Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny book
This book is a absolute gem, it is hilarious and very perceptive. Milton Jones' passion for faith combined with his witty humour makes this an ideal book for teenagers upwards. You can dip into it for some light relief, but you won't want to put it down.
Milton's one-liners are just as amusing as on TV :)
Published on 4 May 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Am I missing something?
Bought for my mother for Xmas. Have read through twice and confess I don't get it. Love Milton Jones for his zany 1 liners but have not laughed once. Perhaps I need to think a bit more laterally !!
Published 10 months ago by May2610


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny book, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
This book is a absolute gem, it is hilarious and very perceptive. Milton Jones' passion for faith combined with his witty humour makes this an ideal book for teenagers upwards. You can dip into it for some light relief, but you won't want to put it down.
Milton's one-liners are just as amusing as on TV :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what we wanted, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Helena Gray "fun lady" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
My husband is a Church minister who asked me to get this booklet for him and after looking through it has managed to use some of the items for small services within hospitals or at peoples homes - a handy little booklet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet....!, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the sermons written with Milton Jones' dry wit. Could almost use it as a short sermon a day type of book although I read through them in no time at all.

Something worth having to dip into when needing uplifting.
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small but perfectly formed, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
wickedly insightful, thought provoking and very, very funny.

I'm looking forward to hearing these creep into sermons across the land, Milton is in danger of being quoted as often as the gospels on a Sunday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milton Jones Genius, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
Milton Jones is a master of the one liner, his jokes mabe old, so bad that they are good. If he leaves you crying with laughter when you hear his stand up routines then you will not be disapointed with this small book of wonderfull humorous wisdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny because the observations are so so true!, 28 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
Full of very pithy, accurate comments on the world from the point of view of a Christian. Quick, to the point and gets the message home very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
The sermons may only be ten seconds long, but they are at the same time hilarious and very thought-provoking. One friend I gave the book to has been inspired to compose his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Second Sermons and Even Quicker Illustrations by Milton Jones, 4 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
I've often wonder why sermons need to be so long. My ideal is a short sermon between 8 to 10 minutes maximum. So, when I saw Milton Jones' book advertised for a measly sum, I thought great, it will be a good guide to short one-liners for use in sermons.

However, it is more than a one-liner listing. It contains themes and topics, albeit brief on which to reflect and to use as the basis or topic for a short sermon. I have shared my copy among several Clergy and they all seemed to think that I might prove useful in their ministry.

Nothing here is mind blowing or will move mountains, but it is erudite, funny and thought provoking, which is presumably the authors intention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10-Second Sermons by Milton Jones, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin. Very funny and thought-provoking by turns. I shared it with a couple of colleagues in ministry and they described it in similar terms. Probably essential reading for preachers, in my view.

Bought it largely as "a tonic", to be taken when life in representative ministry gets tough. Proved it to be just what the Doctor would have ordered if I'd gone to him first!

Some good ideas worthy of further exploration when writing sermons designed to last a bit longer than 10 seconds. I like the way there is a gentle bit of fun poked at Christianity - with a serious point for those who don't want to take their preaching too seriously. This book fills a serious gap within theological reading. Let's hope there's a "More Sermons ..." quietly simmering away somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, hilarious and inspired often at the same time, 1 Sep 2011
By 
J Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations (Paperback)
This book was a very pleasant surprise. Not only did it come with the startling revelation of Milton's Christian beleifs it was also surprising that it was not all jokes. It is a brilliant mixture of profound theological insight, razor sharp observational humour and deep moving insights into his personal beleifs all bound together by Milton's usual quick one line comedy as well as some very funny cartoons.

My only problem with this book is it is soooooo short! Milton told us at Greenbelt that you could finish reading it while you queued to pay for it and he was right.

Many congregations will be hearing from these "sermons" and will be very glad of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations
10 Second Sermons: ... and even Quicker Illustrations by Milton Jones (Paperback - 15 Aug 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews