our Heavenly Father, who has given us everything we need to step out in faith and serve him wholeheartedly. The reminders of who we are in Christ are life-changing, and discussing these with others in the group was helpful and encouraging. I would recommend this to anyone who is struggling with a lack of confidence, but also as a whole-church Bible study - I think everyone would grow through applying the truths it contains to their everyday lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
If you are looking for a Lent course with a difference this is the one. Based on the film the King's speech it takes us on a journey with Bertie and the struggles he faced learning to speak in public. Engaging with the scriptures it invites us to find our voice in sharing our faith. A Great study which led to many positive comments and stories from the group I was in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King's speech has given me a voice!, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
I have used this in conjunction with the DVD as our lent group in two churches.
Using the book and DVD together worked well (even in a church not used to electronic gizmo's).
The book gives information for running the sessions. It is a bit confusing as it has one set of instructions for using it yourself and one for running as a group. I found I was flipping between the two when planning each week.
One member of the congregation has recently stood up for the church in a local meeting and said afterwards, "I wouldn't have done that before, The King's Speech has given me a voice."
Job done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missed many oportunities to explain the Christian view, especialy on meeting two on Calling, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
While it did a good job on the secular side of the film, much more could have been made of the biblical passages and more time given
to discussing the Christian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
One of the members of our group found this and we will be using it during Lent. I am sure it will be a very worthwhile course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worked very well, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
We used this book for an ecumenical lent course which was attended by 80 people. You do need to be familiar with the DVD player being used. The leaders notes at the end of the book tell you exactly where to stop and start the DVD clip, using the 'chapters' setting on the DVD so do read that before the session. Only one session uses a clip that doesn't start at the beginning of a chapter but that isn't a problem if you set up it up and pause the DVD in the correct place before the session starts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great course, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, giving some imaginative and useful ideas for application to church life. It cleverly brings out the issues from the film and provides easy to use ideas for group use. The session on bad language was particularly engaging. The suggestions for worship/prayer are also very helpful. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Lent course, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech (Paperback)
An excellent course using an outstanding film. Questions were good as starters, but our own supplementary ones added extra depth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech
Finding a Voice: A Lent Course on the King's Speech by Hilary Brand (Paperback - 30 Dec 2011)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews