Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars83
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2011
My husband is a Church minister who asked me to get this booklet for him and after looking through it has managed to use some of the items for small services within hospitals or at peoples homes - a handy little booklet!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
wickedly insightful, thought provoking and very, very funny.

I'm looking forward to hearing these creep into sermons across the land, Milton is in danger of being quoted as often as the gospels on a Sunday morning.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
I've often wonder why sermons need to be so long. My ideal is a short sermon between 8 to 10 minutes maximum. So, when I saw Milton Jones' book advertised for a measly sum, I thought great, it will be a good guide to short one-liners for use in sermons.

However, it is more than a one-liner listing. It contains themes and topics, albeit brief on which to reflect and to use as the basis or topic for a short sermon. I have shared my copy among several Clergy and they all seemed to think that I might prove useful in their ministry.

Nothing here is mind blowing or will move mountains, but it is erudite, funny and thought provoking, which is presumably the authors intention.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Milton Jones is a master of the one liner, his jokes mabe old, so bad that they are good. If he leaves you crying with laughter when you hear his stand up routines then you will not be disapointed with this small book of wonderfull humorous wisdom
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Bought for my mother for Xmas. Have read through twice and confess I don't get it. Love Milton Jones for his zany 1 liners but have not laughed once. Perhaps I need to think a bit more laterally !!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
Does what it says on the tin. Very funny and thought-provoking by turns. I shared it with a couple of colleagues in ministry and they described it in similar terms. Probably essential reading for preachers, in my view.

Bought it largely as "a tonic", to be taken when life in representative ministry gets tough. Proved it to be just what the Doctor would have ordered if I'd gone to him first!

Some good ideas worthy of further exploration when writing sermons designed to last a bit longer than 10 seconds. I like the way there is a gentle bit of fun poked at Christianity - with a serious point for those who don't want to take their preaching too seriously. This book fills a serious gap within theological reading. Let's hope there's a "More Sermons ..." quietly simmering away somewhere.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Full of very pithy, accurate comments on the world from the point of view of a Christian. Quick, to the point and gets the message home very quickly.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
This book is a absolute gem, it is hilarious and very perceptive. Milton Jones' passion for faith combined with his witty humour makes this an ideal book for teenagers upwards. You can dip into it for some light relief, but you won't want to put it down.
Milton's one-liners are just as amusing as on TV :)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
The sermons may only be ten seconds long, but they are at the same time hilarious and very thought-provoking. One friend I gave the book to has been inspired to compose his own.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
This book was a very pleasant surprise. Not only did it come with the startling revelation of Milton's Christian beleifs it was also surprising that it was not all jokes. It is a brilliant mixture of profound theological insight, razor sharp observational humour and deep moving insights into his personal beleifs all bound together by Milton's usual quick one line comedy as well as some very funny cartoons.

My only problem with this book is it is soooooo short! Milton told us at Greenbelt that you could finish reading it while you queued to pay for it and he was right.

Many congregations will be hearing from these "sermons" and will be very glad of it!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)